Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Lilu's and Lula's Mountain Adventures

by udvaritibor - 48 Hour Compo Entry

QR Code is for Android link

--- About the game ---
You control Lilu and his friend Lula, who is beneath the surface.

You jump with them at the same time and create mountains on opposite sides.

You have to dodge the mountains and eliminate them to stay alive.
You do this by jumping on the backside of mountains from the opposite side.

Yeah, also if you jump to high you die Icarus style.

--- Installation ---
This is an iPhone game so you kind of need to compile it from the source, sorry about that. Let me know if you have any difficulties!

Ported to Android with Apportable. (Great tool).

-- Dev Tools --
I used Cocos2d-iphone v3 with Spritebuilder.
Ported it to Android with Apportable.
Sound effects http://www.bfxr.net/
Graphics hand drawn and cut out with Gimp

I really hope you guys will enjoy it.
It was really fun participating for the first time! Sure to do it again.

Any comments and feedback are appreciated.
You can also find me on twitter @TiborUdvari.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#229Innovation3.55
#483Humor2.53
#618Fun2.95
#717Overall3.00
#767Graphics2.83
#821Audio2.22
#873Theme2.86
#931Mood2.56
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:46am

Nice little game, love the graphics, very neat and polished!

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Very fun and original game, but very diffucult.
The Android version crashed one but works.

lorancou says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Can't play.. no Android device at hand :/

garygreen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Hi. Unfortunately I couldn't open the Android version. It gave me the message "There is a problem parsing the package".

Ludonaut says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:04pm

This looks cute, but I can't run it for some reason. :/

Colthor says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Once I discovered you could jump again before landing the game became merely incredibly difficult, rather than impossible ;)

With a bit of fine-tuning it would be a fun short-burst game. Perfect for the platform.

Brian Corr says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:30pm

This is nice, but it's really hard! Maybe if it started out more slowly and ramped up it would be less frustrating!

The interplay between the two worlds is a really neat concept, and well executed. Great job, buddy!

muh_h says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:26am

I loved the graphics. Hard but can be fun

KevinWorkman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:30am

Worked well on my android. I like the idea, and great work on your first ludum dare! With a little polish and a more forgiving learning curve, I could see this being an addicting little game.

colludium says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:56am

Smooth game play. Novel and quite hard / fun. Liked the graphics.

Boodog says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Nice! It was fun, but extremely difficult :)

Neonlare says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:44pm

Took a while to get this running on my phone, when I did it was pretty hard from the get go, but it was still fun! I'd say balance out the difficulty a little bit but it's honestly not a bad piece at all! Good job.

NoorStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:45am

Unique concept, a lot of fun, but difficult!

wicht says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:49am

I really like the concept and the Art style is neat.

miwuc says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:10am

Liked the graphics and innovative gameplay, but damn it's too hard for me :) My best score is 14.

stenol says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:50am

Funny game ! Good work !

Marjie62 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:48pm

Neat, this was fun! Like people have been saying, I found it a little too hard - maybe the earth should spin slower to start with and speed up. It would also be nice if there were some random mountains to start with, rather than always the same couple you get from landing. It was unique and interesting though!

caranha says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:14am

That is a pretty cool and novel mechanic! I enjoyed the game, even though it was hars. Took me a while to figure out you can fly in mid air. Some feedback:

- music would make this game 4 times better.
- Your game captures the back key on android - why? No reason to do that, and it is in bad form.
- Your game requires network permissions. No need for that either.

Thanks for the game!

mortus says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:25am

It looks really fun by the images, but unfortunately I don't have a suitable mobile device nearby right now. Will try to play and rate in in a few days.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]