Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Goblin Inside

by MetanoKid - Jam Entry

The Goblin Inside shows the little goblin beneath the surface of a young blonde girl who goes to a disco forced by her friends.
She doesn't enjoy people invading her personal bubble, and therefore rages the hell out of it when they do, smashing everyone in the disco to make some room.

The team is composed of two people: my girlfriend (character and background art) and myself (game design and programming). The game was firstly intended for the Compo and I would do everything, but I wanted to show my girlfriend how games are done and how my world works when I'm not with her. So, we joined the Jam instead, finishing in Compo's time limit but as a team.
We really enjoyed doing it although we didn't have a lot of time to make it.

Hope everyone can enjoy it!
Cheers!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#49Humor(Jam)3.77
#264Fun(Jam)3.18
#284Audio(Jam)3.24
#435Mood(Jam)2.96
#446Overall(Jam)3.09
#519Innovation(Jam)2.68
#630Graphics(Jam)2.66
#633Theme(Jam)2.53

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:32am

WOW, that gave my hand a workout. It was amusing,I liked the sort of natural increased difficulty from just piling up factors. To be honest, I don't really think the theme was there, but it was fun. Also, the music was nice and helped me get in the groove a lot to go deeper into it.

Sestren says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:34am

Racking up combos and points is pretty fun. I wish the rage meter was a little bit more of a room-clearer, just for effect, but oh well! :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:41am

Neat idea!

MetanoKid says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:22pm

Thanks for the feedback, guys! Pretty useful! And also pretty happy to see somebody enjoyed it :)

weazen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:49pm

I had a lot of fun with this. Really gives my clicking finger a workout!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:51pm

The music fit the game very nicely. Love the game mechanics. Very hectic game, and very fun. Also a very clever interpretation of the LD theme. Nice work!

mollymus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:54pm

Extra points for humor, thats for sure!:D A bit lacking in gameplay though, but somehow still enjoyable.. Made it to a combo of 550+ before I got overrun by them crazy women!

spotco says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:07am

hand hurts after that

Benjamin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:14am

Gameplay is basic but it works. Maybe you could make it more "tactical" by just lower the dancer number and make them move very slowly toward so you can think of the best option to charge in any angle.

Stuffie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Lol, great take on the concept, and groovy music. It was fun and I wanted to keep playing but it became a battle of mind over hand cramp :D.

Danvil says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:48pm

You will never find a girlfriend if you dance like this ;)

eskivor says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:14am

Really nice.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:15am

haha, awesome. Super fun little game!

TheLastBanana says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:23am

Funny concept and interpretation of the theme, and nice music.

MrShoestore says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:22am

fun. love the combo meter, and the backstory of the game is girlfriend-approved.

Nezzhil says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:33am

Very fun! I lost two times very quickly because i couldn't stop laughing

GarethIW says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:53pm

I *totally* empathise with the girl. Nice game :)

jujule says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Great, great! I participate in jams to play games like this one.
Good job!

littleball says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Well done on the team effort. Might take a leaf out of your book next time.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]