Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Wormy's Adventure

by conno1234 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Unfortunately did not make it to levels 4 - 8. Ran out of time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#108Humor3.45
#459Fun3.12
#548Audio2.79
#688Theme3.12
#707Mood2.83
#718Graphics2.91
#783Innovation2.74
#825Overall2.91

Comments

Mr_Squale says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:25am

Wormy's Adventure appears to be more than just a flash game programmed in 48 hours, it is a metaphor for the hardships we face in our every day lives. Human innocence, represented by wormy, must make its way through the universe surrounding it. We see parallels between Wormy's world, and the world of human innocence. Firstly, is Wormy's lack of resilience. He is extremely fragile, at risk of death constantly. Although, this game also represents the ideals of happiness being a key element in one's life, with Wormy's main goal being to return home, where he is at his happiest. Overall, as a philosophical point, this is marvelous, but as a game? it's shit m8

ceosol says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:38am

I completely disagree with the previous comment. This game is very well executed. The underground tunnel are a pretty neat touch. For me, the seed spitting was not very responsive. I had to spam click to get it going. So I could not get past the bird. Otherwise, I like the pixel worm and the sound effects. Good job.

eugman says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:41am

I thought it was very cute. That bird is a pain.

GlowingSnail says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:15am

This game is charming. It's shame it has so few votes. Through the simple graphic, we can tell this game was handcrafted by a caring and loving creator. The worm little happy face, especially with party hat ON, broke my heart.

The gameplay, despite its old familiar outlook, is actually well thought and well executed. Apples, seeds, spitting, it all fits. The transition between above ground control and underground is so flawlessly natural it took me an active effort to notice it.

The only minor things I would improve is giving the worm some health, because dying happens very quickly. Having to find all the object before unlocking next level also makes the game a bit too hard. I noticed a small bug near the end of level 1, where jumping out of the bird platform made me break through the bottom border of the screen.

Don't sweat over the lack of levels, there is way more content, and way more soul, here, that in the 500 votes entry above you in alphabetical order.

ryangatts says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:19am

I like the tunnel idea and how the controls change when you go in one. It would be nice if there was a visiual cue for when you succesfully hit a creature.

blockbot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:38pm

The graphics are charming, and this managed to take me back to early Mega Man in feel sometimes.

DanEEStar says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:41pm

I like the game. But its too hard. Then finally when I arrived at my apply worm house at the end of level 1 it just says that I have to collect all the items before getting the medal which I needed to advance to level2. So cruel!

I finally managed to get to level 2. But not further.

Still a fun game

conno1234 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Sorry for making the game so hard. I found myself beating the game too easily so I made it harder, but I guess the game is easy when you've played it for 48 hours. lol

Thanks for all the comments and ratings, everyone! I will strive to do even better next LD!

Brodenino says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:44pm

The music was pretty sweet, even though it is a pretty short loop. The bird was a real pain though. Perhaps some extra lives, or a checkpoint there would kill some of the frustration :)

Boodog says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Good job!

SoupWithBits says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Yee hoo! I enjoyed it!

WhiteWolf93 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Nice character lol, had fun when i saw in the options "hat" XD! Quite interesting, audio is great too. And the worm sounds are funny!

Delca says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:59pm

A excellent game! Although it got pretty hard sometimes (that homing-missile snake >_<'), it was enjoyable nontheless.
The only thing I regret is finding about the PARTY HAT only after finishing the game.
Good work!

GreatBigJerk says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Couldn't run on OSX.

pvwradtke says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:41pm

Great idea, making the worm going underground. That adds a new dimension (literally) to the game.

Muciojad says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 6:26pm

@Mr_Squale is just hater, don't worry about what he said, this gut doesn't know the true art. My friend, your game made my evening, I LOVE IT. Probably you're crazy like me and you aren't afraid to make game about earthworm, for this you have my crazy-high rate :D
Technically: graphic cries out to heaven for vengeance, but it amazing go with gameplay. Mechanic is really cool, I wanted to be earthworm in my dreams all life. And this crazy humor... Good job, my crazy friend!

May 8, 2014 @ 2:57am

?

conno1234 says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 4:23am

@waveformmodulations, I don't really understand what your question mark really means.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]