Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ben Eath the Surf Ace

by lord - Jam Entry

Websocket-based, multiplayer, motion-controlled, shark-frenzy, top-down action game. Control your shark with your phone to eat surfers and boats before facing the notorious shark hater, Ben Eath. Watch for the nets shot by boats, and Ben's spinning surfboard attack! If your score drops below 0, you sink to the bottom of the ocean and lose.

Chrome is recommended, and you'll need one modern smartphone (preferably connected to WiFi) per player.

Made by a team of Hacker Schoolers in New York.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#18Innovation(Jam)4.03
#165Humor(Jam)3.15
#191Overall(Jam)3.48
#316Theme(Jam)3.27
#316Mood(Jam)3.16
#361Fun(Jam)3.00
#426Audio(Jam)2.93
#572Graphics(Jam)2.83

Comments

Solifuge says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:19am

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

Aw man! I really, really wanted to play this since it's the cleverest implementation of the theme I've seen so far and the graphics look amazing, but without a smartphone I'm going to have to pass : /

daandruff says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:25am

The game didn't respond to my Galaxy S4 more than on touch input, but I figured out you left the debug controls in so I just used the keyboard instead :) Really liked the old style feel you got going, but you probably should've put more time in to the actual game instead of making it multiplayer.

stephan_h says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:32am

Hmmh. The procedure was bit frustrating. Adding to that the long intro and loud music.
Why no singleplayer?
I appreciate the idea and effort though. :) The blonde surfer reminds me of the Dude in Big Lebowski.

Can it be that you can control one of the sharks with the keyboard, just vertically flipped? ;)

Keehan12 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:41am

Pitty I could not play on PC :(

rorycooke says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:12am

I haven't played a pc game you control with a phone before, its a really nice control scheme

Pitoum says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:25am

Thumb up for the techs :D
Ludum dare are great to try some stuff like that! Great job!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Brilliant!
I love to see that kind of stuff on game jams.

It took me a looooong while to load the controller, but it was worth it.

Kudos!

DazKins says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:53pm

WOW, is all I can say. Even though the game itself was basic and not too much fun, the sheer innovation of the project won me over. Really great idea guys, Well done!

FREEZX says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Damn those controls are sick :D A little bit laggy, but whatever. I loved every aspect of this game. Innovative, fun, fits the theme, cool pixel art, cool music. Everything done right!

BigGiantHead says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:05pm

Awesome game, I really liked the idea. It would have been perfect if the control was better.

lord says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Sorry to the people having problems with the controller! If you're having trouble, we'd love if you could post your phone, phone OS, and phone browser that you're using.

TeamEagle says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:58pm

fun game, love the graphics, the retro sound and the connectivity :)

was a bit confused first because I held my iPhone in the wrong landscape apparently, so controls were inverted

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Couldnt run it :( Im on Note 3, Chrome and Android 4.4.2

CMaster says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:02pm

That's prtty damn cool, though motion controls are wonky as ever.

FGM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Awesome. The game itself is little bit bland, but the control scheme made it funny to play.

littleball says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:06pm

I love the tech, it's nice to see something new. Well done

Mnemusyne says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Great effort!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Awesome music! Very catchy and fitting to the game.

elefantopia says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:22am

Amazing use of the phone to control the shark and chomping! Music is cool and the shark facts on the phone are a nice touch. Great work!

lord says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:44pm

Glad you guys like the music! It was made by Jeff Fowler, who's not only great at composing music, but also crazy fast. -> http://jefffowler.io

mrhill says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:25pm

Great innovation, bad controls unfortunately.

May 1, 2014 @ 9:41pm

This was amazing. Super cool idea to use a mobile as a controller

Afal says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:05pm

I couldn't get the accelerometer stuff to work so I was stuck on the left for the majority of the game :/
would have been cool if it did work though :)

May 6, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Ha, love the title :D

udo says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 11:10am

Controller didn't work for me - page loaded OK, but when I hit "surf's up", nothing happens. (iOS + Safari or Chrome)

Moosefly says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 11:25am

Great game. The mobile control was brilliant! Great audio and fun gameplay. The sprites were a bit too simple. Anyway a good solid game, well done!

Joona@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]