Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Olm

by pfeyffer - Jam Entry

Use the mouse to shoot your tongue out. Catch fireflies to sustain your glow. Save the olm!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#316Graphics(Jam)3.53
#352Humor(Jam)2.62
#354Audio(Jam)3.12
#413Theme(Jam)3.07
#423Innovation(Jam)2.88
#469Mood(Jam)2.89
#591Overall(Jam)2.81
#629Fun(Jam)2.40

Comments

Milktoast says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:47am

Reminds me of Jungle King! Good job!

JonathanG says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Looks very nice! It seems a bit easy though, and I quickly reached a point where there were no more stalactites to grab onto

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:13pm

Nice work!

Lyje says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Feels a bit buggy, but an interesting mix of classic grappling hook / helicopter game mechanics.

blockbot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Pretty fun!

littleball says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Was over too quickly. I like the gameplay.

Nicoll Hunt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Like a 2D Spiderman 2 :) I ran out of stalactites to grab onto pretty quickly though, and didn't feel like there was anything I could do from that point. Has the making of a really fun mechanic!

spartangeek says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Nice idea and graphics, but what a pity there's no victory or defeat condition implemented! Those are crucial features to me.

Gazok says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:11am

Such a happy gecko :P
I loved the art style and the music. The game seemed impossible to win or lose, though.

May 1, 2014 @ 9:30am

Could make a great iphone/android game with a bit more work! :)

flavio says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:15am

I like the concept, and I wish I could have move further in the game !

May 1, 2014 @ 1:32pm

Great art style. Wish there was a way to 'end' the game properly though. Good game!

BuKaneerz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Nice work !
Keep it up (:

v3games says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Graphics are great! I think the swinging speed could be increased, but well done!

Make A Game says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Liked the graphics. Didn't quite understand if I was doing something wrong or the process of aiming for a stalactite is somewhat random.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]