Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Divernaut

by Garris - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Edit: Getting stuck in platforms while jumping should be fixed now. If you get stuck, please link me a screenshot, and I'll curl up in a ball and cry in a corner for a bit, but will be grateful for your help.

Whew! This was my first Ludum Dare and I was a liiiiiittle over-ambitious. Finished though! Dustout Games is proud to present: DIVERNAUT

In Divernaut, you play someone who's just in the wrong place. Pick up the depthcharges to blow stuff up. Keep exploring and you may even find a harpoon gun. Rad, right? The game gets pretty tough, but every time you defeat a boss, your progress is saved, so don't give up!
I hope you all like it. Rate, share, n' stuff. Thanks for playing!

Move with arrow keys.
Z and X for weapons (when you get them).
Seaweed randomly drops health if you get hurt.

Wanna find me on Twitter? Twitter.com/DustoutGames
You can also check out Dustout's website. http://dustoutgames.wix.com/dustoutgames

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#299Theme3.56
#328Overall3.42
#358Fun3.27
#408Humor2.65
#545Graphics3.18
#619Mood2.92
#713Innovation2.85
#811Audio2.24

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:55am

For whatever reason I totally missed the attack pickup, but other than that a really nice game. I love the switch between top-down and sidescroller gameplay, and the pixel art was very nice.

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:03am

Love the graphics! Fun too

FGM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:07am

This is hard man. Those crabs don't mess around. Really like the game though. Yeah I skipped the mines too. I thought it was some kind of sea urchin.

Almost says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:11am

The green fish are hard to dodge when they appear on the edge of the screen closest to you.

manabreak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:26am

Here's some of my notes I wrote while playing: I liked the background story thingy in the start, and as an RPG guy, I enjoyed the occasional radio messages (although the one that appears when you enter the giant crab cave disappeared in a second and I couldn't read it...). The graphics are decent; at first, I didn't enjoy the look, but as I played, it kind of grew on me and felt quite nice actually. The combination of top-down and sidescroller was a cool addition, kind of reminded me of old Zelda games. The jumping physics really make you feel like you're underwater! For a game made under 48 hours, there's TONS of area to cover, which is amazing.

Lack of music and sound effects (there was a few, though) were probably the biggest downsides. I felt that the green missiles were a bit overused, and while they weren't a real threat in any part of the game, they made me feel stressed out throughout the game. To further increase the feeling of being underwater, a blue-ish hue all over the screen would have been a nice addition..?

All in all, I enjoyed playing Divernaut. The looks and sounds are not that polished, but it felt and played very well. Good job overall!

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:27am

Nice mix of top-down and platforming! Solid entry for the 48.

SlamBlasta says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:28am

I like the use of top-down and side-scrolling styles! Also, the death animation is really well done.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:54am

Sweet, reminded me of Blaster Master with the hero's look and when it switches game modes. Nice complete game, my highest rating so far.

Empyrealhell says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:02am

Somehow I got stuck on the underside of a block on my approach to the giant crab the second time around. Up to that point it was great though. Loved the graphics, gameplay was well executed, and the sound was appropriate.

Garris says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:14am

Looking into the block sticking thing. Thanks for the heads up.

Jonochrome says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:19am

Although I got too annoyed with the enemies to finish the game, I played past three boss battles and felt as though this is a surprisingly 'complete' adventure, if that makes any sense. It builds upon itself and reminds me of a retro Zelda dungeon. If this game had music, health upgrades (or more health to begin with), and maybe a larger mine blast radius, I'd say it would be very satisfying to play.

Mihael Medan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:16am

It's fun! I really like the mix of top-down game with sidescroller. Very nice!

gmaker says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:08pm

i liked the graphics =) bubbles so fun! ) nice little game )

Dramentiaras says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:11pm

I like the changes between topdown and side-scrolling. The graphics are nice too! Great game!

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Decent little exploration game, and a good mix of game genres too! Well presented too! A bit more audio & some checkpointing would've helped it!

dylanwolf says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:42am

Reminds me of the original Legend of Zelda, especially with the short side-scrolling areas. Interesting boss battles and map design.

Incidentally, I got stuck on a platform at one point and had to restart, and noticed my progress had been saved--that was really impressive.

frankbsad says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:21am

Pretty good over all. I didn't get far though, a bit slow for me.

suurin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:12pm

The transition between topdown and platformer worked out really well. God job!

randoman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:06pm

I really like how you switch views after the character enters a hole. I think that some areas are kind of empty, so you just walks through them without much effort, but is a very cool game overall!

Kino333 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:16am

Music! :D

csanyk says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:09am

Not bad... reminds me just slightly of the NES classic Blaster Master. I played a bit but couldn't find any way to heal, which I think the game needs. Otherwise getting through the whole thing with only 3 hits worth of health is pretty tough.

Garris says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:53am

That was part of my "D'oh! Ran out of time!" list. Seaweed drops air bubbles, but there's nothing in game pointing to that.

Kerdelos says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:38pm

Like the way the game switch between top-down and sideway !

Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:35pm

Nice game, though it is quite difficult. It took me some time to understand what I should at some points, but I really enoyed playing it!!

okkolobr says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Ah ah, the switch make me think of old Zelda game ! Taste of nostalgia here !

May 1, 2014 @ 3:39am

Really impressive for one guy in 48 hours. Good work!

starpixie says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:42am

Those green fish were too hard. Enemies could have used shading and more than one frame of animation. Some music would have benefited the mood a lot. Some kind of health pickup would have been good and would have offset the war of attrition I had with the green fish.

Overall, the game is fun and the pixel art style is cool. The writing was very good. A lot of content for a 48 entry.

Photon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:44am

This game does some cool things, like the way it switches between top-down and side-scrolling. It feels a touch slow though. It also feels a bit like enemy spam is going on if you know what I mean, and the level structure in general was kind of bland.

I definitely like the idea and you did some neat stuff here, but a little more polish down the road and it might be even better. :)

May 1, 2014 @ 5:58am

You made this alone! Great! Btw, I was stuck jump to the pointy edge of a platform from below. It was resolved by restarting the game though. Great Game btw. :)

May 1, 2014 @ 11:21am

Nicely done. I love the character sprite and the background for the cave segments. I really enjoyed switching back and forth between top-down and side-scroller mechanics.

May 1, 2014 @ 4:29pm

I didn't look at the screenshots before playing, so the sidescrolling portions were a pleasant surprise. This could be like a reverse-Blaster Master, where the exploration-oriented gameplay is top-down while the high-action phase is from the side. Enemy variety was pretty good and mixing things up with the harpoon-immune crab was a good touch. Terminal velocity could be a little higher in the sidescrolling bits--you reach it pretty quickly while descending, which makes the physics feel a bit stiff.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:44am

nice job on yur first LD - like the game and want to play some more - added to my favorites list - great job - the bubbles were a nice touch!

Thorig says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:36am

I really like this game. I reminds me of Zelda and Mega Man. Do the enemies in the platform part drop food too? Keep it up.

Caridorc says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:34pm

In depth review of this game here: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/05/02/some-ludum-dare-gameplay/comment-page-1/#comment-239347

Kate Kligman says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:07am

I liked the animations. Gameplay and level design reminded me of the classic NES days. Fun game!

AutumnGuy says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:05am

This game brought back some nostalgia for Blaster Master from the NES era, one of my favorite games. Your mechanics for the transition are smooth, very cool. The graphics are well blended.

Nice job, very enjoyable to experience!

IAmSpencer says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:54am

Very fun, pretty tough, and I'm pretty sure those crabs were mocking me. But good job, and congrats on your first LudumDare, you did really well :)

shasharala says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:15pm

That was difficult! Regardless, I managed to finish it!
The walk-cycle of the player-controlled character made me giggle (I thought it was cute) along with various aspects of graphics or dialogue. It was an amusing play and I enjoyed the switch in perspective from time to time.

May 3, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Super fun, well made game! I included it in part 11 of my Ludum Dare compilation video if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/-vf2U372Ego

BoneDaddy says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:56pm

Hilarious opening text.

Got stuck going down on the crab (lost to the crab, then went through the alternate entrance to get to him). I found him too hard so I gave up there. It was a good throw back to the classic Zelda GB game with the whole overhead and platforming. I think it could use some health upgrades and the control could be faster. Cool game!

SoupWithBits says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:49am

Sweet game!

May 5, 2014 @ 9:46am

Soo hard, but really well done. As the others said, the mix between top-down and side view is a nice idea. Congrats!

soy_yuma says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:18pm

Impressive first LD game! Grats!

I like the bosses. Although the final one is a cheater and teleports in the top row to give you the jaws. Bite me once using such dirty tricks...

May 7, 2014 @ 4:56pm

I got stuck on a wall and that big squid killed me. Checkpoints would be cool. I loved the graphics. Pretty dope game.

alvivar says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Nice mix. It was really fun to have both platform and topview mechanics. Nice work.

I recommend:

+ Harder but better checkpoints!
+ Some background music or ambient sounds!

Nanolotl says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:14am

Was really enjoying it, but then i got my head stuck in the ceiling. http://imgur.com/xlaJGni
Otherwise, really solid entry. Fun to play and nice mix of top-down exploration and platforming. Very well designed so that death never felt frustrating.

edibletoaster says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 10:49pm

Giant Enemy Crab. Nice job. Was kinda fun till I ran left in a cave and nothing happened and the character was stuck http://puu.sh/8IHw9.jpg

Really liked that it switched between topdown and platformer. Cool stuff

vilya says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 8:25pm

I like that you've got both zelda-style and platforming elements in there, it adds some nice variety to the game. The pacing felt a little slow, but otherwise it's a nice little game!

petey123567 says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 11:43pm

So much content!

SnoringFrog says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 1:37am

Solid little game. I like that you have both top-down and sidescrolling portions of the game.

miseryguts says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 4:49pm

very solid game! A few more checkpoints + better indication that seaweed gives health would be keen but this ain't bad at all, well done

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]