Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mining trouble

by Anti - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first ludum dare entry. I have to say it was pretty fun. I had a lot of other things going on so I could not work on the game as much as I wanted to. I'm also a horrible artist. Any feedback would be great, even if you hate it! :)

Controls:
WASD - Movement
F - Mining
Lmb - Attacking
1,2,3 - Switch between weapons
Esc - Takes you back to the menu, if pressed on the menu the game will stop

Programs used:
Gamemaker for Windows-for the code.
Paint.net-for sprites and textures.
http://www.abundant-music.com -for the music.
Bfxr-for the sound effects

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#435Audio2.95
#700Theme3.10
#818Humor2.07
#836Mood2.67
#935Fun2.57
#972Graphics2.52
#984Innovation2.48
#1069Overall2.62
#1718Coolness39%

Comments

holgk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:19pm

There is a problem with your build it's crashing all the time. When I used help and when I tried to mine it crashes.

Jools64 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:20pm

This seemed like a pretty neat game but sadely it crashes for me everytime I mine the mineral ore. It seems like it might be the sound crashing it or something. Could just be my computer, hope you find a fix if not!

My OS just in case: Windows 8 64bit

Strandmullen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:23pm

It took quite some time to mine and the mining process wasn't really fun. It was a very cute game however.

Maek says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:23pm

Write how to control below the Game and there are too many monsters. But mining is cool :D.

Infraviolet says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:24pm

good concept and gameplay

game was not closing properly, had to end it with task manager(exit button would be appreciated)

Zazibar says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:28pm

Unfortunately the game keeps crashing on me when I try to mine the minerals but I got to try out the combat at least. Neat game, well done for your first LD!

CiderPunk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Couldn't figure out how to get minerals, loved how the combat works though!

Scam says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:06pm

Died before I got the sentry gun. :( Nice concept. The help page was confusing: small list of the used keys would have been enough.

Anti says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:01pm

I don't know what is causing the crashes. I myself had problem with my anti-virus so that could be something. Can't seem to find anything in the code that causes the crashing(Not so much you can do in GameMaker). But thanks for the feedback anyway!

Neonlare says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Trying to play the game this end and it keeps crashing very much repeatedly sadly. Can't get too far, it's a shame, it seemed pretty interesting :(

Crusable says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:34pm

The game crashed when I tried to mine

Anti says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Does the game give any error messages or does it just not respond? Me and my friends dont have any problem with it so I really don't know what is causing the crashes.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]