Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hammerhead Sharks Against Humanity

by davidcollado - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Control a shiver of Hammerhead Sharks!
Destroy everything and compete for the High Score in this fast-paced action game.

Have you seen the 3 different endings?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#146Humor3.30
#148Fun3.60
#235Overall3.54
#374Mood3.19
#414Innovation3.27
#432Theme3.40
#511Graphics3.23
#548Audio2.79

Comments

orangepascal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:37am

Really enjoyed this ! It's kinda addictive :)

JaR_ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:08am

Heh now the hammer head sharks are free - cool game

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:20am

Simple, but effective.

martinysa0311 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:06pm

I enjoy playing, the art its great.

Liens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Short but sweet. I wracked up the big kills of fishermen and families on vacation. Also I like the art style/sound fx.

SuperDolfy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:38pm

I like the sounds and the idea of the sharks against humanity was great.

LewisW says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:40pm

Very nice. I like LD games that I can actually complete!

bazld says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Great game, very well made. I'd like a way to continue my destruction and extend the time :)

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Really fun game

jotson says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:42pm

Nice entry! I've never been a shark before, that was fun. Really like the time limit. Might be fun to add some stuff the sharks need to avoid as well.

KayZ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:08pm

Addictive and fun. Would like to have more time to wreak more havoc :).

davidcollado says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Thanks all for the feedback!

@jotson: I thought about putting rocks in the sea to avoid and also a killer whale that you could defeat or decide to flee.... but time did not permit...

Maybe I will continue the project and add some of these things in the future!

JavadocMD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:42am

Loved the concept! An entire school of sharks at my command? Awesome.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:11am

good fun, with a satisfying feel to it. would have preferred it if there was time limit as i was enjoying growing my school.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:17am

That was supremely satisfying and fun to play. Great idea. Add more stuff to eat and kill and #winner.

GresponApps says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:50pm

I loved the idea.. but it's too simple to get me involved. Sure it's perfect for a 48 hours game!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:18am

Liked it overall, but turning the sharks was often difficult as I frequently overshot how far I wanted to turn.

dusho says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 5:11pm

simple but fun...

littleball says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Addictive little game. When the game play is this short, it's good that you want to keep trying again. Probably spent longer playing than I would have with a longer time limit.

hirngespinst says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 11:34am

Lots of funf with this one, everything just clicks nicely together, art, destruction, time pressure, high score hunt.

May 15, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Yay! The hammerheads are free!

I liked the idea of controlling a huge group at once, but more could have been done with it.

Some way of increasing time temporarily would be nice.

kmakai says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 2:33am

Good job! Yay HaxeFlixel. I agree, some way to extend your time via combos or something would be cool.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]