Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Pressure

by Contacaton - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My now not so horribly broken first ever game.

Mac & Linux versions are unconfirmed as working at this time.

I fixed the game breaking bug I originally uploaded this game with :D This game is now playable :D

Bonus in code: see stuff I'm too incompetent to do yet. Also see my many inefficiencies.

tools:
Unity
Paint.NET
sfxr

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#881Audio2.06
#922Mood2.58
#955Humor1.85
#1123Innovation2.21
#1234Theme1.84
#1246Fun1.68
#1253Graphics1.58
#1258Overall2.00

Comments

lief says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:08am

I gave it a go... the intro text was getting rather existential hehe

I was looking forward to doing something but it seemed to be stuck on a line of text with a heartbeat in my ear.

Very arty..

telaviv says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:13am

The game is pretty nonfunctional for me. Words appear on the left and there is a red ball in the center. Other then that nothing happens. It doesn't respond the space key either.

If you can't get this running on ubuntu try:

sudo apt-get install libxcursor1:i386 libglu1-mesa:i386

Neonlare says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:15am

Sadly can't get past the intro text, but it is pretty intriguing from what I was able to experience. You should try fixing it, you're allowed to address basic errors like this after deadline if I recall correctly.

Contacaton says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:23am

Yeah, the bug is the red 'bubbles' not being destroyed when you press space. Nothing works :P

Contacaton says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:24am

If you press space rapidly before one appears, you'll get to see the 'ending'

muramasa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:34am

I don't understand this game. But I like the way you pictured "death" (the visual representation for losing condition).
I know I died 2 times while trying to play this, but I still don't understand. I feel bad for losing something, so I can't vote, I think.

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:36am

The controls don't seem to work, and don't sound so depressing in the description xD

nhmllr says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:14am

oof, I wish you had included some way to speed along the intro text. I can't get past the text either but it seems promising? Don't be so negative though! Making a game in 2 days is hard stuff.

Recon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:42am

Web format of the game isn't online. The Windows format isn't playable.

Contacaton says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:30am

Thanks for your input, Recon. The web issue has been sorted, though the Windows format seems fine to me.

Crefossus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:34am

Interesting. I like the feedback/increase in heartbeat and sky color. I got confused on the directions. Basically "hold space to get bubbles" means press space when the red spheres show up.

EnigmAraigne says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:04pm

I must say it was funny, strange but funny :D

petrih says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:39pm

The game feels a little bit too easy?

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:00am

Funny how the little story keeps you curious, despite the simple mechanics. Really original!

mir007 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:59am

I was a bit lost...

PixelFeet says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:40am

It's very different; not bad, just different. It's also worth mentioning that while the mood was evident, it was also rather confusing. I understand how I was supposed to feel, it just didn't make me feel that way.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]