Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath Colossal

by Liens - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Beneath Colossal is the story of an ancient myth that haunts the nearby lands. One man takes it upon himself to delve beneath the surface and prove it wrong, but what will he find?


Controls:
A/D = Movement
Arrow Keys or Mouse(Hard) = Arm Movement
Q or LMB = Left (your left) Hand Grab
E or RMB = Right (your right) Hand Grab
Left Shift = Crouch (easier to grab stuff)
T or Tab = Restart


Hints & Tips:
- If you are stuck at the very beginning, try holding down the A button to move.
- Your correct hand must be close to the handle of a weapon to grab it.
- Bigger weapons are easier to wield with both hands. (For best results, right hand grab higher up the handle (toward the blade/head of weapon) and left hand grabs the lower part of the handle.)
- There are 8 unique weapons.
- The big square and big rectangle items are shields, which can also be used to bash.
- If you're having trouble controlling arms with the mouse, try the arrow keys or a gamepad.
- If your arms get stuck when using a two handed weapon, let go then grab it again.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#57Graphics4.26
#126Mood3.69
#170Audio3.45
#240Overall3.53
#248Innovation3.52
#354Humor2.76
#420Fun3.17
#980Theme2.65

Comments

Woftles says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:59am

Awesome graphics and audio. Feels great.

Indie Squid says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:05am

Game with a nice atmosphere. I really liked the moody lighting (and use of normal maps).

deathray says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:36am

I really like the graphics and lighting. The arms are definitely hard to control though... I mostly felt like a bulldozer. One thing I'd improve is to give some tip at the very beginning; I didn't even notice the tiny character that I was controlling.

Shire says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:41am

-I loved the art style
-The controls were hard to get used to.
-There was no clear goal.

PriorBlue says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:54am

Wow, nice intro. The whole atmosphere is great! And i love this deep heavy sound.

Oye Beto says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:21am

The game freezes after the white text on the web and pc versions. I tried pressing T, tab and all the keys you mention on the instructions.

Liens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:32am

@Oye Beto: Where does it freeze? Do you see the temple at all? If you see the temple you need to start walking with A button.

Nanolotl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:59am

The physics based attacking was fun. but it got a bit repetitive after a while.
At the beginning it took me a long time to tell that there was a character that I was controlling, even with the hint.
Overall, very well done.

xhunterko says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:01am

Granted, I had fun. Well done!

Karmalis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:04am

Overall, I can only echo what others say. Very nice graphics, sounds and mood really got me into it. I loved to play this and would possibly play if something like this was a more full scale project. I'm not sure if I missed how it relates to the theme though. Possibly that you capture the giant robot beneath the surface? That might make sense.

Reinkout says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:55am

Great job on the overall mood on the game!

hexagore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:01am

Really nice. Love the pixel art, especially the great use of lighting. Controls ridiculously difficult but it's still fun rampaging around killing all the villagers.

Split82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:06am

Controls are little strange, otherwise very cool graphics, great mode and nice audio.

mortus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:00am

That is so much fun! Best game I've played yet for sure! Robot-like graphics makes wonky arms control great looking feature that adds to the mood and not just irritates. Lighting is great! Sounds are great! I love it!

thomz12 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:54pm

Great game, visuals and sounds are great, gets a bit repetitive though after a while.

Liens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:14pm

Thanks everyone for the great comments! I still had a lot of big ideas in the works for this, and it was lots of fun working on it even if I didn't get to sleep haha!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:00pm

It was really fun destroying stuff, but I'm not sure it's what I was supposed to do. Graphics resemble a lot to Superbrothers Sword & Sworcery!

Filecreation says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:11pm

Hot damn, teach me how you got the shading so nicely over the pixelart. Did you use planes and normal maps?

Either way, it took some time to get used to the controls and there wasnt a real indication that i was doing it right.
I think there were "enemy" robots charging at me at some point, but those could also just be the car-like things that lay on top of the temples.

Pretty cool tho!

donan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:15pm

Good idea, and amazing graphics but the control of the hands are a bit hard to handle :/

Spotline says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Awesome :D Gameplay makes me think of QWOP, artstyle Sword&Sworcery = good combo !

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:21pm

Wow, audio completely killed me

frankd0331 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Great graphics, lighting and overall mood. My favorite weapon was the torch, mainly for the extra light.

andymar says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:43pm

Nice, feels complete.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:56pm

OMG!

So haunting, eerie and full of atmosphere.
Looks better than like anything ever, and was real fun.

No to be honest, I don't even care about the gameplay.
Looks to good to care!

Elforama says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Controlling the arms was pretty hard and confusing for me. That aside, awesome job! The graphics are really top notch, they remind me of Superbrothers: Sword & Sworcery which is a good thing.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:18pm

I'm not sure I fully understand what I just played, but it was fun anyways!

icereci says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:33pm

I have no idea what I'm doing. But it is fun :)

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:04pm

That was amazing, the controls were weird but I liked them and the art reminded me a of retro Shadow of the Colossus

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Sweet. Very tough. But I dig it.

snooze82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:25pm

love the graphics - nice idea :) i killed 27 temples :D

graebor says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:56pm

Really really hard to control, but the atmosphere was quite cool. Nice lighting.

iJohnF says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Now that was insanely cool. I grabbed a sword-like object and from there it was over! Good atmosphere and music as well.

John Drury says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Quite fun. Loved the graphics

ioboi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:37pm

The graphics and the lighting are awesome.
The gameplay is a bit monotone for my taste but overall a really nice game :)

bombjack says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Great sound and graphics !

NeithR says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Yay destruction! \ :D /
Great game, the sound and art fits with the atmosphere of the game :D

conormn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Very cool. I have guilt from crushing little dude's now tho.

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:10pm

This was really good. Physics-based games are usually fun, and the graphics and lighting went a long way to making yours more impressive. There isn't a lot to do, but I still played for a few minutes, which is a sign of a good game. I'd like to see other gameplay elements added to this one. Good job!

Dreii says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Amazing graphics, very super brothers sword and sorcery, also DAT TEXT SHAKE.

nonentheless says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:24pm

tiny character at the beginning is bad, if it weren't for the instructions I would never start playing. Graphics I adore. Sounds are great too.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Great atmoshpere and intro, I had a lot of fun and I find you artstyle just awesome ! Very solid entry !

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:36pm

One of the few games with a solid mood going! Well done.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Feels like a mix between Sword&Sorcery and Octodad, great idea although I haven't ccaught the relation with the theme.
It's fun destroying stuffs and small people!! (in videogames of course)

lamphj says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Cool idea. It took me a while to notice the character at the beginning but I had fun smashing things with the giant once I got the hang of the controls.

Logun says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Not easy to move correctly, but I like to walk into buildings and little guys with my torche :D Very funny to destroy everything, anyway, heart of beest games :)

orangepascal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:49pm

really struggling with the controls. But really dig the "feel" of this one. looks great!

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Wow, really awesome graphics and sound. Mechanics are awesome too, sort of a qwop action adventure. I think this could be an awesome multiplayer fighting game. Seriously beautiful pixel art yo!

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:48pm

I love a good normal map.

ninjacharlie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:40pm

HAHAHA! This one is great! One of my favorites by far! I love games like this :)

Really great job :)

jsspiegel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:04am

Really top notch graphics and audio! And really fun too! A great badass "beat-everything-up" type game!

porousnapkin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:07am

Great execution. It's a blast trying to throw stuff over your head.

ahmeni says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:40am

SMASH. SMAAAAAAASH.

Oye Beto says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:33am

You were right it didn't freeze, I had to move left.

I like how you are using dynamic lights with pixel art but the gameplay feels meaningless because there's not a specific objective and I didn't die once.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:03am

although the controls were a bit quirky, this was a very fun game. the mood and graphics were great. awesome job.

BruceDoh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:36am

Really unique gameplay. Struggled for a but eventually started swinging my sword around.

zillix says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:45am

super unique and beautiful. great work!

Tweak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:29am

I loved the atmosphere, and the lighting. I liked your interpretation of the theme as well. Congratulations!

rogberth says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:49am

I have mixed feelings about the graphics: loved the style yet I do not like spinning pixels.
The mechanics are fun for a while but didn't feel it was challenging at all. Also made the explorer crash many times so couldn't play much.

pawegio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:11am

original, very good sound

neekobus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:04am

Like Shire says ...

-I loved the art style
-The controls were hard to get used to.
-There was no clear goal.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:29am

Like the atmosphere. It should be interesting if it had some good objective :)

kyyrma says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:46am

Really cool graphics, awesome. I also loved the very simple yet effective storytelling in the beginning with the little dude going to wake up the giant. Fantastic mood!

TheGameFather says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:30pm

I like art, war drum music, and scream of the man! And I like the setting also, a different god game.
The control, yeah, is quite difficult..

v26 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:37pm

A t m o s p h e r e

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:43pm

Loved it, the start is a little confusing but after that it is very enjoyable. The style and atmosphere work really well. Good job!

lief says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:53pm

great concept

gikdew says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Nice visuals, the style is very neat, the controls feel a little bit laggy

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:16pm

took me ages to realize i had to hold A to get the guy moving ahah.. but great atmosphere and mood ..good job :)

Muu? says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:07pm

Great game, filled with awesome graphics and people screaming!
Sometimes I felt dumb while trying to hit things, but it still felt fun.
The game was going to be repetitive but the new weapons to try somewhat kept it fresh.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Amazing atmosphere and awesome graphics. I wish there was a clear goal since it can become repetitive quickly.

Intoxicatious says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:48pm

I thought the game wasn't working at first, because the guy takes so long to react to 'A' being held down. Fun game though, albeit lacking a goal it seems.

Lyje says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Wow that art direction is amazing! Way too much going on with the controls though, I think they can be streamlined further :)

Larzan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Wow, great idea, beautifully implemented :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Well done! Something new, something fun! The graphics are awesome. The gameplay could use some tweaking here and there. Overall, excellent game!

dylanwolf says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:37pm

The atmosphere in the game is great (both the lighting and the music). I never quite figured out how to really control the arms, and I tried both the arrow keys and mouse.

recursor says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:44pm

The art style and sounds are great. Who doesn't want to control a giant robot that can smash stuff?

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:03pm

- Great graphics, much love to detail
- Fun stomping on villagers
- very difficult handling of the weapons
- clear objective would be nice

Jared Sartin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Awesome game! Keep up the good work!

cageinabird says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Love the Sword&Sworcery inspired art. The weapons, also, were very fun to swing around once I got the hang of it.

andreaswitzen says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:20pm

That colossus is absolutley shitfaced.

TeamOmni says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:53pm

art style is amazing, the controls could have been better.

4026 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Go home, ancient mechanical death-god, you're drunk.

littleball says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Best graphics I've seen so far this time! Well done

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Nice game!

Thorig says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:02pm

The graphics are nice and I like the atmosphere. Nice entry!

vilya says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Good graphics and very moody, but I found it really hard to pick up the weapons and couldn't get used to the arrow keys not controlling the movement. Apart from that, great work!

BigGiantHead says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Loved smashing those little dudes. The sword and sworcery-ish graphics is really nicely done.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:50pm

really nice graphics. I was like thor with my mighty hammer, although it felt heavy in my weedly arms. Great stuff.

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:49pm

I absolutely loved the style of pixel art. Fun and creative idea, all around amazing. Will play again! Great job! :)

xdegtyarev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:51pm

Graphics reminded me sworcery. It was hard to understand what is happening until game ended. Nice entry, i love the graphics style.

ren says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:44pm

really cool and unique idea. The art is great and the game overall looks very amazing. I wasn't really sure what was going on but I had fun with it!

MrShoestore says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:57am

Love it. fun and cool.

ehtd says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:04am

Great!

Clavus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:16am

Lovely graphics and fun game. Bit awkward to control, didn't expect something like "Sword and Sworcery QWOP" :P

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:39am

Very very awesome. Nothing's better than a dual-wielding giant crushing buildings.
The arrow keys were indeed easier to use.
It would be epic if there were another equally clumsy giant to fight against!

josefnpat says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:57am

This is so awesome but I have no idea what is going on. I am a robot and I kill everybody and destroy everything. I suppose I couldn't as for more ... Nice job!

Garris says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:24am

I'm afraid I'm really really bad at this lol. I didn't actually progress very much, but man did I ever have a blast just flailing around and breaking stuff xD

kmakai says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:33am

Hands down this is the best golem interpretive-dance simulator I've ever played. But really, this was a fantastic entry, one of my favorites for sure. Excellent job!

teambrookvale says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:28am

This is my fav game so far! Graphics are awesome and loved the Superbrothers vibe. Very nicely executed!

Venturelli says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Cool ideas and lightning! But gameplay isn't really there...

runvs says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:56pm

The controls are really tough. I expected your game to be something like hammerfight.

madmaw says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:30am

Points for style

raulincze says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:43am

I think this is the best entry I've played so far. Amazing work!

Tuism says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Man. So cool. Great graphics, great juice, great concept, great execution... But it was so boring. And pointless. And the controls really doesn't feel like I was in control. It's QWOP without the falling down :/

Would love to see where this one goes!

Shide says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:29pm

The colossus under my control was more like a ballet dancer, not a reaper. He made such a fabulous pas! "Hey, people, look at me! I can dance, I can dance! Can you little thingeys do this?". And people were screaming and doing. Sad story. Fun to play though!

7heSAMA says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Really wanted this to be good but the controls were so difficult. On top of that, the enemies and environments didn't really do/go anywhere interesting, even if they looked great. A flat plain that you can't even jump across? Meh. Would have preferred more lighting too, so I could make out the details better.

moonmagic says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:22am

I swing my wiggly arms and swing and swing until a sword appears, and then I crush everything with my big sword arms. This is videogames. My feet ring with triumph on the aluminum floor. Swing swing swing swing.

May 2, 2014 @ 7:20am

Fantastic. I had so much fun, destruction is very good positive feedback!

loxo says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:04pm

Great graphics and audio. And it's fun to play for a while, but I wish there was a clear goal what to do.

May 2, 2014 @ 10:05pm

I think you've got the audio spot on here. It's a bit overwhelming to control at first but then the controls don't matter as much as you think

pIMGale says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:55pm

to surrender: crouch + raise arms in the air

May 2, 2014 @ 11:22pm

QWOP meets Shadow of the Colossus? Can't say I was expecting that, but I like it! Excellent sense of atmosphere, in terms of both graphics and sound.

Penguincat says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:09am

I loved the concept, though unfortunately the messy controls and gameplay got a bit repetitive. Arrow keys were definitely easier to use than the mouse. The art and mood were great, though, and it'd be cool to see a more varied landscape and different challenges for the colossus to advance through.

savethejets1 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:09am

Graphics were great, not sure what to do other than CRUSH THE TINY PEOPLE!!! Good stuff!

Ditto says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:38am

That lighting is really beautiful! I love the flailing gameplay, feels really stupid and cool at the same time! :D

Snoother says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:39pm

That was intensely moody. The droning ambience, the crowded screams. Loved it.

Lacaranian says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Rather cool. The Sword and Sworcery feel was there, maybe with a little Road to El Dorado. The weapons weren't the most cleanly controllable, but that's part of the charm, I suppose.

May 4, 2014 @ 6:12pm

So much fun ^^

csanyk says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Pretty great concept, controls could use some work. I really couldn't do anything with my arms. And in the web build, right-click brings up a contextual menu. It was a lot of fun to crush stuff by running into it for a few minutes, but then it got old... perhaps if there were something my own size to pick on...

May 8, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Fantastic graphics! :D

Yword says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 1:22pm

Interesting and unique idea! Inspired me some game ideas related to colossus(i.e. colossus in Shadow of Colossus). Well done!

SK16Games says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 1:39pm

Love this game :D The controls were kind of fucked up, but that just made it funnier xD

RetroEpic says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 7:27am

Wow, really incredible mood! Nice work!

Moosefly says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Looks amazingly good, especially when I was wreaking havoc with my dual torches! Felt really great too, lovely experience.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Teesquared says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 1:02am

Interesting use of physics. I've never felt more uncoordinated.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]