Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Going Down

by ThisIsDave - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first LudumDare entry, and the second game I've ever made!

The focus of the game is the elevator.

The idea to create a puzzle platformer focusing on collecting stuff in order to go to the next level. I had to learn the hard way that collision detection was a bit too difficult to code for me at this point, so I turned it into short narrative game.

I had a lot of fun with this Compo and learned a lot, will definitely enter the next one.

Please enjoy my short platformer


Cheers~

ThisIsDave

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#316Theme3.54
#367Mood3.20
#376Humor2.72
#457Audio2.91
#544Innovation3.08
#658Overall3.08
#845Fun2.69
#879Graphics2.65
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

Jhelle says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:11am

Great job on your first LD :).
Loved the mysterious mood in this one, the ending was a little sudden though.
Good luck on your future endeavors!

tanjent says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:00pm

Cute! This game really has it's charm. As I am playing it I'm not really sure what to expect next + I like that you change the sounds effects. I think this game can be expanded further with a lot of different gameplay elements, like code breaking/mental puzzles + some room identification so you can look up the cheats online :)

Covenant says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:42pm

First one is the hardest, they say! :) Nice twist, converting a "normal" platformer into a narrative game, playing to your strenghts!! Good job!

AmmoreChicks says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:01pm

You're talented. Go on. Nice game.

Gaspard_ says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:58pm

I like this game, it may be game-play lacking but has a nice narrative!

Maniulo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:15pm

Ha, I feel your pain on collision detection! Not being implement it is a great reason for not doing just regular platformer games and trying do more experimental stuff. Good luck with your next games!

jacobrb95 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Great job. The sound is fun. And It really made me think philosophically. Well done!

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:54pm

But... then who was hat?

Empyrealhell says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:38am

The voices sounded like cleaning glass, that scrubbing sound when it gets a bit too dry and sorta sticks. It would have been nice to something more than enter the exact same room and then leave over and over again. Even if it wasn't platforming, just something more to do.

ocmu says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:40am

Extra points for quirkiness. I liked the odd sound effects and art style the most. I wish there were more play mechanics, though : ) Keep that up for your next game!

May 2, 2014 @ 7:42pm

A very mysterious game. I love the idea of only being able to go down, and the message in the end is just glorious. It kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time, despite the art :P Maybe not the most technically impressive one so far, but story wise it is awesome! My first 5 rank overall.

May 2, 2014 @ 7:54pm

It was an interesting narrative game! Nice games! Keep up!

TheMorfeus says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Started out with a very cool idea, but the ending was... disappointing, to say the least.

HybridMind says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:16pm

I enjoyed the strange world you were creating. I definitely wanted to see and hear more of where the story was going. Nice job on your first LD!

Penguincat says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 10:16pm

Given that you went with a story-driven game rather than a platformer, the story could've used more variety and interactivity - but it sounds like you lost a lot of time dealing with collision detection before going this route instead. The idea of being trapped in an elevator that only leads down would be a good premise for a scarier story :) Still, good job making it to the comp deadline! Hope to see you submit again next LD.

May 12, 2014 @ 3:52am

Very nice for your second game! I'd suggest playing around with some puzzles or other challenge for your next one, because while I like the story this one sorta plays itself.

May 12, 2014 @ 11:15am

Congrats with your first LD! I'll repeat the wish for some challenge, to enforce the story in some way.

Junber says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 12:53pm

Nice game, audio fitted very well. Altough I would have liked to take the hat.

kikaz says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Nice interpretation of the theme, you should work on the end better the next time, good job !

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]