Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Under My Bed

by akymos - Jam Entry

A child's fear lies beneath the surface, in the darkness, under his bed, where horrible creatures haunt him.
Help little Teo facing the scary monsters which dwell under his bed.
HOLD ARROW KEYS to bust monsters when they're approaching, be quick or they'll grasp the little one.
Turn on your sound or wear your headset.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#254Humor(Jam)2.86
#256Graphics(Jam)3.67
#329Theme(Jam)3.25
#465Mood(Jam)2.90
#486Audio(Jam)2.75
#553Innovation(Jam)2.62
#580Overall(Jam)2.84
#583Fun(Jam)2.55

Comments

AgeNt_ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:40pm

Easy to understand and play. Would of liked to have different levels instead of increasing difficulty. But its fun regardless! Good job!

Korwegian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:53pm

I was expecting to live forever... was I? :(

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Was fun, though I was there was a better difficulty curve.

renatopp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:33pm

I liked the concept and the art, however the gameplay is pretty weak. I also think it was unnecessary the blood at the end.

friken says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:53pm

cute characters

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:08pm

Nice game. I got to around 400 before deciding it wasn't getting hard enough fast enough, but I am definitely a fan of these simple diversions compared to some of the more complex jam games. My strategy was to always be looking a direction, even if there were no monsters present, because I figured I always had a 25% chance the next one to appear would be in that slot. Nice job.

kiririn51 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:27pm

Pretty easy to understand, looks cute but can get a bit old after a while, very nice overall.

saiato says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:27pm

Good illustrations, but would have benefitted from more animation. The monsters could have slowly slid out from under the bed instead of fading in. Sudden blood spatter and scream was kind of unsettling in a not so fun way (my ears hurt). Very cute interpretation of the theme though, more polish and it could be a great little game.

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:33am

my sound was turned up a little loud. Was simple and well done

quill18 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:00pm

Cute drawings!

thinkster says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Haha really liked the ending. Would have liked a bit more variety but definitely a fun game!

eastes says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Scream made my heart rate elevate.

cavf88 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Cute graphics and then... I died lol! Great ambience music and sound fx.

JoeProgram says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:05pm

The voice overs are really fun. Maybe you could escalate the difficulty by having multiple beds going at the same time?

ruerob says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:08pm

I like the idea, but there is to much blood and the gameplay could be improved.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:17pm

Soo nice looking.
And fun with so many games focusing on kids.

Good going and keep doing what you do!

dj_pale says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Very nice concept, music and art, but a little rough difficulty scale and simple gameplay.

Mekuri says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Simple game. Did get repetitive rather fast. Played until I had a score of around 250 or so. Nice sound effects and good graphics.

petey123567 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:16pm

Wow, kinda dark!

lasagnegames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Gameplay is a bit too simple , if you could add some deepness into it that would be great

Newt_ says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Loved the art style! The gameplay got a bit tedious, though. Maybe make it harder?

lasagnegames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Gameplay is a bit too simple , if you could add some deepness into it that would be great

xdegtyarev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:20pm

cute characters! but i also think that blood is unnecessary at all.

eerongal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Nice little game, if a bit repetitive. I did notice that if i hit the keys too fast in succession, the kid would go back to his neutral position and not go look at the edge i wanted him to.

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:22pm

I liked the concept and the art but the gameplay is soo easy that is not a challenge at all.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Busting monsters is pretty easy but very fun. Very good audio quality, and a super creative idea. Great job!

blockbot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Pretty fun!

GreatBigJerk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:08pm

Nice use of the theme! It probably would've been a bit nicer looking if it was zoomed in a little. Most of the screen was just an empty room.

terraco says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:49am

Really great visuals!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:21am

Nice characters and it's a great interpretation of the theme. Damn that scream when you die is spooky!!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:20pm

good fun creepy little game!

icereci says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:00am

liked the concept. I had a difficult time loading the game data. maybe the server bandwidth is problematic, idk.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]