Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath the clouds

by simplesmiler - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I've been always wondering, what lies beneath the cloud surface...
People were mad at me for asking this very question.
But I'm not scared. And I'm still curious.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#148Mood3.62
#192Graphics3.80
#376Theme3.46
#596Innovation3.00
#763Humor2.16
#928Overall2.79
#987Audio1.72
#1193Fun2.00

Comments

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:14am

The physics of the balloon are nice and floaty; I enjoy the idea of sailing through the clouds with something like that. I also like the concept of people living above the clouds, seeing things oppositely than us. It'd be interesting to see where you could take the theme and story.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:58am

Well, it was interesting. I feel I missed something, as for me the game was just a cutscene, and then it ended. Regardless, it was pretty, think audio would help a lot. But it was an interesting interpretation of the theme. Made me think a little bit.

hexagore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Kinda beautiful, makes me sad that when you go beneath the surface of the clouds you can no longer see the balloon.. but top marks for mood and theme :)

no.One says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:59pm

Interesting idea, audio would be really nice to complete this great art style.

goerp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:36pm

I read in your post, that you never painted art before. That's hard to believe, because it looks very good.

This had a great mood.

But it's even less of a game than mine :D

Are you going to do more with this story?

Zutty says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Beautiful art. Its a shame the bird didn't make the cut! Glad you didn't give up on submitting.

Snoother says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Interesting. Art looks really nice. But there are some grammatical problems and a typo ("trough" instead of "through"). And some audio would have elevated it.

Did I miss something or is it supposed to be non-interactive?

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:12pm

The art is very nice and moody. The physics and control of the balloon are great. Nice story. Simple audio/music would improve the mood even further. Overall, very nice entry.

simplesmiler says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:38pm

@goerp
The story itself is complete, but lacking details. I may get it polished one day ;)

@Snoother
My first language isn't english, so text may be a mess and typos are to be expected.
The most interactive piece will happen if you won't submerge into the clouds immediately.
If only I had started working on gameplay earlier, there might have been fighting the wind, and shouting at crows to get them away from the balloon. Oh well ;)

nonentheless says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:29am

Nice looking game and the physics work amazing.

kbm says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:52pm

gotta love balloons, great idea. good job! :)

josefnpat says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:48am

Interesting. I like the physics, but there doesn't seem to be much gameplay. Very cool, regardless!

dsoft20 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:06am

Nice entry, not much gameplay but the game have a great storytelling ;P

bitserum says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:15am

It looks like a good start to something, physics are nice and fun but too bad there isn't any game-play to this. Good atmosphere though.

asotelo94 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:35am

I'm with aestheticGamer. The ballon physics are impressive; if your goal was show a visual message, you should add some audio.

Skipi says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:30pm

I love the idea behind the story. A lot could be done with it and it's a very good idea.

It's a shame there isn't much of a game to go with it :/

I do want to see what you do with it post-Ludum Dare, though.

hbocao says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Beautiful art! I also like how you interpreted the theme. Your entry would really benefit from a music to nail the mood. There is no much thing to do, so what really got me was the setting. Please explore this idea.

Chinchilla says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:54am

Nice! Shame there's no audio, some music would really lift this up. The ballon physics and art (as other people have pointed out) are great, it almost seems a shame to include them in a game with so little interactivity, but I think what you were trying to get across worked. Good job!

csanyk says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 10:04pm

I sank out of view, and then a bunch of words came on the screen... it feels like surely there must be more to the game than this.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]