Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries


by Warboys - Jam Entry

You are a corrupt Chinese Government Official in 1940s Shanghai.

You're in the pocket of all the major embassies, working beneath the surface to undermine your city for monetary gain.

The Ticker generates Intelligence from various Government Ministries. You must take the Intel you want, drag it onto one of your spies, and then connect them to a Foreign Agent on the grid view of the city

Keep your patrons happy or face getting Shanghaied!

--How to Play---
1. Drag colored tickets into a spy slot at the top of the Grid
2. Match the colors to Foreign Agents by drawing a path
3. Making matches earns cash and pleases the embassies
4. Don't let the embassy flags hit the bottom or it's game over

Bug free! Android is the best way to play Shanghai. Please give it a shot :)

Some players are experiencing a bug where the city is not loading at the top of the screen (see the 2nd screenshot for what it should look like). We can't figure out what the problem is. The game still works but you cannot see when you will lose! Sorry for any inconvenience if this happens to you.

--The Team---
Chris McMath (@chrismcmath)
Samuel Green (@SamuelVirtu)

with Daniel Arnold-Mist & Jason Boesch

Downloads and Links




Warboys says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:50am

Reduced file size from 53mb to 5.3mb! I (Sam) was silly enough to use WAV files.

Should load much quicker now!

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:07pm

This is really great! Simple and fun, but the mood and music is wonderfully effective, even though I experienced the city-not-loading bug.

conormn says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:13am

The game gets really fun once you wrap your mind around the mechanics. Really well done. Would love to see a more flushed out version of this. Also the audi and spot lights were a really nice touch. Set the mood nicely.

Empyrealhell says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:23am

I don't think I played this game correctly, because sometimes the flags would just disappear. Sometimes they would take a long time and just sit there counting down. I couldn't tell what caused this, but I am colorblind, so I'm guessing it had something to do with that. That being said, it was an amusing game, though I guess if you can tell what's going on it, it might be less funny and more serious.

The concept was good though, I liked your interpretation of the theme, thank you for not taking it literally. It was well put together, and I can appreciate the quality, but I couldn't play it for very long, color games and I tend not to get along very well.

pkenney says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:39am

Yeah, shoot, I had the city-not-loading, too. I tried both chrome and firefox, but no dice, sorry.

There's a very cool feel to this game, the sound is great and the look is nice too. It really feels well-polished.

I had a number of misunderstandings about how to play... I didn't realize the colors had to match, even though that's dumb of me!

I finally got the basics, but without the city it was hard to gauge what was working.

What I liked about the game rules was when I made a match, I would lay down a track that would later get in the way for a future match, so the track was both good and bad. Causing my own mess is a cool type of strategy game, so nice work on that. Once things got ugly they could spiral out of control.

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:48am

I couldn't figure it out at all in the beginning (I did ignore the instructions though, so there's that...), but once I got into a groove it was pretty satisfying. I still didn't have a good handle on whether or not I was going to lose or not though, I just kept connecting things and racking up points.

nimblegorilla says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:53am

Really cool game mechanic, but I had to read the directions a few times before figuring out where to drag stuff. I felt that the flags disappear a little too quickly. Music and graphics look nice!

liquidminduk says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:08am

"You've been Shanghaied!: nice

noom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:25am

At first I was terribly confused about what was going on an how to play this game, but I stuck to it and eventually figured it out and found myself playing over and over, I wasted a good 30 minutes on this one. The gameplay is great, once you figure it out. I think my favorite part though was the sound track, really cool! Made me think of the 40's and that's awesome.

Solifuge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:16am

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

This game was nice! I also experienced the city-not-loading bug, which made my experience pretty tense with the inability to figure out whether I was winning or losing. It'd also help to let us know what makes the flags in the Bund move in the first place, since I was trying to maximize my gains and didn't even know the direction I should be taking (rather than the flag problem, which would tell me how well I was doing it).

Still, I had a fraught couple of minutes of fun out of this, which is impressive for a game with one of its most important assets missing. Great job!

Kara Jayde says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:49am

Wow, this is awesome. This has been one of my fav. submissions played so far, very cool, innovative mechanics that allow for a lot of player tweaking/learning/feedback. Simple enough gameplay (a tutorial could be beneficial for those who don't pick it up), but with plenty of room for growth, and an interesting take on the theme!

I feel like this has lots of room for growth, even with its current level of fun. Maybe a more clear objective/goal could help (think of the difference between Bejeweled and Candy Crush, where one is specifically score driven, and the other has micro-objectives). An example of this could be 'score x amount for y ministry within timeframe'. You could have these procedurally generated or mark out specific ones and build an overall level list.

The screen needs to be made bigger, current reso was ridiculous for web streaming (for mobile I think it would need to be bigger too) especially on a monitor like mine, haha. Some more refined/district art could help sell it, though there's nothing wrong with what's currently presented. This is just for further development, otherwise I really love it.

M4rw4 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:18am

Nice idea, simple and fun :)

paps says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:14pm

nice mechanics. loved the music

Larzan says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:33pm

LOVE the music, but didn't really get when/why i am loosing?

Warboys says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:19am

Sorry Larzan, that's probably because of the city-not-loading bug. We're going to have an Android version up soon, hopefully with OSX and Windows too, so that might solve the problem.

Warboys says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:15am

Added an Android version! THE way to play (as you can tell from the resolution, the game was designed with mobile in mind). It should also fix that bloody city-not-loading bug!

mrexcessive says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Hi. Novel idea. Like the background music and atmos.

ethankennerly says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:46am

The atmosphere and story entranced me. If you continue to develop this, when I saw the tubes connect and points go up, I still was not sure how the connections were a metaphor for spy management.

607 says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 10:03am

Pretty fun game! I wasn't entirely sure what to do, but it worked out okay for me:P The city was indeed not loading for me. So I think that's why I didn't really understand. It was still fun to play though! My high score is 7782.

mrbungle says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 10:52am

Cool little mechanic idea which builds mood effectively with its great sound design. Nice interpretation of the theme as well.

May 18, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Very fun and efficient gameplay :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]