Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Drill Drop

by sirikan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Simple game where the goal is to drill down as far as you can collecting valuable resources to get a higher score.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#228Audio3.31
#258Theme3.61
#508Overall3.22
#613Innovation2.97
#687Mood2.86
#719Humor2.21
#743Fun2.81
#785Graphics2.81

Comments

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:31am

Nice one, the concept is really good!

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:34am

Some pretty flipping awesome tunes. Good mechanics, balanced. Plenty of fun!

JALgames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:54am

The idea isn't new, but I like that you can't only dig in four directions, but anywhere wou want. Only problem is that it runs horrible on my laptop. I don't think an Intel HD 4000 is made for gaming, but this game isn't very AAA and it really should run!

Liens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:18am

An interesting twist on the usual stuff.

Custard Games says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:18am

Haha, this is awesome. I love the music and the feel to digging. I think some animations of the ground disappearing would have made a world of difference to the feel of the game.

xhunterko says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:47am

A little bit more control would be nice but it's still not to bad/

Reinkout says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:49am

It feel quite pleasing when it "rams" on turning. Nice one.

jorgemoag says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:10am

hahaha i love the music :)
very good entry

trueyomic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Need infinity falling game. It was pretty fun the whole time, but it was hard to tell the difference between water and slime so I ended up dying for reasons I couldn't tell until afterwards. Nonetheless, good game.

sam101 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:08pm

I was not expecting the fact that you can not dig up ! The concept is nice, and well executed. It just lacks water/lava physics to be perfect ! The music is quite catchy too.

Khopa says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Very fun :)
I'd like to have this drill in Starbound or Terraria :)

Seme says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Nice little drilling game, well done!

Lyje says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:38am

I like the concept and mechanic, just wish it would escalate in difficulty quicker :)

Ragzouken says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:21pm

seen a lot of drilling games but i like that this once moves quite quickly, would be good if it started off more challenging though. quite like the player sprite :)

May 3, 2014 @ 11:45am

This is a cool, new twist on a (kinda) old concept :)
I love the music! :D

Azatoni says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:59pm

Cool adventure!

pansapiens says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:09am

Reasonably fun. I like how you've used the vignette to give longer range visibility of threats - it's sort of like a radar, without requiring any extra UI. I would have liked some type of extra special move that could grab gems that I barely missed - like a rapid horizontal left/right drilling move with a recharge time applied to it.

thaaks says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Nice game. The controls are a bit irritating because the driller shakes so much on it's own.
The ideas with gems, lava, water, health packs are really good. The music is also well cosen.
Nice innovative idea!

caranha says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 11:30am

Congratulations for finishing your game! The title screen says "beware of slime", but it didn't seem like anything happened.

The music was pretty cool, but the controls were a bit slippery.

Your game needs some more noises: I think drilling noises for breaking the stone would make the game much more exciting :-D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]