Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cave Ghost

by CodeNMore - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is probably my most favorite game I have made so far - I had a blast making it. The random generation part of the game needs a lot of work - but for the time being it's OK. Since I only had 48 hours I did not use the best programming practice which I would have liked to do, but it's still an awesome game that works! Check it out - I recommend downloading the JAR file and running it on your computer, but the applet works as well!

Timelapse: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0A-Mi6HCK5Q

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#489Fun3.09
#589Humor2.39
#687Mood2.86
#778Audio2.31
#850Overall2.88
#1018Theme2.56
#1080Innovation2.30
#1092Graphics2.29

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:06am

Not bad, almost I had enough fun with it and appreciated the randomly generated factions, though that did cause a few odd areas of way too many ghosts at once or things spawning in blocks or ghosts spawning with you at the start, but still, go orange pill.

HeyChinaski says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:40pm

I enjoyed that. A very solid game. The speed of the player vs the ghosts were just right. At first I thought it was too hard but then I figured out a tactic. Clear a corridor that you can lure the ghosts to to fight. Some ghosts would take a lot more hits to kill than others which wasn't fun because you couldn't tell which. Is that by design or because they're bunching up? Other than that nice work!

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:32pm

@HeyChinaski I'm glad you enjoyed! Thanks for commenting! The Ghosts have randomly generated (2-4) health by design. Thanks again!

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Cool game!

RobotParking says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:00pm

CAEV GOTS

Gaspard_ says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Neat, random generation is sometimes unfair but I can live with it.
Ghosts have an interesting path picking rendering then killable.
Nice Game!

Brian Corr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:19pm

This is lots of fun. If you had more time, you could add a bit of sizzle, like some indications that you were hitting the ghosts (maybe knock them back).

Ireally liked the way the scrap was hidden around the map so there was a bit of exploration. Kiting the ghosts was a lot of fun!

GREAT JOB

Seraphina says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:23pm

Pretty fun little game. I ended up using TNT more for killing ghosts than clearing blocks haha.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:59am

Good Job!

lajos says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:53pm

JAR file doesn't work (class not found) win7/java7.

pinion says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Liked it, especially using the tnt as a trap for ghosts.

Joror says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Nice little light game! Blowing up ghosts with (spectral?) TNT was pretty satisfying. :)

phi says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Solid, simple concept. Could be more polished, but it's fun already. It's interesting how just two simple gameplay elements like shooting and TNT can lead to quite challenging strategical decisions.

kristof says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:51pm

The ghosts feel a bit unfair, being able to pass through the walls. Makes it hard to shoot them in time. Still a nice little game.

PIXEL^3 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 5:20am

The thing that went right with this game is that it's very easy to get 6 or 7 consistently which makes you want to play another round because you're so close the the needed 10 scrap. However some time the ghost gang up on you and it can be hard to escape because the character's hitbox is so tall it's hard to fit into horizontal corridors.

~AlucardX60

madmaw says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 9:28am

Random dungeon generation for the win

pikkpoiss says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 7:10pm

A fun and tense game. It's satisfying luring a ton of ghosts and using the TNT. It would be nice to see some sort of explosion graphic for the TNT to have a better idea of its area of effect.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]