Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Rubar

by ssell - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Rubar is a game about a miner named Rubar. Mine stuff. Buy stuff. And drink stuff (beer).

Rubar features:

- 4 achievements
- 5 whole items
- 4 different ores
- 2 types of deadly gas
- Alcohol poisoning
- Several clearly visible features that didn't get finished in time

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#338Humor2.79
#425Graphics3.36
#588Theme3.23
#655Mood2.89
#941Innovation2.55
#1056Overall2.64
#1166Fun2.14
#1959Coolness24%

Comments

Xangotrick66 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:15am

The mining is too slow, and unless I didn't understand how it works, clicking several times to break blocks, isn't comfortable. But I did like the humor, and the simplistic art style!

malmazuke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:17am

Nice graphics, but I found it a bit hard to get into this. A bit slow

Keehan12 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:56am

felt very cool! showed good sense of mood and theme. I felt as if i was walking too slow though and got impatient.

Stuffie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Great humour and the graphics were nice, I think it would have been a bit better if you didnt have to mash the LMB to mine though.

sudorossy says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:06am

Good graphics, pretty easy!

Lucariatias says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:32pm

My first impression of it was that is was "sluggish". I don't know if this was intentional, but everything happened far too slowly.
A few of the mechanics were alright, but some expansion and other features couldn't go amiss.

Blokatt says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Hehe, that guy reminded me of Notch a little bit.
Anyway, the graphics were quite good, the lighting was nice, but the control/gameplay was a little bit messy. As someone already mentioned, the mining is too slow and makes the game a little bit frustrating to play. You should also add some brightness adjustment setting.

ovenchips says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Ooooo, me poor clicking finger! :) Just kidding, this was a fun, whimsical game. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]