Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Lost Cat

by dddaaannn - Jam Entry

A simple game with Python and curses. Run it in a terminal window.

Monday 6pm v0.1 lacks art for the shovel store, the intended level design, and, uh, a win mode. Consider yourself victorious if you reach the cat. :) More art, sound, and real level design coming soon.

And if you're really adventurous, try the ASCII art editor, and generate new levels with the level generator. You can pretty up the barn for me. :) No instructions provided, but the software is included. (The level editor just makes those simple stratified test levels right now.)

We had a whole cinematic story planned, so maybe future versions will see more of that as well.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#529Innovation(Jam)2.67
#530Theme(Jam)2.82
#554Overall(Jam)2.89
#626Mood(Jam)2.53
#639Graphics(Jam)2.61
#645Fun(Jam)2.35
#1823Coolness33%

Comments

XrXr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:17am

Wanted to support my fellow Pythoner, too bad I couldn't run it since I don't have Cygwin atm :( maybe later

Magdev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:33am

really nice that you guys kept a dev log. It looks like you guys had a ton of fun with this

tomhunt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:33am

I found the cat, but nothing happened. Also, the digging part didn't feel much like digging.

zzorn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:44am

Nice use of character graphics!
Is it possible to interact with the cat though?

dddaaannn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:42am

Thanks all! Yeah no cat interaction yet. The event fires (see gameworld.log :) ) but I didn't have time to add a cinematic. Re: digging, the level design I had in mind was more maze-like, which would slow things down a bit but hopefully in an interesting way. The intended digging sound and a slight delay would probably help also. Thanks again!

taocayo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Laughed at the cat animation. He's there waiting for me to do all the work. Typical cat.

robodylan says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:33am

As you can see from my ladt year entry i have learned that python, although a great langauge, just doesn't work for games.

Kaoin says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:33pm

Very interesting use of cats! I approve!

Cake&Code says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:49am

Haha, that was really cool. I haven't played many terminal games (besides text adventures and BARELY any dwarf fortress) but this was pretty fun! I think if there were more to do it would be even more replayable :)

poxpoxpox says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Haha, the cat animation!!!

pichifino says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:59pm

Like it

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]