Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Crystals

by Wir - Jam Entry

Hi!
We are a team of five students and made a game about dwarves digging beneath the surface to find crystals. The game has been made from scratch. We did not use any libraries.
Software used:
-Netbeans (Code)
-Sfxr (Sounds)
-FL-Studio11 (Music)
-Gimp (Graphics)

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#129Theme(Jam)3.66
#308Fun(Jam)3.10
#310Humor(Jam)2.73
#325Overall(Jam)3.29
#375Innovation(Jam)3.00
#449Audio(Jam)2.88
#510Mood(Jam)2.82
#647Graphics(Jam)2.57

Comments

ccglp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Pretty impresive that you boys didn't use any libraries
And the intro history was very funny xD

SenorDiablo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:29pm

ahahah that was cool

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:54pm

It really is impressive you did this without libraries. :)

I got some NullPointerExceptions, though, when trying to lvlup the dwarves:

java.lang.NullPointerException at
crystals.Fenster.keyPressed(Fenster.java:312)

Boodog says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Cool! Pretty fun, and good idea!

Wir says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:01pm

ahh jeah.
i forgot to check if any dwarf is selected
so if you try to level up with no dwarf selected it will throw a null pointer.
Im sorry -.-

kristof says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Impressive! The controls feel a little fiddly, but I got used to it. All my dwarves got killed pretty quickly buy an invisible dude. But besides the balancing, this is very fun!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:46pm

Awesome work !

Peni6 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Wasn't able to get this running, got two errors on load:

Apr 29, 2014 4:48:20 PM crystals.Welt bildLaden
SEVERE: null
java.io.FileNotFoundException: assets/hintergrund.png (No such file or directory)
at java.io.FileInputStream.open(Native Method)
at java.io.FileInputStream.<init>(FileInputStream.java:146)
at java.io.FileInputStream.<init>(FileInputStream.java:101)
at crystals.Welt.bildLaden(Welt.java:227)
at crystals.ZwergenLoch.<init>(ZwergenLoch.java:37)
at crystals.ZwergenLoch$Menue.run(ZwergenLoch.java:128)

Apr 29, 2014 4:48:21 PM crystals.Welt bildLaden
SEVERE: null
java.io.FileNotFoundException: assets/button.png (No such file or directory)
at java.io.FileInputStream.open(Native Method)
at java.io.FileInputStream.<init>(FileInputStream.java:146)
at java.io.FileInputStream.<init>(FileInputStream.java:101)
at crystals.Welt.bildLaden(Welt.java:227)
at crystals.ZwergenLoch.<init>(ZwergenLoch.java:39)
at crystals.ZwergenLoch$Menue.run(ZwergenLoch.java:128)


After renaming the files to use lower case it didn't crash but the screen was still white. Linux 3.14.1 using Java 1.7.0_55.

Looks good from the screenshots though and I wish you the best!

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:05pm

Yay, another student team (so are we)! I'm very impressed that you made it without libraries. Love the setting (who doesn't love a good dwarf-featuring story?), well done!

Wir says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:06pm

@ kristof, y the inivisible guy is indeed a bit tricky. He gets only 1 dmg per hit on him, u need many dwarfes or 2 hammer dwarfes to kill him, we needed a good guy to balance our weapons, the axe was to superior without the invis guy. We could lower his starting Hp though

@Peni6
We are sorry, that it didn´t work on your pc. Please be petient with us it´s our first LD and we didn´t thought of the possibility that it doesnt work on other operating Systems (we 5 all have windows). We are currently trying to fix it by rename our files and hope it will work

Wir says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:55pm

ok we do think that we have fixed the problems for linux now.

Brunodev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Whoa nice!

jacobrb95 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Very impressive game for the time allotted. Keep up the good work.

SlamBlasta says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:12am

I thought the pace was a little slow, but otherwise it was a great game!

Zerkruemler says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:37am

Nice idea and lots of features implemented, but hard to understand. I tried several times to attack an enemy, but even with a war hammer it was not possible to even scratch it.
This is very annoying especially since the gameplay is really slow. I selected an 'easy' level, but this seems to be not easy for me.

KirbiKaka says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:45am

Pretty cool game :D
I didn't realize, but in the window that default appeared, the resources were cut off, so I had no idea how many resources I had xD Also the game has some problem with not wanting to close.

It's really cool that y'all didn't use any libraries :D! The game is pretty fun to play and moves smoothly! Though, the two games I played both started with 2 enemies in the beginning zone and I thought that was a bit of a rough entrance to the game. I'm not sure how the levels are made, but that might be something to keep in mind in terms of level design?

The game is great though :D

Wir says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:13am

well zerkruemler did you look at the monsters armor? The hammer gives attack speed but if the armor is higher than your damage you wont harm him. You could try to equip the Axe, gives no atk speed but heavy dmg. Also it could be that the level of the monster was just to high. Did you level your dwarfes enough? We had the gameplay faster in the beginning but it was impossible to handle especially when you and the enemys have higher level and when you have several of dwarfes. And y the difficulty is not that accurat, we will rename them.

KirbiKaka hm it shouldnt be hard to close, we hadnt had that bug till yet, what operating system you use? You can see how maps are created file folder under how to create new maps ^^
y might be a hard entrance into the game, but its hard to judge what´s difficult and whats not when u played the game several of hours and understand how the mechanic works, for us every map was possible we will discuss it later

jomomomo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Nice job! Hate those rats!

f7f5 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:09pm

A bit slow-paced imho. The intro was funny, though :D Congrats on putting this together in 72hrs without libraries!

May 1, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Neat game. A bit slow for my tastes. The backstory was funny though, and a surprising amount of features in the game considering the time limit, and the lack of libraries. Pretty cool!

KirbiKaka says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:13pm

@Wir
I'm on Windows 7. The 2nd time I opened the game it closed fine, but the first game I played I died (lost my 3 starting dwarves) and when I tried to close the game, it wouldn't have it. The screen was frozen (though it might just be because I died) but the music was still playing.

As for judging the difficulty, that's definitely a problem almost everybody faces. As a general rule, you're a lot better at your game than most everyone who's playing your game. It helps A LOT to get plenty of feedback and playtesters (send it to all your friends and stuff :]!)

A good thing to look up for level design is cascading information theory. It'd be nice to start the game without enemies so that we have plenty of time and freedom to learn how to select, move, buy, and mine. Then add in monsters and other things as we explore. :D

May 4, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Wow. I had so much fun with this game. Web version isn't playable instantly btw.

CaiusTSM says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Wow a lot of stuff in this game. If you decide to work on this more I suggest allowing the player to move the camera with the arrow keys too.

Wir says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:26pm

@KirbiKaka: We have to admit that there are some levels that are definitly too hard in the beginning, especially with strong enemies in a small cave, where you can hardly escape. There's definitly some work waiting for aus :D
We are currently working on a longer tutorial with special levels so every player can start from the very beginning without getting harmed and killed instantly.

ZYXer says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:22pm

Wow! This is an amazing game. The pace of the game is a bit too slow though. But if it weren't for that, I could play this for hours.

A few comments:
The maps feel too large. After 15 minutes I got 5 of 37 crystals on an easy map. That's kind of discouraging.
I found it hard to distinguish between idle and non-idle dwarves. A bit more animation could fix that.
I also had problems remembering which dwarf I had assigned to which block. It would be nice if one could see which blocks were currently being mined.

Wir says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 1:00pm

By the Way we are currently working at a "full version" of our game. Included are bugfixes, visual makeup like light, a campaign buildings and other stuffs. Of course we would need some testplayers so it would be great if you could help us.

@sevenkingdoms, it was never meant to be playable in web.

@ ZYXer we will rework the speed in the "full" version. For fater game we recommend that u play "Small" its a tougher 1 but with only 10 crystals. Also there will be more animation in the "full" version, the sign for blocks is already included

pichifino says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Like it

joe40001 says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 8:07am

This game is huge!

Got to 5 out of 42 crystals on easy map and had to call it a day, it would have taken me hours and hours to get them all.

That said it was well coded.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]