Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

HYPERHYDROSIS

by BallpointPress - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The idea was to create a diving/exploration water-based game. First priority was decent controls.

ARROW KEYS to run and swim around
SPACE BAR to jump/float

DOWN+SPACE dives in air, and slides on ground.

Make sure to try diving and sliding (down+Space), etc.

I wanted to have some variety in the controls and have a real contrast between above and below water gameplay, with the need to judiciously move between. There is a flooding and draining mechanic. You need to use flooding to "win" the demo level (open valves by swimming up to them).

Follow me on Twitter if you want to play an updated version of this later:

https://twitter.com/wdnky

NOTE: This prototype fails to showcase the features of the engine based largely on how I plaed things in the demo level. I am going to continue developing this game. I have a few level based around the land/water theme and related mechanics. I will place a link to the extended version underneath the LD48 version. Once the three week voting period is over I will probably swap it and show the extended game by default and have an archive link to the LD29 version for comparison.


There are some other controls, some of which might explain any unexpected resets:

` to view some of the game variables (about 1/4 of them)
0 key to reset game
1 key to restart level

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#771Theme3.02
#812Humor2.09
#928Audio1.90
#950Graphics2.55
#991Innovation2.47
#1019Mood2.43
#1070Fun2.37
#1169Overall2.42

Comments

GreenyUk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:50am

Very basic, but it's a game! Nice work :)

SFBTom says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:58am

Heh, nice perilous start! The camera issues are a little annoying, but the movement is generally good.

Pete_H says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:12am

Interesting concept! I had a lot of fun trying to pull off moves whilst diving, that could be a game in itself :D

porousnapkin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:49am

Cool stuff! Would be nice if things were more centered.

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:14am

I had a lot of fun diving into the water and sliding around haha, good job! :)

Split82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:20am

Nice work :) Keep it up.

eldog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:21am

Nice combo dive move. And he has some sass whilst walking.

Greg Power says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:50am

The dive was coool, especially followed by thuding into solid ground. I think I made it to the end... It just reset?

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:57pm

eldog, haha thanks. A secondary goal was to get some nice smooth animation in place for the hero. But as you can see it's all keyframes. I'll be continuing work on this game with announcement as to where to play here and on Twitter.

Garris says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Simple and short, but fun and well designed. Good job.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:13pm

@GreenyUK you're right the camera waits too long to move up or down and there are some jitter issues. I'll shrink the free play zone so that the camera follows closer and the hero character stays more centered.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:58pm

.. meaning in later versions. Not in this submitted version. Just to be clear.

Snoother says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Simple and elegant.

jotson says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Love how the dude walks without bending his knees. :-)

terraco says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:32am

It's definitely a game!

vilya says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:47pm

I like the main character artwork, it would be great to see him fully animated. The map felt too large, which meant the game felt a bit unfocussed. Maybe a minimap would help with this?

vilya says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Oops, forgot to leave a rating with my earlier comment.

Thingus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Nice; I liked the combos in there. I agree with the other reviews; mmore difind combos would be cool.

mimic says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:34pm

I like how the bubbles that form on the diver when underwater make it look like he had beans for lunch.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:13am

^lol.

Toby Pinder says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:39pm

I think I can only really comment on the mechanic since there isn't much content, but it's a solid mechanic!

May 5, 2014 @ 6:54pm

^ thank you Toby. I have taken it (the mechanic) a bit further. Sliding, diving, getting in and out of the water have all been tuned up.

I'll make the link to play an updated version available here when voting is concluded.

May 16, 2014 @ 7:58am

Update: I'm still fiddling with the mechanic. And smoothing out the engine. Things are much smoother and it really feels like swimming. At this rate the game will be ready to play in five years. JK kinda.. I am still fiddling with the mechanic but the concept is really coming along too. And the level design philosophy is becoming clear.

May 21, 2014 @ 8:15am

The Web link now has the extended version, with a link to play the competition version if you'd like. In the extended version the character has his swimming-related mechanics all tuned up, and a lot of the camera issues are worked out.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]