Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath the Surface... Adventure

by Laralyn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Explore the world, open doors, but watch the clock (the bar on the left)!

I didn't have time for a tutorial, so here's the basics. When the sun or moon sets, the maze changes--everything that was solid is now open, and what was open is now solid. Levers open doors in level 1, and open doors or charge platforms in level 2. Platforms are the only safe spots as the world transitions from night to day--watch the meter on the left and get to a platform when it starts to flash!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#101Graphics4.00
#129Overall3.73
#2196Coolness0%

Comments

Eagle_Scout says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:35am

dude... this is awesome!.

Eagle_Scout says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:38am

but the loading for it takes FOREVER!

Laralyn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Yes, I ran into terrible performance issues too. That's why there's no audio! I'm not sure if it's the individual cubes, or the substance database textures, but either way both the load and the performance took serious dive the second day.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:19pm

I enjoyed running round on top of the walls, and not understanding some things, and the stairs the went nowhere.

Laralyn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:27pm

The stairs should load the next level--at least in the first one. I'll check to make sure it's working!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:17pm

There's a lot here, and nice effort for 48hrs. I wasn't clear on what to do, but I found the stairs and got to the next level, then was stuck. People very often put up post-compo versions of their games and that's what I'd suggest here. Perhaps work on it a couple days more (get switches moving, reduce jump height (I was able to clear walls! :)), etc). Keep going :)

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Got stuck in the wall. nice to see a 3d game though!

Laralyn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:50pm

We're allowed to fix game-stopping or crash bugs... and when you get over the walls, it can crash so I'm going to be fixing that plus the switches (which in L2 prevent you from completing the level) this evening. :-)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:59am

Nice Laralyn!

SuperMsp10 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:19am

looks brilliant dint get to play due
to lag though

Charimation says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:58am

Really nice game :) I love the day/night idea!
I enjoyed watching your stream too, seeing what processes you were going though to try and teach the player the mechanics, it's really cool to be able to play it now and it definitely has that Myst/Aura kind of feel to it!

Laralyn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:30am

Uploaded a new version that fixes the game-stopping bugs: levers not working, and being able to cause a crash by jumping out of the level.

Cambrian_Man says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:45am

I like some of the concepts, like the time changing aspects and such, and it looks quite nice, but I still found it rather frustrating. In level 2, I was on some pillars, and then they went up and I thought I was done, but apparently I died? I feel like I was lacking feedback in what I did, whether something was dangerous or helpful. That's partially the point, I realize, but still. I think it's a solid effort, though.

MrLeePerry says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Whew! Would have been tough to come up with puzzles for that on such a timeline, kudos for tackling that. Super glad the central tower was there for orientation. Neat stuff!

marccspro says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:28pm

It's a good game but it's a bit hard to understand how every thing works :/

Geckoo1337 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Man - I am really sorry, but in participation to LD "48 hours compo entry" has been included an OBLIGATORY source sharing. In "jam" session, you can keep private your sources, but (sorry) in this case you MUST respect the rules. If you stand on your position, I don't agree. Sorry - but rules work for all of us ++

Geckoo1337 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Respect the rules

Laralyn says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Sorry--it was an oversight, not an intentional thing. I'm zipping up source to upload now. :-)

Laralyn says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:00pm

OK, source is up! It requires a lot of different add-ons for Unity and will not run without them. Also, the materials are from Substance and could not be included.

Geckoo1337 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Thank you Laralin. I respect you and your desire respect us ++

Gunn3rboi says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:38am

very confusing, i got to some pillar that would go up but no matter where i went on the top i would be reset to before the pillar.

DonovanWu says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Don't understand some mechanics. But overall, nice game!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]