Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

*The stairs

by skymen - Jam Entry

Hello, it's my first submission to the Ludum Dare, I hope this is going to be fine.
I put all my heart in this game, I made it in 17H.

I hope you'll like it ^^

Skymen from the CloseEnoughTeam

Play The stairs, a narrative RPG of a man wondering what would happen if he goes in the stairs that appeared next to his town. Anventure in the edge of reality with Lycos, the narrator and hero of this game.

If there is any minor bug, think that it's a game made in two days.
Game does not work with MacOs or linux for compatibility causes.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#313Fun(Jam)3.09
#368Overall(Jam)3.21
#373Mood(Jam)3.06
#393Audio(Jam)3.00
#454Humor(Jam)2.36
#474Graphics(Jam)3.12
#490Innovation(Jam)2.73
#505Theme(Jam)2.88

Comments

Ludonaut says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Cool game. It's nice to see some oldschool RPGs here.

skymen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:39pm

thanks for your comment. If you got any critic to tell, just do. It's always a good way for me to improve my knowledge :D

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:44pm

This game looks really cool but MEGA just gave me an error ;(

skymen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Did you try the two links? If yes, then reload the page. If it happens to other people, I'll probably upload it on media fire for a third and fourth link.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:19pm

You do know that .exe files only work on Windows, right?
Both of your links don't work on Mac or on Linux...

skymen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Sorry. My bad. I didn't pay attention to this. Because I also built it on my friend's Mac, I thought it would work, but it seems that I didn't pay attention to the extension (now I realize that it's maybe not a .exe)
Sorry

Lucariatias says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Excellent game, don't know what zedutchgandalf was talking about, it runs perfectly under wine.
I was wondering how you managed this within the 48 hours, but then I saw it was a jam entry. Regardless, nice work.

skymen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Look to the credits at the end ^^. If I could pass 3hours more on it, I would have tried to make my own graphics, and remix some musics but I didnt have the time to do it. (and it would look like sh*t too XD)

skymen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Hey, I've made some researches, and it seems that win32 apps (.exe) do work on mac, but only with the MacOsx and not the older version MacOs. I'm gonna specify it. Seems to not work on linux. My bad for this.

Cosine says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Can you please host it somewhere I don't have to get a browser extension to view?

skymen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:51pm

I'll try on mediafire as soon as possible. Sorry about that for the moment :/

grozamorei says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:37pm

Good game.

shalskar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:38am

How the hell did you make such a well polished game in 72 hours, this is really good, you guys should be very proud.

skymen says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:20am

Actually I finished and posted it within the 48 compo hours. I just used existant graphics and musics. For mapping, I also used tricks to go faster :D.
Also mapping and programming is not that hard to, it just takes time. It's as hard to use a script already done (even though a script takes 5mn to be installed). And I worked 12h on it (I've written 17 because from 4AM to 9AM I was thinking of the scenario while sleeping (yes, I'm one of those mad guys that come up with a scenario when waking up)
Also I put all my heart in it, so you can kinda see it.
However, I still think that I could do better (and longer) if I were with my team. I made it in solo. There's nothing to be proud of. Someones spend time on programming, some others on graphics (some in sleeping) and me in mapping and polishing my game.
Thank you all for your comments. Whatever I say, I'm so happy that I would cry in special characters right now
________
/ __ __\
| | | |
| | | |
\ \_/ /
\_____ /

skymen says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:22am

Every time I post a comment, I realize that I've done loads of errors. Sorry for my english. I'm French ^^

Kragnir says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:28pm

It seems a bit unfair to judge graphics if you didn't actually make it, don't know what to do about that.

Like the mood and the setup. In the stairs it seems like the enemies get strong too quickly even if you pick up the better sword. Levels don't seem to have any noticeable effect so I don't really know why they are in the game. I guess the point is to just run around and avoid all enemies.

Judging what you actually did: The mapping is nothing special, the story is nice, the mood is nice. The polish and balance I don't know since I can't tell how you intend for the player to go through the dungeon but I would guess that the mobs are too strong for what you are going for especially since you buy and find new equipment and gain abilities.

skymen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:26am

I didn't make the graphics, but I had to search for a lot of them. Consider rating my searching work. The jam rules are explicit: I can use other graphics as long as I have the permission, and I do have the permission.
I added levels because it is useful. I also made it easier to level up on the 30 first levels (more than enough to finish the game). This is why monsters are becoming too strong too quickly. Also, their life have been reduced to make them easy to beat, even if they're strong. Finally, I disposed 2/3 chests giving better stuff and potions, this might be usefull too.
Thank you for playing, and thank you for your comment, I'll try to apply it on my next entry for LD (maybe compo, who knows :D)

skymen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:30am

Also, every 5 levels, you learn a skill. This a other feature of levels.
This is a game, you can do whatever you want, since you can do it. If you want to avoid monster and run, you can. But it's been designed the way you have to fight sometimes. So you should fight a lot (especially in the woods)

Nichii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Good game and concept, the storyline is a bit too straightforward in my opinion but the game play was addicting, although i got stuck, the progression is a bit fast, like the enemies became super difficult suddenly but it can be avoided if you gain levels and all XD still good though.

skymen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Thanks :D
I realize that anyone will never be able to complete the game because I forgot to add a teleport event after the dongeon XD. In your opinion, do I have the right to fix it? It's not like the biggest glitch ever, and before the bug, you got way enough gameplay to make an idea.

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:12pm

Nice oldschool rpg, very polished!!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Can you upload the no RTP version? My internet connection is bad for a few days and the file size is big. Thanks :)

May 1, 2014 @ 5:19am

very atmospheric!

Knowledge says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:17pm

Cool game but too hard for me.
Please play and rate my game again!

Brick says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Yeah this was nice to see.

pichifino says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:52pm

Like it

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]