Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Rat King

by woodenrabbit - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Beneath the surface there is a nation of mice at war. The grey mice population is running around in fear as the yellow rebellious mice attack them.

Its your job as Rat King to help lead them to safety and fight off the rebellion.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#475Innovation3.17
#826Graphics2.74
#924Humor1.90
#939Audio1.86
#991Fun2.48
#1041Mood2.40
#1048Overall2.65
#1137Theme2.27

Comments

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:36am

Strange romp in a world of rats. :) So many were lost. . .

ruthiepee says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:23am

I am still terrible at this game but it's fun nevertheless. So satisfying to get all the mice in a big lump like in the screenshot. Ugh yeah! Flocking good!

Thorig says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:35am

Fun little game.

OddballDave says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:36am

Fun little diversion. Occasionally I could get my mice to run in a big column in the right direction, but I couldn't figure out how I did it so most of the time they ran in the wrong direction.

KirbiKaka says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:40am

Hey, I was a little confused at first, but this turned out to be a fun game! I really like how smooth it is to run around and attack. Being able to attack and move at the same time is a huge plus :] It was a little weird that so many mice get lost though. I didn't see a way to scroll my map to recover them. It was also weird when yellow mice went off-screen since I couldn't do anything about them either.

I think one thing I would have liked to see is a little clearer obstacles. The obstacles have vague edges and are round, so you think that you would be able to path your way around them, but you can't really. (e.g. run into one of the rocks from the left side, then try to move up or down, it doesn't work very well despite the rock looking like a round surface.) Either the obstacles should be more easily navigated, or they should have harder, more defined edges. Otherwise they can be a bit frustrating the navigate (and by that I mean the bad kind of frustrating :b).

I really like the mechanics of the game though, the crazy rush of having too many yellow mice and watching your gray mice die is really fun! I also absolutely love the way the gray mice congregate, and even though it doesn't make much sense, I really like your little spinning weapon :D!

woodenrabbit says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:31am

Thanks everyone for the feedback. I'm glad you guys could find some fun out of the game :)

bitserum says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:28am

Not sure there is any goal except saving mice, but i really like the mechanics and the AI of the neutrals. Good job.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:54am

stupid mice - why do they keep going to the top of the screen - seriously - this was not too bad - nice attempt at flocking - good effort

Snicklodocus says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:55am

Fun game! The AI was fun to watch in itself. I also liked the art. Good job!

Acuity says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:07am

Mice are stupid and don't know how to walk to safety and instead get lost off the bottom of the screen. Nice little game though! :D

May 4, 2014 @ 10:14am

Very confuding at first, and pretty much stays confusing for the rest of the game :-D
The rats / mice looked pretty, and I liked the hint at swarm behavior in there - however my actions were, compared to mice randomly moving out of the screen, of such a little importance that I did not really feel any kind of responsibility as a player to what was going on on the screen.

May 4, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Took me a while figuring out the game mechanic. Still quite fun game :)

mechabit says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 11:47am

Flocking good game. Bit hard to stop a horde from running off the wrong side of the map, maybe add a high force button that can influence the horde more easily on a cool down.

Hammervuis says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 12:12pm

The flocking really looks good, controls could be better.

ZYXer says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Congrats on implementing the flocking algorithm! Quite impressive!

A few comments:
Is there a way to weight the player's mouse more? It's horribly frustrating when you have a big flock following you and then another mouse walks by and the flock starts following it.
The controls are a bit counter-intuitive. As the other mice can move in all directions, I expected that I could also move in any direction. Therefore I expected the left and right arrows to turn my mouse, but instead they moved it on the x axis.
I don't hear any sound while playing the game. Did I miss something?

mortus says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Great and quite innovative game mechanics. You feel just like a shepherd would feel (I guess). Although the crowd control is unresponsive at times, when you get the hang of it it becomes very fun.

woodenrabbit says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:58am

Thanks again for the feedback everyone. I'll try to respond to some of the common things brought up in case it can actually help someone.

1. Sorry that the goal of the game (aka getting the mice to go to the left side of the screen) isn't intuitive! The next thing I would have worked on if time didn't run out was a visual clue that you want to move the mice to the left side. I know it makes the game rather confusing at first.

2. It is fairly difficult for the player to the influence the other mice! You actually are no more influential than any other mouse on the screen. I was very split during development on whether I thought this was a good or bad thing. I considered making the player have more influence than other mice or possibly a cool down button that could grab other mice's attention. Ultimately I left it out because I was running out of time due to the art and I was kinda enjoying the extra difficulty.

3. I'm sorry the controls are not so good. I admittedly rushed them, along with the player's collision with the rocks (right now you immediately stop moving if you touch a rock). I definitely want to improve them.

4. There is indeed sound, but its turned off by default. Click the music icon in the top right if you want to turn it on.

5. You can full screen the game if you hit the F key


Thanks everyone for the feedback I loving hear it :)

oal says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 4:57pm

It looks and feels really smooth, so good job on that. The gameplay was a bit confusing at first though.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]