Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Digable Planet

by Oddly Shaped Pixels - 48 Hour Compo Entry

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
IMPORTANT: If you don't have a mouse or a mousewheel play the Post Compo version!
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Galactic Governor has spoken: you're Mankind's only hope! Find the artefact (small purple jelly beans) buried deep beneath the surface of this unstable planet to give Mankind a chance for a brighter future!

Hint: There are several artefacts buried on the planet but only one will save Mankind's future! It sure won't be the first, it may be the second but it will definitely be the third one you found!!

Hint #2: If you don't succeed don't give up, you can do it! Finding the right artefact is worth the try!

To achieve your mission, you'll have to manage your resources, iron (blue rocks) and gold (orange rocks), in order to build machines that will help you find the artefacts :
- a Digger: allows you to drill and pick up resources. Careful, you don't want to drill the planet core!
- a Radar: it will give you a pretty good view of what lies beneath the surface
- a Cooler: if the planet core becomes out of control, coolers help it maintaining a reasonable size
- a Tower: as you'll see, you're not welcome by the planet natives. A tower will help you eliminate those who dare attack your machines!

When you don't need a machine anymore or if you want a digger to stop digging, you can destroy/sell it by positioning the mouse on it and left clicking. If the machine hasn't got any damage, you'll be refunded of half its cost.

Controls
------------------------------
The game only plays with the mouse:
<Left click> : Build a machine or Sell the current selected machine
<Mouse wheel> : Browse the 4 different machines
<R> : Restart



POST-COMPO
-----------
After some feedback I've made a post compo version with alternate controls (especially useful if you don't have a mouse or a mouse wheel), some small bug corrections and a nice alert when a digger is about to drill the planet's core.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#124Overall3.75
#129Theme3.81
#130Graphics3.93
#133Innovation3.76
#149Audio3.50
#210Fun3.49
#218Humor3.08
#356Mood3.21

Comments

Zathalos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:35am

Pretty interesting game. Placing the structures around the planet in strategic places while trying to not overheat the planet was fun. It was a little hard at first but I got the hang of it. I only ever got 1 artifact though. Good job.

NicoM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:44am

Impressive all over, great job:)

Deity says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:39am

Very good start. I like the concept. The endings/attacks are very sudden. Would be nice to get some kind of warning/siren when enemies approach.

Danman9914 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:35am

Excellent! The mechanics are quite unintuitive and are not explained well, but once you understand them it's quite fun.

fserb says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:38am

Fun to play.

Using the wheel for changing structures was very clumsy (specially because sometimes the wheel would rotate around instead of going to the next item) and I wish there was another way to do this (maybe keyboard or pressing on the icons).

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:50am

Great fun, got all 3 artefacts. If you set up your diggers fast enough you don't really need the cooling system or the defense, the diggers could do with being a little slower. Love the art style.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:59am

Nice concept+look+sound. Feels balanced towards players who already know exactly what they are doing, lost 5-6 times without really knowing why before I started to get the hang of it. Especially harsh if you run out of enough blue to do more digging.

tayl1r says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:23pm

Took me a while to realise what to do but that's probably because I'm dumb. Good job!

mortus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Takes some time to get hang of it, but after some time it turns out to be pretty deep and strategic game. Will play it more for sure! Nice and matching music too.

If you're interested, I've added controls remapping to my game 'Greed for Gems' as a post-compo feature. You said you couldn't play it before, now you can!

Gins says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Incredible that you could do this in only 48 hours :)
Very challenging, perhaps using 1,2,3 and 4 as shortcuts for the buildings would be useful.

eatsleepindie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Really wishing I could sit here and play this for an extended period of time. This was a lot of fun. Feels incredibly polished, esp. for being done in 48 hours. Great work! I'd love it if I could map hotkeys to the structure building buttons, as it would allow me to keep my eyes on the planet and not the menu.

no.One says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Great ! loved the mechanics

Korwegian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:18pm

Great game, but really hard to manage the equipment. Kept having to sell diggers before they broke into the core.

pansapiens says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:05am

Great polished game on all fronts, I just wish there were more frantic levels after mastering the first ! One thing I'd like is a better audiovisual indication of when a Digger is about to hit the core - it was too easy to forget to stop a Digger, and the result was too punishing. Alternatively, just make the core expand significantly if a Digger hits it, so it's not instadeath but a big deal.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:03am

Thanks to all of you for the great feedback!

For those that find it difficult, here's a tip: try not to rush to get the artefacts, gather some resources first and then go and get them!

I've made a Post Compo version with alternate controls, especially to select the machines so now you can use the arrow keys or the 1-4 keys.

@pansapiens I wanted to do that but didn't have the time in the 48h. But it's now done in the Post compo version, thank's for reminding me of that!!

DMinsky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:03pm

Art, music, mechanic everything is awesome! Thanks for the game!

RetroEpic says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:03pm

This was awesome, I didn't know how to keep from dying because I had towers and sometimes the people would walk past my buildings and be fine and others not. So wasn't totally sure on what to do. Nice art style and audio was great!

GamerTaters says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:04pm

Cool game! Looks really great.

popogames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:06pm

Quite difficult until you get your head around what each structure does. Fun mechanics, good soundtrack nice artwork.

Therrato says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Some improvements would be being able to restart since i ran out of money and had no diggers left and couldn't restart, i would add sounds for when you are getting close to the core

MisterDerek2 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:08pm

Nice job! This is great

mechabit says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Really fun game, takes a bit of getting used to, will definitely try to beat it later. I found the resource management to be a bit harsh but maybe I'm just crap at it.

BarkingCat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:11pm

I'm really liking this, espeecially the governor and his big teeth. it would be cooler if there were more resources, differently shaped planets and so on. Definitely an interesting game.

Andrew Adams says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:12pm

Nice game. I like that there was strategy involved in more than 1 aspect.

Spotline says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:13pm

Really fun and well done/polished ,congratulations ! just one thing : I figured a bit late that I had to destroy the diggers to avoid losing, it didn't seem intuitive

spotco says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:14pm

Amazing game! (Challenging, but in a good way!)
Really great art & music too!

SuperIzzo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:16pm

It's interesting, though I never managed to win :(
It was a bit difficult to get into it at first, but once you find out how things work it becomes really engaging.

Christophe says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:45pm

Great Game. Addictive!

nonentheless says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Man it's awesome. One of the best entries I've seen. Looking good, sounds good, complete working gameplay and a lot of fun. Nice job!

Mekuri says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:11pm

Nice idea, and good graphics! A little hard at first, but gets easier once you get the hang of it. Well done!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Pretty interesting game, but mechanics are quite unintuitive and are not explained well. I must try again. THX ++

Jared Sartin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:40pm

Awesome! Will spend more time in this :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Thanks again for all the feedback.
I've tried to explain the mechanics better in the game description but the ingame indications are indeed not really well detailed.

@Therrato
Also, from the beginning <R> restart the game but I forgot to mention it in the description!! Sorry

FatJoe says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Really like the look of it, those pixels are in great shape! ;)

Took a bit to get used to but got the hang of it in the rest. Good overall I'd say. Great Job!

allinlabs says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:33am

I feel the game has potential but I can't wrap my head around the controls. Things happen too quickly, drill too fast and the first few games were hard.
On the other side, graphics are great, and I see the strategy in it. Just, my brain and my hand somehow refuse to work together and I can't beat it.

conormn says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:40am

Really great execution and mechanic! Well done!

dylanwolf says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:22am

There's a steep learning curve, but once I got the hang of it this was really fun. Nice graphics and music as well.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:43am

Interesting game, though I do not have a mouse wheel, so that sucked a bit. I included it in part 3 of my Ludum Dare 29 compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/pi2GfgHfAZM

Dreii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:43am

Nice art style and cool mechanics with nice mix of decisions! Hard to figure out whats going on at first though. Oh also liked the story mixed in with the little yelling guy :D

Thorig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:25am

Love this game and music.

Celt says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:36am

Awesome one!!!

Crooksister says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Lovely art, has alot of potential to grow.

Bekokstover says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:52pm

Great graphics, very nice concept! The game is hard though, and it's not quite clear what I did wrong when first starting out. And then I remembered I could sell things... still, I did not find anything other than these dogtags. Great work for such a short time!

l3dx says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Great game! Had to give it several tries!

gre says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Innovative game mecanism. There is a good equilibrium in the gameplay between the different buildings and also the fact you have to manage your tower (e.g. removing the digger before it reach the center, remove a tower to recover some resources).
I also liked the little bottom-right guy.

Good job.

EpiphanyG says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:22am

I'm really impressed with this entry. The graphics are really nice and the mechanics are great.

Really nice work! :)

terraco says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:58am

Pretty interesting concept

May 1, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Absolutely beautiful. Needed a little getting used to, but it's quirky and fun!

May 1, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Once you get the hang of it it's quite entertaining. Well done!

2HitAdam says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Lots of polish here and really fun and interesting mechanics. I thoroughly enjoyed it! But I'm with the others, it took me awhile to work out what I was doing and why I was dying so suddenly, but it was totally worth it in the end.

cirolve says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Interesting game, I have to say! It definitely takes a bit to get used to, but the concept seems sound, and the look of the game seems interesting.

May 1, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Very nice approach! Much less similar in mechanics than in the basic approach to the theme compared to our game. I really like the strategic layer and the little spin on traditional tower defense gameplay. It's a bit hard to pick up initially, but once I understood what was going on it actually hooked me for quite a while. Personally I would have gone for slightly larger graphics for the contructions to make them more readable.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:35am

I need to play this some more because it looks like fun - I like the mechanics and graphics - good job

JavadocMD says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:09am

A very original game! The character in the corner that shouts at you lends this a lot of personality.

PapyGaragos says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:31am

I like this one, the concept is interesting and the art is really well done. A bit more feedback would be great, but the game is perfectly playable as it is

DrPrettyPatty says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:40am

This is awesome!! Great gameplay and balance between the core heating, enemies, and drills getting too close especially; great graphics; great music. And it's polished, I didn't see a single bug! Phenomenal job!

Hypnohustla says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:56am

This was a really good game. Definitely gonna play it some more! It has just the right amount of strategy and resource management while still feeling a bit like an arcade game. You're good at this. :)

petey123567 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Hahaha, that portrait :)

loxo says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Nice graphics and audio. Your game is challenging, but fun to play and fits the theme very well. And thank you for the alternative controls, the original controls are a bit tricky on a trackpad.

recursor says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Very cool game. I'd love to see more added to this. Good work!

Waterman7 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:25am

Nice entry! Presentation-wise it feels very polished overall.
The gameplay was a bit confusing at first and it took me some time to understand how I had to manage my resources. But once I got it, it was quite a fun game.

hyouko says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Rather challenging, and I think some of the mechanics (particularly the don't-pop-the-core one) could be better explained. But it's otherwise very well polished and quite fun. Recommended!

ruerob says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:26pm

What a great game. 5 Stars in every category for me. Thank you very much.

May 4, 2014 @ 10:16pm

Pretty cool game. Very polished - the graphics and music are excellent. I like that you took a strategy game concept and made it simple and accessible. Nice job!

Garris says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:51am

Oh man. I love tower defense, and every time I see a game that's tower defense AND other stuff, I get excited. Digable Planet did not disappoint. The mechanics were well-designed, graphics and sound were nice, and it was just fun!

Team-KwaKwa says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:19pm

FUN FUN FUN! I like it, I'm on it since 1h!

Rick Hoppmann says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 10:20am

Whoah! I'm impressed, good job!
The pixel art is great, the texts fit fine, the gameplay is well balanced and the music is amazing!

My favorite entry so far! :D

May 6, 2014 @ 1:41pm

After I found out what to do (which took me some time), this really was an incredibly nice game :) great job!

jsmars says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 2:34pm

Great game in many ways! Really fun mechanics! Would be nice to see some kind of end screen with score etc to have some highscore to beat

TeamInCharge says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Well rounded game, music is totally suitable! Puts me right back in the 90s... You guys are pro :D

jorgemoag says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Very hard, but also it's very funny :)

rojo says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 12:16am

Nicely done. The game felt really complete & coherent, and I think it's a great foundation for a larger project.

Simon says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 1:13pm

A very great game overall! Good job :)

vilya says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 10:13pm

On my first playthrough I dug into the planet core without realising that was a bad thing to do. It took me a while to figure out why it was suddenly game over. Maybe the governor could say that you've drilled into the core, instead of just exclaiming "what have you done!?".

On my second playthrough I spent too much on radars and then couldn't do anything else other than wait for the game to end. "Selling" the radars didn't seem to return any resources to me, it just destroyed the radar.

I think this game would be a lot more accessible if you could add a tutorial for it, which introduced the different elements one at a time. It does seem quite polished though & feels very complete. Good work for 48 hours!

udo says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 11:56am

Quite simply excellent!

Satyre says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 6:37am

Nice one. I had problems at the start to understand what was going on, but this was my fault cause I skiped the descriptions xD. The graphics, sound and gameplay are great considering the short time.

aelita1992 says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 10:42am

Nice game, kinda difficult. Hope you'll make it a full game one day, more planet maybe, some more upgrades.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]