Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

CTS

by Ping78 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's my first ludum dare and I couldn't stay for all 48 hours :( (I had about 10 hours)
But I made a game any way.

Controls: WASD, Space to jump and mouse right or left button.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#497Theme3.33
#748Mood2.78
#777Graphics2.82
#884Audio2.05
#972Humor1.81
#1019Fun2.44
#1063Innovation2.33
#1069Overall2.62

Comments

Guennor says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 1:38am

Is there a way to become spiderman?

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Good for 10 hours! But the spiders are easy to escape, just run forward and it's easy to win.
But this game isn't bad.

jackolondon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:48am

I hate spider :'(

conormn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:01am

Spider cave scares me.

olkeencole says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:56am

Congrats on your first ludum dare! This is a worthy entry for sure. I like your cave structure. I would definitely recommend checking out Unity's new Sample Assets. Their first person controller is a bit smoother than the old one. Great job!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:33am

Very good for 10 hours. Way immersive.
I could manage to escape safe

tiffi_gaming says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:01am

Impressive for 10 Hours!

CupcakeMedia says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:43am

The controls are solid, as far as I'm concerned, you spent the 10 hours wisely. Well done.

parDal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:32am

10 hours? Like... are you serious? Damn.

I'm not a 3D modeling specialist but those tunnels looked a little complex to be made and coded in so little time and i'm not even talking about the lighting and the torch.

About the gameplay as a whole, I'll have to quote @hexabeast "The spiders are easy to escape, just run forward", ironically I was the polar opposite, because of this long-time bug-hate of mine I prioritized purging those little monsters, what was kinda frustrating, because no matter how I spammed the mouse buttons and tried to kept a distance, I always got some damage, but not little damage, I finished the game with about half of my HP, I don't know if that's supposed to be normal for an such short experience (Understand that I'm not criticizing, I'm just pointing out that in the little "fight or flight" choice in your game, "fighting" tends to be disadvantageous, which is ironic, considering the size of your enemies).

Oh, and somehow I managed to get lost in your little cave, normally you could see that as a design fail, but I would say the complete opposite, getting lost in a game like yours contributes with the feeling of claustrophobia and added some fine difficulty aside from those hell bugs.

Anyway, congratulations for participating. I'm very curious to know what would you do if you'd worked the full time. Hope you participate the next LD so we find out.

P.S.: for what CTS stands out?

chipcaramel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:28am

Thank you. Thank you for invoking the worse nightmare I have ever had. :'( Really though, this is a fun game, especially for the time constraint!

Greg Power says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:25am

Great effort to get this out in 10 hours! It was short, but I got lost, and kind of creeped out by the spiders - so it worked!

jayhof says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:06am

Is the cave random? The mouse tracking is way too sensible, I had a hard time burning the damn spiders!

BobMorate says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:22am

Wow, for a 10-hour effort this looks rather impressive! Good job!

Ping78 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:44pm

Thank You All for good comment's. They made me very happy.
The name CTS stands for Cave Tourch Spiders nothing special, but it sounds nice.
It's sad that I didn't had time and forgot to add mouse sencitivity.

Wahooney says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:46pm

The other path is a lie!

DMinsky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:03pm

Scary

GamerTaters says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Nice work in a 10 hour span. Those spiders are pretty easy to escape unfortunately. When I started getting overwhelmed, I realized I could just start running away without much issue.

Slader16 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:08pm

Not bad :D

Kastuk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Nice ice cavewalk. Need some more dark of stone cave and scared jumping spiders!

urisensei says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:36pm

Very good for 10 hours! Love the mood.

pixelpun says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:06pm

I couldn't imagine making something like this in 10 hours, great job!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:28pm

Good begin but continue to improve it ;)

cudabear says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:34pm

I hate spiders! This game reminds me of Penumbra, actually. There's no real challenge to the game, I just ran by the spiders. Even so, it's a pretty solid game!

Roman Kornev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:17pm

As the previous commenter, this game also reminds me of Penumbra! Not much motivation of fighting the spiders as you can just fly past them. But for a 10 hour game it's very good!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:46pm

Creepy spiders ewww but fun game :)

Trilby says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Quite good for a game made in 10 hours.

There is no challenge for the player however. I could just run through the cave without engaging the spiders.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]