Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Insect War

by mikedirl - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The evil ant king has taken your friend captive and is planning on eating him for his lunch.

You must enter the world beneath the earths surface and rescue your friend.

Arrow keys to control and space to fire.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#597Audio2.68
#669Humor2.28
#733Theme3.06
#1096Fun2.33
#1118Mood2.24
#1166Graphics2.09
#1201Innovation2.00
#1215Overall2.27

Comments

Gins says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Unfortunately very buggy, there are green lines from a bad tiling engine (presumably) that are all over the place and you can fall and jump through floors. The framerate gets very choppy in my browser, too, and these things made it physically impossible for me to fit into a passage-way so I couldn't continue in the game :(

The music was nice though, and I could see some neat ideas.
I'll try it again later on my stronger computer, maybe if it doesn't have the framerate issues, the collision bugs won't appear either.

ccglp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Collision stuff is broken on "roofs" bro

microapple says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Nice work, the game is pretty fun to play. Would have been nice to have a way to turn off the music though, it was quite loud.

mikedirl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Re Gins && ccglp comments: this might just be a problem with the web version as it uses web gl. Try the jar instead.

tiffi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:23pm

A lil bit glitchy, but I enjoyed it :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:30pm

Unfortunately very buggy. Holding down space and fire allowed me to jump through the platforms.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Gravity is way too fast. Strongest element was the music which sounds like late-80s arcade and Sega Genesis music.

Jaenis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:53pm

I also had those green lines appearing between tiles in browser and some animations would have been cool, but otherwise great little game :)

Strandmullen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:57pm

I agree with a lot of the other comments, a lot of bugs. Sometimes I could jump through platforms or hang on the side of or under a platform. Also I saw an ant walking in the ground.

dusho says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:58pm

really glitchy collisions, if you hold UP key beneath platform, you will hang in air and after time phase through the platform above you, jumps are crazy fast
also music is really loud
also got some GwtApplication exception..

Rahazan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Very hard, I got slaughtered by the insects. Music was pretty good, although very loud. Controls were very hard due to the extremely fast gravity.

A bit glitchy altogether, but still not bad for a first entry! Now I'm going to give it another shot and try to beat it ;).

mess110 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:46pm

I just had to save my best friend. the glitchiness adds to the fun :D

Torri Y says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Has potential, but needs work on collision

Marcellus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Don't know why everyone loved the music, all I had was a very noisy electronic-bee-like sound so I think i'm missing something.

Game was bugged in the end, i killed the ant queen but couldn't reach my friend

littleball says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Ahh the bees!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Odd vertical green lines when scrolling. I played the game with headphones and the sound effect of the bees was very disconcerting and added to the mood considerably.

petrih says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:33am

Slightly buggy but nothing game breaking. Good pacing. I could my pal but could not rescue him before I died.

May 3, 2014 @ 11:36am

Collision is buggy and WASD control not works in the same way as arrows

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]