Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Holy Moly

by thaaks - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Holy Moly is some 8 bit style retro game where you guide a little mole in search for worms. If you have found and eaten all worms you'll get to the next level / garden.
Every now and then you'll need fresh air and thus have to dig upwards. But be careful - the gardener has powerful boots! And a garden hose! And did I hear the sound of rats?

You can play the game in any HTML5 browser.

Holy Moly was created with GameMaker:Studio.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#364Theme3.47
#469Humor2.55
#489Fun3.09
#754Overall2.97
#849Audio2.16
#862Innovation2.65
#941Mood2.55
#990Graphics2.50

Comments

Gins says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Simple but effective idea. Would be cool if there were more things added with each level besides more worms :)
I liked the idea with the boot (although it's very gruesome :P)
The game seems to suffer from a memory leak or something in Firefox, as it slows down beyond playability after a while.
In Chrome it works fine though.

thaaks says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Thanks for your feedback and I agree with you, Gins. I had some more ideas but due to real life appointments they didn't make it into the game.
The Firefox issue was also reported to me by a friend. Strange.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:34pm

I enjoyed it. It is a solid little game, great work.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:31am

Brrr, the boot gave me quite a shock xD Is there any way to know when it will hit you? Otherwise the game is a little easy: the rats don't move very intelligently, I had to purposefully draw out the game to see the water hose (nice animation btw ;) ) and getting air is no problem either.
Still nice work in 48 hours for your first-time submission - I barely managed to finish in 72 and had to do some bugfixes even after that.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:18pm

I had the same performance issue in Firefox, with the game steadily becoming more unplayable the longer the game was running.

thaaks says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:07pm

@Dining Philosopher: The behavior of the boot is pretty simple: if your mole stays on an "air hole" for more than a second the boot comes down. And second rule: if you reuse an "air hole" you will be stomped immediately. The rats are dumb, I know. But it was already 4 pm on Sunday and I didn't have enough time left to make them smarter. I am thinking about adding some AI / A* path finding later on.

May 1, 2014 @ 12:43pm

I like the game. It is simple but very enjoyable. Good job.

conormn says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:17pm

Really well done! This has all sorts of potential. Keep at it!

May 1, 2014 @ 2:17pm

It was quite fun to play, didn't get the concept of getting air at first. Looking back at it I was quite dumb not thinking about that haha. I like the mechanics, graphics are a bit too square imo, but that fits the game I guess haha.

Muciojad says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Yeah, game about moles, like my! :]
Simple idea but I have a good fun with it, and than... I was trodden xD Good work.

frogcheese says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Pretty fun little game. The boot made me smile the first time it came down. :) It's a pity the rats don't have any pathfinding, because this game would really benefit from having them start following you. I never had any difficulty avoiding them. What if they spawned nearby any of the remaining worms and could dig their own tunnels, so you had to get close to them?

czery says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:42pm

Very fun!
The only thing I would have liked would be some alert that signals me that I'm about to run out of O2. :)

May 4, 2014 @ 2:57pm

A bit laggy in firefox. Maybe adding some enemy that'll attack or harm you or your worms will add more fun to the game. :)

May 4, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Nice and straightforward integration of theme into the gameplay -- made it easy to instantly pick up and play. Had fun for a few levels but ran into some slowdown on Chrome, unfortunately.

joe40001 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 10:31am

Got to level 17

SoupWithBits says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:49am

Simple, charming yet fun game!

AlexFili says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Very fun game. I really enjoyed the concept and it was quite thrilling as it gradually got harder. Needs music and more variety later on but is very good. Brilliant job!

thaaks says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 4:14pm

Thanks for all the feedback! I'm planning on a post LD version with better graphics, more hazards, intelligent rats(!) and some background music! I'm also considering an Android version of the game. And once more thanks for playing and rating!

bvssvni says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Nice! It lagged somewhat in Firefox.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]