Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dungeon Escape

by mogwai - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Use WASD to navigate.
Click the stuff appearing when running into monsters.
Stay alive and search for the exit.

Decided to try and learn Unity and what better way then going for my first LD, to little sleep and lots of spaghetti code but it's been a blast.
Will be back for future LD's!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#356Mood3.21
#523Humor2.47
#717Overall3.00
#823Innovation2.70
#884Audio2.05
#902Graphics2.62
#916Fun2.60
#927Theme2.76
#1798Coolness35%

Comments

CrackedP0t says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Linux executable please?

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Really it's never ends?
Cool game. It reminds me the great "Dungeon Master". THX ++

gwa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:53pm

cool

mogwai says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:54pm

There is an ending/exit but it might take you a while to find it. The maze is randomized upon start but it's always solvable.

Xangotrick66 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Impressed I am, since you're just starting with Unity. Liked the clicking mechanism for fighting!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Good entry, couldn't find an ending, either... :) The Dungeon Master style controls work nicely, but can be confusing, also. I guess I just lost my way... :)

SzRaPnEL says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:27pm

I made it to the "YOU WIN" 3D text in white glow under the ceiling, so it has finish :) It lacks psycho-claustorphobic music in background (like Diablo1 catacombs) but quick time events combat rules! :)

marccspro says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:34pm

The game takes to long to win :/ But the clicking thing is innovating ;)

blockbot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:47pm

Not bad, I like the one step at a time system, reminds me of some older games. Would have loved some creep dungeon sounds. You should keep working on it!

savethejets1 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:17am

The click mechanic is pretty cool.

MunkeeBacon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:35pm

The game fighting mechanic was clever! The sound however could have used a little bit of work.

Lucariatias says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:38pm

Kind of dark and moody game, but the graphics are severely lacking, as is the fight mechanic. It also gets kind of repetitive. The movement also feels kind of clunky.
The ceiling and wall textures are decent, but enemies feel very flat.
Level generation is pretty impressive.

someone says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Quite enjoyable, but I think the level is a bit large.
I like the click mechanic but it felt a bit slow at times.

M4rw4 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:28am

Cool and very nice idea, you need only to develop a better way for shooting the monsters and better graphics. great work :)

Nezzhil says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:27pm

It becomes some repetitive after a couple of minutes, maybe with more messages or a couple of mobs more, even with different colors.

D2FXRayG says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:42pm

Oh, I liked the idea behind the combat. I think if it was fleshed out abit more it could be really fun

wademcgillis says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 7:51pm

movement in general is clunky, and sometimes the clicks don't register during the fights with the cat things.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]