Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Small Town

by louiscarl - 48 Hour Compo Entry

-- Description --

On the surface, Under Dale is a simple and small town. But what mysteries are hiding in this, it seems, peaceful town? The Stranger (you) is about to find out... In Small Town, you get to sleep one night - or many more - in a mysterious town named Under Dale. Controls are simple (LEFT, RIGHT, UP to enter houses, SPACE to jump).

-- Visit Under Dale! --

Also, tune-in to Under Dale's public radio, visit the town during the day and enjoy the view of the mountains! I hope you'll enjoy your stay in this small town!

-- Developer stuff --

Small Town was written in TypeScript (so compiled to JavaScript), using VS Express for Web. The audio was made using cgMusic. The graphics are pen and paper (also GIMP for color).

It was tested on Windows and Mac (Chrome, Firefox, IE, Safari).

EDIT: It looks like the game was unbeatable for some people, due to the keyboard configuration. This really sucks, but I had to make the corrections, because you really need to jump. Instead of Z, SPACE is now the key to jump. Big thanks to people in the comments.
Also corrected 2 typos.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#130Humor3.37
#590Audio2.71
#592Graphics3.12
#665Mood2.88
#679Innovation2.89
#895Overall2.83
#1036Fun2.42
#1155Theme2.20

Comments

tiffi_gaming says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:09am

Love the art style!

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:13am

Enjoyed the art, and the radio joke on the way in was fun. Couldn't seem to get into the bedroom at the motel, so didn't get very far.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:14am

Like the pen-and-paper style artwork. Great job!

Dreii says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:18am

Couldn't seem to get past the motel either but i like what you did with the cars and the radio joke :)

ENDESGA says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:31am

The art is pretty cool! I really enjoyed this game :D

zacaj says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:31am

couldn't get into the room

louiscarl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:33am

Thanks to all the comments! The game was unbeatable due to a change I made just before submitting :). I fixed it now. Thanks for the warning everybody!

Galvus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:13am

The music was pretty okay but overall found the game lacked real purpose.

SFBTom says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:14am

Very striking art, great stuff. Really liked the idea too!

Joseph Miller says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:36am

The art style and parallax scrolling were very nice. I liked the narrative style of floating text which integrated physical movement and narrative development. The enemies killed me instantly each time I walked outside, so I didn't see much of the game besides the intro.

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:11am

It felt like it was going somewhere.

Neonlare says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:18am

Digging the art style, couldn't get very far sadly with this.

alvarop says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:25am

Loves the art style and the story telling. Weird gameplay tho.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:43am

The intro was very entertaining!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:46am

Some minor notes: There's a typo (instead of "magnificent") in the sky text, and if you press left/right/left/right the car seems to jump ahead.

I couldn't get Z to jump either inside or outside of the car. I also got stuck after sleeping in a building and nothing seemed to let me back out. Neat style, but seems a bit buggy right now.

louiscarl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:17am

Thanks for your feedback everyone! I had to make the change for this Z issue. Unfortunately, it looks like it's due to keyboard configurations... I'm using the 'My game is unbeatable' exception again to change Z to SPACEBAR. SPACEBAR is the same everywhere, I hope :).

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:22am

Went into town. Saw that it became night. Got outta Dodge as fast as possible 10/10 would play again.

Slader16 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:11am

I loved the art style!

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:37am

Oh, wow! Just wow! (In good way)

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:58am

trippy, but unnervingly enjoyable and interesting.. I like how you made the player engage in mystery or rather decide to leave the town at any time.

micdoodle8 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:50am

Awesome, love the cartoony art style!

orangepascal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:08am

I think I'm missing some gameplay elements here? As others said, the radio joke was great.. just finding trouble to see the gameplay and theme elements in it ;( sorry

qntnm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:10am

Really nicely done, and some good humor in there too!

Celt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:28am

The joke at the beginning with the car is brilliant in a way. Sadly it can't keep up this originality and humor throughout. Instant kill madness!!!

Kimba says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:18am

I need more action, still the game is ok.

Lars Faust says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:30am

"it looks like somebody stops frequently on Main street for no reason"

10/10.

puckers says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:31am

I love the way you did the text in the sky! Very cool. And the art style is unique I like it

tchem says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:53am

The artwork is great.... the game idea is cool and intelligent,, congrats man!!!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:58pm

Cool graphics. Simple and cool

Elforama says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Loved the humor in this game. Great job!

Reinkout says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:39pm

The ending dialogue was great! :)

atlantian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:58am

A lot of good humor

mollymus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:21pm

I loved the initial text where the radio speakers said 'it looks like someone's stopping all the time on the main road' or something similar - extra humor points for details like that!:D

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:12pm

loved the art ..music was good too :)

May 8, 2014 @ 3:58am

like the unique style of the art for sure, the sky & mountains are cool, I like the way the perspective changes as you drive or run, fun & original.

King_Mew says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 12:39am

Very interesting art style. I didn't really know what to do. I liked the joke though :P

Zccc says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 10:26pm

I was expecting more from this, but it was pretty cool :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]