Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Reflection

by lucienpro - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Reflection is a minimalistic platformer with a twist, the world has 2 gravity fields... the one above the surface and the one "beneath the surface". This is my entry for the LD29 48 hour comp.

I hope you like my submision, if you do, please say so in the comments and rate my game accordingly.

I did all the graphics, sounds, music and gameplay

I'm pretty happy with what I came up with but please don't judge me too much for this is my first Ludum Dare (not including the Mini LD) and I am only 12 years old.

I can't wait for the next comp, I wonder what the theme will be + it'll be 30th one!

-lucienpro, out

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#37Fun3.95
#47Overall3.95
#79Mood3.83
#149Audio3.50
#187Theme3.70
#223Humor3.06
#241Graphics3.70
#328Innovation3.40
#1851Coolness32%

Comments

tastyoishi says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 11:10am

Wow! this is awesome. I only died 101 times

mcburrobit says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 11:19am

Nice, if a bit short. Some bugs with horizontal movement (the screen shake effect sometimes seems to zero vertical momentum mid-air, colliding against moving platform freezes the player and the platform in place) and the reset key didn't always work reliably. But none really affected the gameplay, apart from the second-to-last screen.
But all in all very nice! Kudos and congratulations!

skymen says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Awesome, the (little) story, the gameplay, the graphics, the music *_*. Really well made. No matter if your only 12, your game is cool. I enjoyed. The bugs are only minor, they do not matter for the gameplay of the game.

GmacktheGummy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:29am

That was very impressive, for what it was. The bugs I faced did make some of the jumps overly difficult, and most deaths occurred from only bugs, but for a game made by a 12 year old, this was a very impressive game. Well done.

mrfriedfish says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:14am

Great game! there are minor bugs but hey it's a 48 hour game jam, it's bound to have some. if you do decide to continue on with it then you could fix it up and put more story into it and pace the levels more. you don't need to mention that it's made by a 12 year old by the way but it's impressive. Great Job.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:44am

I like it! Like said before, there are some bugs, but I really enjoyed playing it.

lekochen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:55am

That was very impressive. I like everything of the game.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Love this game.
Music got very repetitive after a while but it did make me more frustrated when I died so I guess that added to the fun.
really enjoyed this.

martinysa0311 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Great game!...simple and powerfull

Zccc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:06pm

I can't believe you are only 12, this is amazing! Good job, completed with 14 deaths.

bitserum says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:17am

Wow. It has everything and perfectly fits the theme. Mechanics are very fun to play with, and story becomes interesting. Great design, great game.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:46pm

This is pretty cool. I've seen similar platform games in this compo with two worlds, one of which is upside down - but this is the best implementation of that I've seen so far. The whole using gravity to propel yourself higher in the upside down world concept is really cool.

hbocao says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Very cool entry! I think the mood was great as the graphics and music really fit together. Doesn't matter how old are you, because your game it's really nice. Keep rocking!

Junber says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:42am

Nice game. The simple graphics fit well even though when I heard the music I thought the text would be something poetic. It got really annoying that touching a block stoped you horizontal movement in the last level. Personally I would tell my age inside the game (in description its ok) but thats only what I think.

vitor.navarro says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Hey congrats this is quite a game, I was compelled to know how it would end.

meszka says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Cool gameplay concept along with some thought out levels :)
I also loved the camera visual effect. The graphics are minimal but perfectly balanced. Music is simple but sounds very nice.

SK16Games says ...
May 24, 2014 @ 11:36pm

wow. Awesome game! Can't believe you're 12 years old and made this in 48h... Congratz on getting in the top 100! xD

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]