Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Pelican Challenge

by Green Lightning - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In Pelican Challenge you have to dive into the water to catch as much fish as possible within one minute!

This game has no music in it, because I did not have the skills or the time to create something decent for it, but I suggest you turn on your favorite relaxing song while playing it.

I live streamed and recorded the whole development of this game. You can find links to the videos on my homepage.

I hope you have fun and a happy Ludum Dare to everyone!

Green Lightning (@MGreenLightning)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#150Fun3.59
#320Innovation3.41
#350Graphics3.48
#372Overall3.36
#385Mood3.18
#399Theme3.44
#613Humor2.36
#767Audio2.33

Comments

dartsdev says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:24am

Fun gmae, nice graphics, played a few times

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:44am

Very solid and smooth, smoother than a lot of LD games. :)

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:27am

I really like the diving mechanic. Like others have said, it plays smooth. Good job!

Nition says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:29am

Pretty simple concept, but plays well and looks good.

tastyoishi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:30am

A fun mechanic :) Took a while to figure out how to do it really well, but good when I did.

halfmage says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:14am

interesting mechanics and nice gameplay!

Zutty says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:36am

Plays really well. Surprisingly challenging.

triforcespark says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:38pm

really addicting. My max score is 142.

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Cool idea! Controls were a bit clunky, but I really liked the way it looked!

allurious says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:00pm

Clean, simple game-- liked it!

Zazibar says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Simple and fun, nice job!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:03pm

Great and hilarious game :) I really enjoyed it and love your pixel art :)

Sodaware says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:04pm

Plays really fast and smoothly. It took me a couple of goes before I figured out how to dive deep enough to get most of the fish.

Really like the presentation, and the neat touches like the moving clouds and the bubbles. There's a nice satisfaction to getting a dive lined up and scooping a whole bunch of fish in one go as well.

renatopp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:05pm

The control mechanics is a bit confusing to me, though is a good game. Nice Job.

seantheartist says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:13pm

I like this game, it is relaxing because you aren't being attacked by anything. Interesting because you get to watch the underwater environment evolve and try and scoop up the largest load of fish. Controls were fluid.

atterday says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:14pm

Fun and addictive game! I enjoyed it very much, well done!

kratorspore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:17pm

Simple, pretty and a pretty interesting diving mechanic. Nicely done!

Jason Lay says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:33pm

I'll be honest, I was thinking flappy bird! This game was fun to play though. Very unique!

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:32am

Beautiful and so nice to play! I like the intuitive controls a lot. I wish the clouds matched the cute cartooney theme, but it's a tiny gripe!

Hippolyta says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:05pm

A funny little game with nice gameplay!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Fun little game, Like the graphics. Love the game play
Such a good feeling when you get a whole archway of fish :)

camlang says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:36am

Looks good and fun. Nice game.

Crooksister says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:56am

Nice idea! The diving is done really well, wish i could hold down space and just continue:)

01010111 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Really neat game, very relaxing. I feel like the movement could flow better, but as it is now it feels like a very old school PC game :)

kristof says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:33am

Very nice and innovative game. Also pretty difficult. I liked it!

paps says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:29pm

nice graphics, I find the game relaxing

dector says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Looks awesome. Good concept. Control isn't little bit comfortable. May be because big inertia?

stvr says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Super fun!

Sestren says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:13am

Simple and fun to play. Once you get the hang of the dives, it's really cool!

May 12, 2014 @ 1:55am

Simple but fun game, looks beautiful! I included it in part 25 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/06U_lc3kLp4

csanyk says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 5:51am

Really pretty, fun. Controls aren't as tight as I'd like, but it takes some getting used to.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]