Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

2Metersbeneath

by DrStahlbart - 48 Hour Compo Entry

2Metersbeneath, my very very first game at all, is some kind of a tamagotchi in the Fallout-universe.
You can see it as a game or as a tamagotchi engine, it's up to you. :)

Story:
There is the lonely vault inhabitant #104 trapped in a vault without an exit (don't ask me how he entered it).
Now he lives there for another decade, or for a minute, you decide.
The vault inhabitant can drink, eat, and even die!
Too much cola-sugar or potato-fat will kill you!

Controls:
ESC - exit the game
Mouse - spawn, drag and drop some cola and potato crisps

Tools I used:
-Game Maker Studio standard
-bfxr for the sounds
-autotracker-bu for the background music
-mspaint for all the sprites

The download contain the single runtime game as well as all the content like sprites, code etc. Everyone can use the stuff for their own projects without having to give me credits. But a mail would be nice, so I can see what the people do with the stuff.

Cheers from germany, DrStahlbart. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#424Audio2.96
#474Graphics3.28
#503Humor2.50
#649Theme3.16
#801Mood2.71
#962Innovation2.52
#1124Overall2.52
#1238Fun1.76
#1633Coolness44%

Comments

UnixXNova says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:44pm

I like the idea not much to do though

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:22am

I like the idea as well. I think that it would be a cool project to add more stuff to.

May 1, 2014 @ 4:52am

liked the sound effects. I agree with the previous two comments, some additional stuff would be cool

DrStahlbart says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Thanks a lot guys, you are great!
Yup ,there is not much to do, I will do better in the future. :).
I've played with the idea to add some furniture, but then I ran a little bit out of time.

td1801 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:13pm

It's a cool first game (Looks like everybody do a Tamagotchi or a Text Rpg at first x)).
It's kinda boring with only action.. But those arts are nice :) Keep going dude ! It's super cool for a first game in only 48h :)

May 1, 2014 @ 9:48pm

It's nice but it's quite boring to play like that. For a first entry it's great though, sounds, nice art. keep going!

Empyrealhell says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:54pm

It would be nice if there was some sort of goal or feedback loop, as it stands it doesn't really feel like a game. There's no goal to strive for.

Newt_ says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Looks very nice!

Neonlare says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Nice style both visually and audio wise, but it felt a little sparse in terms of content. Cool entry for sure though!

jomomomo says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Can't play windows games, can we get a web version?

sam101 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:55pm

I liked the graphics, but the game clearly lacks more gameplay elements !

ZYXer says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:39am

Well done for your first game! I like the pixel art graphics. It would be nice if there some random events, or if the bugs on the surface had some effect on the guy.

(My guy was doing fine, he had 0 hunger, 5 thirst and 100 health... and then he died. What did I do wrong?)

TomBoogaart says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:43am

art is pretty rad, music too, and what people above said

Lukbebalduke says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Nice graphics and sounds. Nice work

nSun says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Great idea. In LD context, I like very much your submit.
As game, there is some details to be polished as:
- Fullscreen, I think it will be more playable in a small window, to allow to do something else on our computer, and come back from time to time on the game to worry about surviving.
- Original tamagochi has much unnecessary features. it would have been fun to implement in this post-apocalypse context.

DrStahlbart says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 6:38pm

@ZYXer thanks for your feedback! I think the death of your vaultican was because of "sugar" and/or "fat" overload due too much feeding. I've implemented this feature to make this at least a little bit challenging. :)

@nSun
Wow, that is a really constructive feedback! That is very useful for the future, thanks a lot! :)

peterlavey says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 8:18pm

is fun, good graphics and ambience

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]