Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Asteroid Tycoon

by BadgerPriest - Jam Entry

ASTEROID TYCOON is a game about fast-paced autonomous asteroid mining. Experience first-hand the thrill of controlling a fleet of mining robots to extract resources from 5 asteroids for Asteroid Tycoon corporation!

Corporate doesn't have much faith in you though, so you have to start out with some pretty junky bots. Prove yourself by digging deeper to unlock new bots and upgrades. The deeper you dig in each asteroid, the cooler rewards you get.

Controls: Click a type of robot to build (or type the first letter), then click a target square for it to mine towards (upgraded bots become more precise). If a robot successfully reaches its destination, it begins performing its default action: exploring, digging, or harvesting, depending on the type of robot. You can also drag the spaceship to change the spawn location for robots. More features present themselves as the game continues.

Asteroid Tycoon was made by Alex Nisnevich (code, concept, SFX), Dmitry Mazin (interface, code, music), Greg Shuflin (code), Jimmy Hack (art, code), Jordan Arnesen (art, game design), Natasha Hull-Richter (code), and Tikhon Jelvis (code). Technologies used include EaselJS, Underscore, Pickle, and bfxr.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#132Humor(Jam)3.28
#166Fun(Jam)3.36
#183Theme(Jam)3.53
#197Overall(Jam)3.47
#216Innovation(Jam)3.35
#230Mood(Jam)3.37
#455Graphics(Jam)3.17
#553Audio(Jam)2.51

Comments

Yaru says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:45am

Interesting game! The music gets very repetitive after playing for a few minutes, but I love the UI.

4sap says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:47am

Game is great. Music is grating..... Everything but the music was awesome

Rabbits... says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:02am

This in amazingly elaborate, played for a very long time

wheelsx says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:50am

Great game, music is a bit redundant, but the AI seems to be pretty good.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:04am

Interesting take. Maybe I did not understand the game, but I did not feel that there was any kind of challenge or that my decisions would have any serious consequences. I had so much money that I just kept spamming the little bots into the surface and the game just seems to trickle along.
I like some of the texts, the humor works for me.
It's a great premise, but gameplay really falls short to be honest.

BadgerPriest says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:46pm

@Maschinen-Mensch Thanks for the feedback. I'm curious, how long did you play? There are 5 asteroids and they get progressively more difficult, so the first is very easy. Maybe the player should be made aware of the other planets sooner?

blockbot says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:56pm

This is really great, I almost cleared the whole board.

Khopa says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:11pm

It becomes really difficult on the third asteroid, I lost on the 4th one.
Really fun and addicting game :)

This music loop was a bit annoying though.

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Hmm.. Looks like the pathfinding AI isn't working well.. which is a shame :(
Also i don't really get the feeling of progression and not all the unlockables became available. Overall it was fun to play cause i kept on playing for like half an hour haha, but i think you can make something more out of this game!

sink_t says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:18pm

A decent production, though there doesn't seem to be any way to lose. The gameplay is basically limited to clicking for more robots. There's no way to control the robots, either, which means one has to rely on the AI, which, obviously, does not always do what the player wants.

The really bad part is the music. It's simply repetitively obnoxious. I muted my browser and listened to Beethoven instead.

BadgerPriest says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:47pm

For everyone bothered by the music, I added a mute-music button to the top right.

pancakecity says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Great game overall, the printouts are excellent and the robots are amusing.

PapyGaragos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:43pm

I think it was smart to make the units have such a short lifespan. In those kind of games you tend to wait a lot, and doing this boosted the pace (and the fun) of the game.

Good job

Xaychru04 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:21pm

Fun game! The music was a bit repetitive, but I liked it anyway. :)

May 2, 2014 @ 12:56am

Cool game! I really loved the news ticker along the top. Very nice touch.

hanoth says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:22am

Fun game with a great premise!

GreatBigJerk says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:58am

Very fun! THe only thing that's a bit frustrating is that your robots will dig dirt when there's perfectly good resources right next to them!

This would be a good mobile game!

May 4, 2014 @ 5:21am

Nice polished game and got quite addictive trying to clear all the asteroids, ended up playing for longer then I had intended :)

LTyrosine says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Addictive cool game, I'm still playing it after more than 1 hour. I can remember few LD entries that keep me playing for so long and for that alone this one have a place in top 10 in my rank.

The graphics could be better, but this is workable in post compo. I loved it from start where memos shows how much the mining company hates me hahaha amazing.

elfeck says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:41am

The music was blasting and WAY to loud when I loaded the page which really put me off. I like the conecept though and the details with the news and stuff is awsome!

copain says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:46am

first I was thinking it's borring, then upgrads come (a bit latter) and it was fun. addictive but a little repetitive.

mechabit says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:55am

Brilliant game, only thing I'll say is it'd be good to see how much the vulture managed to recover instead of "died in vain". Love the AI on the bots

madmaw says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 10:03am

A really solid entry that has it all

Kate Kligman says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Fun! Loved the humor. I had some difficulty accidentially switchng between asteroids by clicking on parts of the surface. Would like to see more from this entry.

NightShadow0 says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:55pm

This might be the LD entry i spent the most time on so far, it's pretty addictive. Nice work!

Mase says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:30pm

I lost some crucial robots by accidentally switching between asteroids though. Clicking on the ground sometimes switches to a different asteroid; maybe some of the buttons from the asteroid select screen remain active.

Otherwise quite good.

mortus says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:06pm

I was confused at first but then it turned out to be pretty addictive game. Only stopped playing after 3 or 4 fully cleared asteroids when I've jumped to the last asteroid just to see what's there and couldn't return back (I guess it's a bug).

May 7, 2014 @ 12:41am

Really nice interface... first web game I've ever played where you actually scroll on the web page to view more of the scene.

NicoM says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:27am

Actually played this for quite a while, theres some really nice UI work here, and I like the kind of sporadic random movements of the robots, also, as the comment above mentions, it is a very cool use of the web format... Great job!!:)

NicoM says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:39am

one critique (yes I'm still playing), is that the squirrel robots feel too random, it gets hard to make them explore near the bottom, because they just screw around up top until they die

NicoM says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:32am

OMFG I CLICKED AWAY ACCIDENTALLY AFTER GETTING 49 ARTIFACTS!!!! ugg I'm so sad now:( (by far the longest I have ever played a ludum dare game for) wow this is disheartening:/

NicoM says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:33am

I was so excited to actually beat it, as I havent seen any comments of wins....

BadgerPriest says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 7:37am

Aww, I'm so sorry to hear that NicoM :-(

conormn says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:40pm

Loved everything about this :)

matt_j says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 12:50am

Very cool stylized UI, and I love the theme.

May 8, 2014 @ 11:52am

This felt like a complete game, nice interface and a cool idea. It would be good to have some more transparent decisions to make, but overall I really liked it

jacklehamster says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 11:23pm

Strangely addictive

JoshOS says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Nice game. As people said, music gets very repetitive, but the rest of the game is cool.

May 11, 2014 @ 5:35pm

Really put together game! I included it in part 23 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/yJ4mg8nxxfM

edibletoaster says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Pretty cool.

GagaPete says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 9:48pm

In the beginning, I had no idea what to do but after reading the entries description I got it. And it is pretty funny. Not sure though what the goal is.

Pitoum says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Very interesting game.
I agree that you should make us aware of the other planet asap. At first I was like "Ok this is so easy..."
Great great entry !

mechabit says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Just wanted to say again how great this game is, keep coming back to it to waste some precious time. Perhaps in a sequel you can design and build your own bots and unlock secrets using the alien artifacts.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]