Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Rise to Surface

by jtrencsenyi - Jam Entry

Endless runner... eerrrmm... swimmer game. Help the little monster to rise up to the surface.

Control (web):
Left arrow - move left
Right arrow - move right
Space - start game

Control (mobile):
Touch left side of the screen - move left
Touch right side of the screen - move right
Tap anywhere on title screen - start game

Hint: pick up gold coins and shells for extra points.

iOS versions are coming soon on App Store.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#179Theme(Jam)3.54
#187Graphics(Jam)3.85
#195Audio(Jam)3.46
#297Humor(Jam)2.76
#313Mood(Jam)3.17
#341Fun(Jam)3.04
#418Overall(Jam)3.13
#630Innovation(Jam)2.43

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Love it, awesome job

drfrankie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Nice Addictive Stuff.

nicolashognon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:30pm

nice. but is it possible to loose/die ?

Yword says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Nice try! The overall mood is pretty good. Maybe you can add some hazards or speedup to make it more challenging.

BuKaneerz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Good work, and good graphics !
But it's impossible to win or loose ?

Nezzhil says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Good job! The graphics and the mood is great! :)

Nezzhil says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Mmmm would be better with enemies or some objective.

jacklehamster says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Damn, this game has a bit of flappybird-like addiction feel to it. I think it'll do well as a mobile game.

mark.goetz says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:14pm

Hey, good entry! I like that you're already considering how it'll work on both desktop and mobile. I felt that the coins and pearls were a little too random to make much of a difference, though.

GreatBigJerk says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:25pm

Very cute character!

Sanguine says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:31pm

The mood was good, but I feel like the concept could be a bit more innovative by maybe adding in some new elements to the mix.

Konrad Zegis says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:34pm

It reminded me of old Bubble Dizzy game, and also - as someone stated before - a flappy bird :D

Too bad that fishes didn't do anything.

Switchbreak says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Nice, I made it to 84,200 - though the score seems like more of a test of patience than skill. I liked the colors and the light beams from the top, the ambient sound was good too.

Sim00n says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:37pm

I wish it was a little bit more challenging. I feel like there's no way for me to die and it gets boring after a while. Nonetheless good job!

TeamFlare says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:46pm

nice try

hanoth says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:01pm

I love the look of this one. It could use some power-ups or more obstacles though. Maybe make the fish so they can pop his bubble?

MaesK says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Good game, but it is easy to stay alive for long periods of time. There doesnt seem to be an end, goal or variation, so users may get bored after a while. I wanted to see the surface :(

Nice work with sounds and visuals!

Kaoin says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Surprisingly fun! The menus and sprites are nice, could use some variation to the obstacles.

Bashosha says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Nice simple game :)

wdebowicz says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Funny art style!

petrocket says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:14pm

Really fun!

Cash says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:37pm

This would be a perfect mobile game,congratulations

rujo says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:38pm

simple idea very well designed

jhrrsn says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Great little runner, I was getting a little bored but then things started getting really hard! Final score was 52900! Good job guys.

May 3, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Very clean and well-rounded entry. Good graphics, sounds, and excellent difficulty scaling.

May 3, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Nice polished entry! A bit simplistic for my tastes but probably makes a suitable mobile game. I really like the ambient sounds.

randoman says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:19pm

It's a cool casual game. Nice if you're targeting smartphones.

Rodaja says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Looks and sound good, but I couldn't really get it to play properly, trying it on a Mac, maybe key names made it not respond correctly.

ruerob says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:23am

That game makes a lot of fun. At playing I thought that it would be a nice effect if the background would become brighter and then I see that it is that way. The sound also fits and there are colectable things. Really good work. I really like your game. Thank you for that entry.

May 6, 2014 @ 4:21am

Very nice in scope, art, and audio! Wow.

May 8, 2014 @ 9:42am

nice game!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]