Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

IO - Reflection/Puzzler

by oranebeast - Jam Entry

Whats that? The sound of a completed game!


Hiya!
I'm oranebeast and this is my submission for Ludum Dare 29!

Its a simple reflection based game called "I/O"
I had quite a journey with this game, From screaming out loud to
cutting my most used keyboard finger, This game became frankenstein

Its pretty simple and i focused more on content then story
because EVERYONE was doing story, But we still need a story don't
we?

Beneath the surface of your basic lamp, Lies complex circuitry. Wire up
these circuits and prepare for a puzzler youll never forget!

Post your time (take a prt sc before the end of level 15)!

Shout out to Star And Moon for the wonderful gfx and ideas
Shout out to blokatt for being himself

Controls :
Left Click - Place / Rotate
Right click - Remove
R - Restart game


<yay>WOOOOO!</yay>




-- oranebeast

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#36Fun(Jam)3.84
#166Overall(Jam)3.53
#203Audio(Jam)3.43
#362Innovation(Jam)3.03
#429Graphics(Jam)3.24
#436Humor(Jam)2.41
#479Mood(Jam)2.87
#726Theme(Jam)1.97

Comments

Star and Moon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Played it, enjoyed, but found a cheat way to solve pretty much every level... before I realized you had already published this. :p

oranebeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:47pm

Its a keyboard shortcut, Riiiiight?

Junber says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Nice game. Just a two things:
- The Mirror rotation should be strict clockwise not with a flip in between.
- There are a lots of levels which can be solved with less than the available parts.

Andy Gainey says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:19am

Around level 11 or so I made a silly mistake and shot a bullet into a brick. It said to hit restart, so I hit R, remembering what I had seen on the entry page, and not realizing that there was a restart level button. That restarted the game from the beginning. :( Just when the levels were starting to require a bit of creativity, but I was too lazy and annoyed to go back through the other levels again.

Many of the levels were pretty easily solved with fewer pieces than were provided, so I was a little confused by the extra pieces.

Not sure I really buy the connection with the theme; seems like quite a stretch.

ghostmaple says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:21am

I like that you can beat some levels "under par" by not using all the provided pieces. The crates are a neat idea for providing non-buildable cells. Got stuck on Level 14 with the exit tank surrounded by steel blocks.

hnjslater says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:12pm

I get not a valid win32 application when I run it, is Vista not supported?

sudorossy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:26pm

Really good puzzle game!

Star and Moon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:02am

would love to see a level editor in the future.

May 1, 2014 @ 2:24am

Very nice puzzles. I like the red herrings in some of them.

oranebeast says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:31am

@Jumber
Below-par solutions were part of the design
Yeah, The mirror rotation is quite primitive
@Andy Gainey
I hear ya! Pg up skips levels.
@ghostmaple
Thx! Level 14 tip : Kaboom
@hnjslater :
Hmm, Weird, Try extracting and/or redownloading, Tested on Windows 7 & 8
@Star and moon
Level editor is a priority, But i'd need to refine the engine a bit before i can tackle that
@Scruffylooking
Thanks! But what do you mean by red herrings?

May 1, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Nice simple puzzle game. Clicking on the mirrors to rotate them was sometimes a bit annoying since it only registers clicks on the mirror itself, rather than the whole block. It was also non-obvious which portal was the entrance and which was the exit. Maybe some little arrows on the icons would help. Graphics and music are good. Nice job!

Dreii says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:46am

Wow this is a great concept! Id make this into a mobile game right away if I where you, Its very expandable and awesome!

oranebeast says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:53am

Thanks! I plan to.

May 2, 2014 @ 6:37am

Nice little game, I had fun with it. I don't see why I have to restart the whole level if I place one part wrong, though. I really liked the music though.

oranebeast says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:43am

Thanks, I see your point.

rvmook says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:45am

Aww man, totally forgot to take a screenshot of my score. I love these kind of games. The portal like blocks were cool, but I missed a little diversity and challenge in the puzzles. Good job, now go create more puzzles!

oranebeast says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:49am

Yes sir!!

May 2, 2014 @ 6:53am

Have more faith in yourself. The "dubstep" version was unnecessary. If someone doesn't like your music, they'll just, well, turn down the volume, ya know?

You should probably make it clearer that the goal is to destroy the red tank, too. People who've played similar games before will go in assuming blowing up the target is game over.

That said, you've got a nice foundation. You've done well introducing the elements gradually, in ways that lets the player understand quickly what they do. Except for the portals - would be nice if which one is the entrance and the exit were a bit more obvious.

For future levels, go wild! Right now the difficulty curve is pretty good, but there's potential for much more devious puzzles!

Good job!

byExclusive says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:02am

Nice game.

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:47am

Wow, nice! I played this through to the end, although the puzzles were a bit easy. The instructions at the beginning are in a big block of text, I suggest splitting it among different levels as you introduce elements (although that can take precious time).

NikinCZ says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:58am

Dude, this is probably first LD48 game ever i gave!
Not just because you show all these "Guys-that-thinks-that-gamemaker-is-worst-thing-where-you-can-make-games" that Gamemaker is not so bad! Graphics normal, portal reference, 15 levels. Music is awesome!

Fritzendugan says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:53am

Agree that the dubstep version was unnecessary, the music was fine, and, like said before, if people don't like it they'll turn it off.

I also would like to see a level editor, like others.

Levels were pretty easy, as others have stated, I beat a lot of the levels without using all the pieces, but that's kinda cool as well.

Graphics were nice, agree that the mirrors should rotate strictly clockwise and not flip. Would like if when I failed a level it saved my previous set-up so I didn't have to start from scratch.

Overall, I enjoyed the pace, the level curve was good, it slowly taught me the things I needed to know and got progressively harder. However, it stopped too abruptly. Make more levels with more difficult puzzles :P Could probably use a few more mechanics, too. Had a good time, though, well done.

euske says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:13pm

I didn't see much connection to the theme, but it was a little fun puzzle. Also, your music was pretty good. To be honest, more challenge would be nice.

Crefossus says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:03am

Love the multiple solutions and the length of the game is impressive. Pretty polished graphics.

Could teach the portals using only one first. The text on the the bomb could have contrast or you could put a background.

Would make a really cool cellphone game for sure.

ryangatts says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:34am

Nice audio! The playspace graphics were good but the UI graphics could be more clear. The mirror rotation was odd and the level design from levels 4-12 could use some work.

Overall, it's a pretty decent game.

Garris says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:42pm

This is a really solid puzzle game. The pieces are all useful, and most puzzles seem to have more than one solution which is great for a logic-based game. Graphics look good, and the audio fits well. Good job!

Cosine says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Really really fun! I beat it!

spotco says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Pretty fun game (though pretty easy, just straight shot through without too much thinking). Some of the levels felt a little too easy (that I was kinda cheezing them)

ActionRemix says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:24pm

I have always been fascinated with laser chess but have never actually played. This is the closest I've come. It's still as cool as I envisioned. I would have liked some harder puzzles!

Snicklodocus says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:33am

Fun game! The puzzles were pretty well designed and the mechanics, although few, were well used. I would say the difficulty ramped up slowly for me, but I love the types of games. I thought your music was fine! My only complaints were mirror rotation and not being able to remove a placed item. Overall I enjoyed it though!

TobiasW says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Oh. The timer vanishes when I finish the game :(
I *think* it was something around 280 though, but then again, I accidently restarted the game once by pressing R.

As I already told you in Crefossus' stream: Pretty cool level design, and even though I still remember some of the solutions, it was fun to play. And at first I thought your music was a bit repetitive, but then I came to like it more and more. There is really no need for that dubstep version. The graphics work well too. I especially like the bomb explosion!

Good job, both of you!

PS: A "red herring" is something that is placed to distract instead of having a "real" function. In this case, it means that there are level elements that aren't needed in the solution at all, and Scruffylooking liked that. I like it too!

PPS: Are you sure that http://orane.tk is your website? It always redirects me to a different advertisement/scam.

Toby Pinder says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:44pm

Pretty fun stuff! I like most of the art style, though I think the brick texture and the fire button look a little out of place. Great puzzler otherwise, lots of content!

mrjohnson22 says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:28am

Other than the fact that there isn't any usage of the theme (aside from the setting that's touched upon in this synopsis page), I don't have any complaints about this game. It's a fun take on the reflection puzzle game, having added extra features like bombs and portals to keep things interesting. It would have been nice if the levels got harder near the end, but having a sizable amount of well-paced ones instead was just fine.

The only gameplay-related quibble is the way mirrors are rotated. It would have been nicer if clicking on one would just rotate it in increments, rather than having to click on a corner to position it in a certain way. The way it works in the game is kind of wonky, and I often found myself clicking mindlessly until I got the rotation I wanted.

Other than that, the game was self-explanatory and approachable, especially since the graphics did a great job of communicating the gameplay goals. The background music was also catchy & fun. Nice work!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]