Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Submarines!

by ClutchNachos - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I fucked up, multi-player only as of now, should have made a single-player mode first but as I was making that I had a good idea so I started working on it and now I don't have enough time. Oh well...

I noticed someone else included links to the music in their games and I thought that was cool so I included my track as well.

********** I made a very small update so I've added that version to the list; however, I am not sure if I am allowed to be judged on it. I accidentally had the game over menu button's renderer off with the collider still on while the game was being played, preventing the subs from passing through the bottom section of the map. It was a small tweak, but rate the original, "web" version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#620Audio2.64
#782Humor2.13
#803Theme2.96
#976Fun2.50
#1037Innovation2.39
#1092Graphics2.29
#1100Mood2.28
#1159Overall2.46
#1314Coolness49%

Comments

Daylon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Whenever someone is shot they float up, but they regain control at the same spot after a few seconds, so the first person to shoot the other wins. It's a decent idea though. Don't beat up yourself over running out of time though! We ALL have the same feeling :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Really missing 1 player mode, but I tried it with my roomie and it was kinda fun. I liked the controls, he didn't.
The music is good and sound effects too.

MintArcade says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:35am

Nice music and idea. Need single-player mod.

gene-z says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:39am

Cool game,,, simple and effective

eerongal says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:19am

Reminds me of the atari game "Tanks"

thenmal says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:23am

Would be nice if you respawned in a random location after you die, getting hit once is kind of a loss at this point since the other player already has the shot lined up.

StencylTuo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:26am

It's a decent little game. As others have mentioned, the lack of 1-player and the after-hit issue really detract from the game. Also, I'd have really preferred to see the level randomized so that not every battle was the same. In the end, it's an okay entry.

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:27am

Hi. Nice idea. 2 playergames all the rage in schools it seems. Suggest maybe respawn new place after death or it gets a bit one-sided once you lose first life. Good job!

ioboi says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:56pm

The music and sound effects are nice :)

littleball says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Some keyboards don't have two ctrl keys, so an alternative would be good.

Well done though, it's a good idea!

pichifino says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Good game

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]