Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Gold Diver

by letoine - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The game is not finished, but I hope you's like to check it out. It's a spin on the AntEater ardace game. The diver has to get passed the obstacles to get the gold treasures. Hit the action button to rewind the breating pipe and go back to the boat.

Keyboard Controls:
arrows+spacebar

Gamepad controls:
direction+A button

A lot of things are missing on what I was planning:
- missing animations/graphics for sharks and crabs
- missing sound overall
- harpoon for the diver
- droping the treasure when shooting harpoon or when getting hit.
- Shark is attacking the diver and not the breathing pipe, but crab where supposed to attack the breathing pipe and not the diver. forcing to get some strategy to get to the loot.
- Moving slower when bearing a treasure.
- ....

My main problem that made me fail the Jam: I'm still not fluent enough with Haxe and HaxePUNK.
I'll still recommend HaxePUNK despite all the problems I had with it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#424Theme3.41
#638Innovation2.94
#777Graphics2.82
#832Fun2.71
#1117Overall2.53
#1877Coolness30%

Comments

trueyomic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:25am

Didn't rate, but the windows version had an error on startup: "Could not load module std@get_env__1". I'm using Win7 64-bit, AMD gfx card.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:35am

It's heading in a nice direction. The direction keys are very twitchy though, which makes it difficult to play.

If anybody's wondering, you download the zip file by going to File->Download

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:39am

Worked for me (Win8 64-bit, AMD Radeon gfx card). Text got a little cut off at the top, and it ran really fast for me (which made it hard). Also, no audio... not sure if there was supposed to be? Not sure what the orange boxes were for. Otherwise, cool concept! Good work!

loggs2 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:42am

I also hit the std@get_env__1 error. My system is 64-bit Win8 with a ATI graphics card.

Nition says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:18am

Windows version worked for me. Diver seems to move ultra-fast for me, making it hard to aim for the gaps - maybe you have movement tied to CPU speed instead of real time? Cool idea though, and nice simple graphics (especially the cool hose effect).

TaleLore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:20pm

I liked the diving animation.

SenorDiablo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:25pm

:)

blockbot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:43pm

The controls weren't tight enough and made the game almost unplayable. I love games like this. And it's a small detail, but I love the water animation when the boat is moving.

lajos says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Can't download the game, maybe you gave us the wrong link.

May 1, 2014 @ 1:17am

Pretty nifty idea. I think it has some potential!

bucketh3ad says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Controls were almost too sensitive to play, but it seems like the makings of a very fun game once the mechanics are more refined.

frankd0331 says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:34pm

The controls seemed over sensitive. I'm not sure if this was intended, but it made the gameplay more interesting for me.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]