Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Within the Blue

by GresponApps - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Within The Blue is a simple survival game. Eat the little fishes and avoid sharks.

Use Mouse + WASD + Shift

You get better results if you open your mouth while hunting. Bon appetit!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#143Theme3.78
#251Graphics3.67
#307Mood3.30
#681Overall3.06
#706Innovation2.86
#912Fun2.61
#987Audio1.72
#1020Humor1.68

Comments

conno1234 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:39am

Interesting game, felt a bit bland, however I like the use of the 3D.

davidc02 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:45am

Pretty nice. As a person who's scared to go deep swimming, this is a little scary :D

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:31am

Ha, this is great. Love the animations!

conormn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:10am

The animations and models are great and agree that this did scare me a little.

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:38am

Great animations.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:30am

Those fishs and sharks animations are really great as the other already said.

Lee1121 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:40am

I got surrounded by sharks once, which was pretty damn scary.
Somehow managed to escape.
Its a good game :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:22am

great controls and animations.
Although after my 4th fish I did feel like the game was lacking something :/
I think you could have a really fun game here if you had a few more things to do or advanced on what you currently have.

monaarc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:23am

Nice game, I like the idea why no audio? water noises and fishes bubbles ^^

Jakub Koziol says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:35pm

Really nice animations! Sometimes it's not obvious why you didn't catch the fish but I found myself in the middle of the crazy chase a few times. :)

darkflamejam says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:17pm

Lovely looking game, surprisingly fun

no.One says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:29pm

I like how you used the 3D, add audio and water screen effects :)

idovingx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:37pm

i liked how it got darker the deeper i went. felt good to come back to the surface too

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:29pm

The game didn't loaded here, but liked the screenshot, I'm wanting to play it.

mouse25 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:11pm

looks pretty may needed a nice coral reef

Maek says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Intersting game. Only the score numbers are boring. The Rest is great.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:15pm

haha love that you did a 3d game and I got super into it. If you had more time you could smooth out the modeling of the fish. I couldn't tell the difference between the little fish and the sharks either.

Hamsternator says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:08am

You managed to capture that underwater feeling pretty well with small resources and I really liked that. It's a shame there's absolutely no sound though. That would add a lot to the experience.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:57pm

Yep you should have add some ambiant sound ;) (I work on same kind of survival game for this LD and the sound is very important for the mood)

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:23pm

Whoa, quite cool! The sense of depth was really tangible, nice job.

LTyrosine says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:36pm

Impressive works on shades and animation. Would love to see a full featured game over this. Congrats.

mcapraro says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:58am

really nice mood to this

BasselGaming says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:19am

That was so cool! great AI, great graphics, great gameplay! nice job!

csanyk says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 8:06am

Amazing model animation and motion, the lighting really feels like you're in the water. Sounds are needed desperately, feedback is needed when you're in danger, or when you successfully eat a fish.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]