Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

They Came For My Mushrooms

by D2FXRayG - Jam Entry

Collect the mushrooms and avoid the worms hidden beneath the surface!

So I got AGK thanks to a promotion here and I made this to test it out. I think it's got potential, I think it's cool already.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#157Fun(Jam)3.38
#263Humor(Jam)2.84
#283Overall(Jam)3.35
#347Audio(Jam)3.13
#350Mood(Jam)3.09
#471Innovation(Jam)2.77
#514Graphics(Jam)3.00
#596Theme(Jam)2.65
#1359Coolness48%

Comments

Fox_in_sox says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:55am

Haha, that was really fun! It gets hard very quick, but such simple games always keep me entertained. I also have a weakness for nice pixel art, so this game really hit my taste.:)

SuperMsp10 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:09am

Nice art looks really good, lots of potential

Thorig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Funny game, too bad there are no animations. But I do really like this game.

May 1, 2014 @ 11:47am

simlpe but quite fun to play :) i like the mushrooms sprite

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:57am

A solid little arcade game. I like how the game moves in general. The first levels are fun, then it becomes repetitive and very hard.

Nanolotl says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:38pm

The visuals and audio complemented each other very nicely. Well done.

May 1, 2014 @ 1:52pm

I like it that the more you have mushroom, you're become slower and the less you have mushroom, you're become faster. Both are dificult in their own way. Good Game. :)

StudioWolfox says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:50pm

This was fun! The level builds up so nice! :3 After a restart I had infinite lives (it said 5 but it never went down), I could die as many times as I wanted :D yayayaaaa! I think it's because my computer loves me.

hbocao says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Simple yet fun game. Remind me of old Atari games. It starts easy but suddenly you are surrounded by worms. Good job!

Chinchilla says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:32am

This is great, the way you put together the music as the difficulty increases is really clever. I think I'd prefer it if without the slowdown when you're carrying 5 mushrooms. It might be better with tile-based movement, but I'm not sure.

Overall, pretty great!

rujo says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:53pm

cool tiny style game

Ragzouken says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:31pm

i liked how the sound changed as the snakes got faster through the levels :)

lucidlarva says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Very nice, the sounds that played when the things spawned were oddly satisfying.

Lukbebalduke says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Shader error. Nothing else a black screen '-'. Idk what happend here.

vitor.navarro says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:55pm

REally fun, gets quite difficult, but I enjoyed it.

Benjamin says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 2:48am

nice scoring game and good rythm. I like the old school look. My best score was 40. It tooks me time to understand that worm queue wont hit me ( my 3rd game )

fermenter says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 7:56pm

It's kind of cool that it's like the reverse of the game snake. I like how you slow down when you pick up mushrooms. It'd be cool if you could dash in a direction or something.

DevWouter says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:29pm

The only thing I found missing from a gameplay perspective was the reason why I shouldn't pickup mushrooms one by one.

Also you might want to think about creating the hitbox of the player a bit smaller then the visual. That makes it bit more forgeving gameplay.

HuvaaKoodia says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 4:19pm

A simple and effective arcade game, I like it.

The idea is that the faster you collect the shrooms the more you get as the worms gobble them up as well. It's risky though, as you become slower the more you carry. This risk versus reward gameplay is fine on paper, but falls a bit short in execution.

On later levels the amount and speed of the worms as well as the small level size cause most of the mushrooms to be eaten within the first second or so.

This in conjunction with the floaty, imprecise controls and the rather large player hitbox lead to levels where you only get to a few items in time before they are all taken. This is not very exiting (you still need to get to the ending door through the worm ridden land, which is kinda fun on it's own).

Possible fixes to the problem:

-Slower worms with a clear indication of their direction (head shape for instance).

-Worms don't eat the shrooms in one go, but rather it takes multiple times for a mushroom to disappear (a mushroom might change color every time a worm touches it). This way the player can prioritize and plan routes in advance.

-Worms don't eat the shroom at all. They move them from place to place. This would go well with a time limit (after which the shrooms rot and the ending door appears) and the ability to drop items you're carrying.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]