Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Super Scrool Bros

by eLLectron - Jam Entry

OH BOY WE MADE IT !
I'm proud to present you Super Scrool Bros :D

First of all here's my team (eLLectron) :

Coordination and code : YoPox (me) (Aptana Studio 3 / Chrome)
-> Twitter : https://twitter.com/ytpo0op/

Graphics : TheUpgradeZone
-> Twitter : https://twitter.com/theupgradezone/

Music : ArtRemix (MilkyTracker)
-> Bandcamp : https://artremix.bandcamp.com/
-> Twitter : https://twitter.com/ArtRemix38/

Maps : MV22 and Hibari215 (Tiled)
Test : DixieYFul, Ixous, SuperKetchupMayo, OnTheClock, RiptoGamers, Bydl0 and Taozack.

I'd like to thank the entire team !

So, the game... While I'm writing this post it's 2:54 in France (youpi baguette) so I'm really TIRED...
There is still some bugs on the game, especially physics bugs, so don't worry if your character goes BENEATH THE SURFACE ;D

Controls :
LEFT / RIGHT : Movements
UP / SPACE : Jump
CTRL : Sprint
DOWN : Sneak

Sorry for the remaining bugs, I hope you'll enjoy !
By the way, it's our first big Ludum Dare ! YAY \o/

So... good night everybody zZzZzZ

CHANGELOG :
1/05 Added a post compo version with a HARD MODE and coin sounds :D

Less bugs with CHROME!

-eLLectron

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#199Audio(Jam)3.44
#438Fun(Jam)2.89
#454Humor(Jam)2.36
#478Graphics(Jam)3.11
#556Mood(Jam)2.74
#563Overall(Jam)2.87
#619Theme(Jam)2.59
#746Innovation(Jam)1.93
#1359Coolness48%

Comments

Tweak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:19am

Cool mario clone, the coin placement felt rushed and impossible to get all of but at least you had me trying hard!

rogberth says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:27am

Not much to say, it is a very simple plataformer yet is fun. Good job

quill18 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:05pm

I fell through the floor a lot, which made me sad because I wanted to play through to the end.

XrXr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:06pm

The jumping feels okay, and there is a spot where its impossible to go through. At least I think it was. The level shows up after a few deaths. Still okay though!

r2d2upgrade says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:14pm

It's beautiful :)

WeaselZone says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:16pm

A little slow paced for my taste, but cool music and a fun little platformer :)

simon02 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Nice graphics overall. Some bugs making it very difficult to get really far (falling through floors like said before is the main one).

qosmos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:07pm

It has already been reported, lots of problems when trying to jump or when falling... through the ground. Important to notice : it only happened to me with Firefox, perfect with Chrome. Otherwise, good music and graphics.

maffydub says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Nice implementation - the character moves pretty well (maybe could be refined slightly) but the scrolling is smooth and I really like the music.

lajos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Cool!

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Fine platformer, but I keep falling through the ground all the time, it's too buggy.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Fun and simple game. The controls should be faster, feels a bit sluggish. Good music!

zatyka says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:58pm

Congrats on you first LD. I enjoyed it. Nice retro graphics. The controls and physics need some tuning up. I got to a point in level 2 in which I couldn't reach a platform.

randoman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:48pm

I like the graphics and the difficulty, some jumps are very tricky!

ActionRemix says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Am I supposed to fall through the floor? Haha. I really can't tell if this is a bug or I'm playing I Wanna Be the Guy. I think it's a feature, though - Flappy Bird, esque. 5/5 Fun and Humor

pancakecity says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Make it faster!!! Well, good job!

ThingoStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:48pm

Really, REALLY buggy. Unplayably so, as I keep falling through the platforms and can't actually go through the level.

What little I heard of the music was good.

blockbot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:52am

Fun mario action, had some pretty game breaking bugs.

M4rw4 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:55am

Nice game and character, you need to increase the speed of the player and to add more items.. Good work :)

Xaychru04 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Not very original, but enjoyable, the chiptunes were really cool!

TeamEagle says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:55pm

can't seem to see the blocks?

stvr says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:34am

I kept falling out of the level, but I *wanted* to play!

PapyGaragos says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Fellow "youpi baguette" here: Good job, especially on the music.
I don't know if falling through the floor is really a bug or if it is your take on the theme (since you mention it in the description), but if it is related to the theme, I don't see the point. It's more frustrating than anything else.

Crefossus says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 4:49am

The way the level advancing and death could use some polish. You should have to get pinched against a wall to die instead of just touching the left. I liked the music a lot, but it could use sound effects.

alwaysinbeta says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Great music and graphics. I found the pace frustratingly slow but it was still fun to play.

mrjohnson22 says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 8:42pm

This was pretty fun! You can't go wrong with Mario, and the two levels you had were good & of reasonable challenge. There are plenty of things that are missing, though, like a score counter (what's the point of the coins without one?) and a "level complete" screen. Thankfully the AMAZING soundtrack makes this game really worth playing!

Oh, and the floor-falling bug is only ever a problem for me in Firefox (even in the post-jam version); in Chrome it rarely happens. Nonetheless, nice job, especially for an HTML5 platformer.

IAmSpencer says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 9:01pm

haha that was fun, liked the player sprite, good job!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]