Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Lavarena

by CrackedP0t - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are an innocent miner that has fallen into a cave.
Also in the cave are lava monsters!
They resent the intrusion into their privacy, and, as such, are trying to kill you.
You can knock them back with your pickaxe, but in order to damage them, you must get them into the lava holes.
Embedded in their bodies are gems that you can use in various ways to improve your abilities.
"Health" gives you 2 hp per gem
"Damage" improves your knockback
"Defense" reduces damage from lava but not the monsters.
Last as long as you can!

This game was made with Game Editor. (http://game-editor.com)

There's no audio. :(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#894Theme2.83
#924Humor1.90
#1045Audio1.39
#1051Fun2.40
#1063Innovation2.33
#1151Mood2.10
#1172Overall2.41
#1185Graphics2.00

Comments

madjackmcmad says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:29am

Your dropbox link isn't working right now, maybe there's something amiss?

CrackedP0t says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:44am

It's working now

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:01am

Pretty simple, a good challenge. Didn't hear any audio... wasn't sure if there was supposed to be any?

Kragnir says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Need something that adds depth.

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Cool battles. Could make it easier to kill enemies but have more of them. Overall, good! :)

Spaceoff says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:08pm

Decently challenging... got me trying it a few times.
Was there supposed to be any audio? didn't hear any

RadioLemon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Cool game, an outstanding bug that I found is that if you have enough defense, you can heal by running into the fire! I managed to get to stage 8

Marcellus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Nice and challenging game, sad that monster knockback can get you out of bounds without a way to come back in the center arena.
Aloso would have beeen great with a bit of sound and music.
I still enjoyed playing to level 8.

Jed T. says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:53am

I love the upgrade mechanic but the game has no in-game instructions so was confused at first. I didn't know on what to dig or what to do. Game is too hard! Good job :)

dertom says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:12pm

I was beaten to death :( Lol,...yeah! Nice somehow. Didn't know exactly what I should pick up and what not. Nonetheless good job!

Cosmologicon says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:29am

I got pretty far once I figured out the strategy. Don't try to knock them into the lava. Instead knock them away and stand behind a lava pit and let them run into it.

VictorDoval says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:00pm

I went out of the arena! Well done, cool idea,

pichifino says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Cool game

Jason Lay says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 1:08am

Needed better instructions.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]