Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Planet Corp.

by Maschinen-Mensch - Jam Entry

Planet Corp has announced a revolutionary new approach to solve the world's resource problems. Thanks to their latest invention in spacecraft mining, they have discovered a method to extract valuable resources from beneath a planet's surface. Take control of the Planet Corp mining vessel and start extracting for mankind and a better future! But please, don't blow up too many planets in the process.

++---------------++

Working in space is dangerous. Here are some tips from the secret Planet Corp Mining Manual..

* Firing torpedo-drills on the planet surface, will decrease stability. So use less torpedos if possible.

* Resources that are in the explosion range of a torpedo-drill are lost. The ideal approach to harvesting is to ignite the resource chambers without actually destroying them.

* Understand how different planet materials influence the drilling speed of your torpedos.

* Don't hit the planet core. Doing this will heavily increase the danger of planet destibilization.

* Yes, Venus can be successfully harvested.

++---------------++

The game does not require any plugins and should run directly in your browser window.

Use Twitter for feedback and questions: @CuriousExped

++---------------++

Credits:

Riad Djemili - Code & Idea
Johannes Kristmann - Art & Idea

Lawrence Steele - Title Music
Special Thanks to Shawn Frison

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#11Theme(Jam)4.18
#16Innovation(Jam)4.09
#20Overall(Jam)4.10
#24Fun(Jam)3.96
#41Humor(Jam)3.81
#117Graphics(Jam)4.12
#147Mood(Jam)3.59
#212Audio(Jam)3.41

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:12am

Aw man, I failed the first time lol the newsperson made me laugh! Fun game you guys! And nice pixelart!

Solluxx says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:33am

Great game guys :) an interesting concept and great use of the theme. I love the sound effects for Donovan ;D

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:37am

Awesome game with good humor. The Freddie Mercury joke actually made me laugh. :D
Overall a nice and simple mechanic. Addicting as hell too! I think I'll be back to play this one again. :)

Covenant says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:25am

Awesome gameplay concept, well executed, very polished, one of the best I've seen so far! Congrats!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:04am

Hehe good one! Liked the interpretation. At times too difficult to hit the right depth.

Fox_in_sox says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:48am

Amazing game! You took a popular concept and made it better and more fun! I can see a lot of work was put into this project.:)

Jargo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Cool game, love the idea. Riad and Jo rulez!

P.S.: Venus is ridiculous!!!

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:25pm

I'm not the biggest fun of pixel art but it works with the simplicity of the game. Like the mechanic of the stability of the planet.

kbm says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:40pm

Very cool, loved the idea and art. Great job, guys! :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Simple yet smart mechanics, check.
Beautiful and gameplay-friendly art , check.
Well written and fitting theme, check.

Well done mate. Well done.

DMinsky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Hey! Nice job! And yes, we have something common in our projects ;)

eastes says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Love it! 5 stars

Dominator_101 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Pretty nice, overall.

I have to say, though, Venus is WAY too hard. Even once I found a better approach (go for 2, not 3, and stay away from the core) it still took me a while. There were a couple times I hit every pocket but still didn't have enough resources.

But still, great overall. Especially the newscaster sound effects.

tomvert says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:58pm

I'm bookmarking this game for later :) Too bad it's so hard, there should be an easy planet at the beginning to understand the mechanics step by step. Otherwise everything is perfectly polished.

eatsleepindie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Great game. Easy to pick up but difficult to master. I'll definitely be back for more later on.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:12pm

Love the art and the ship's really nice to handle. Great simple idea that works really really well.

kidder says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:17am

This is great. Amazing art, love the news broadcasts, and the mechanics are solid, fun, and well polished.

PriorBlue says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:48am

Funny scenario and nice art style.

MoArtis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:45am

Nice concept! :) And very nice art style. I would like to be able to draw stuff like that by myself. :(

mr_tag says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:27am

had this idea, too. very nice to see how it could've turned out. nice job!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:49am

This is great. Thumbs up.

dertom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:07am

Just wow! Great game! Fits the theme perfect have a nice abstraction of a reallife problem! Great job!

runvs says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Very nice game. It all fits together so well!

Elforama says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Tough game, but very fun.

pancakecity says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:52pm

This is a really fun game, very good mechanics! That intro was hilarious. Great art.

rnlf says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:06pm

Cool idea. You should drop Planetary Resources a mail about the torpedo drill :D

drnick says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:27am

Great game! The concept is good and the art is nice. The newsman saying nom nom nom nom nom nom

finefin says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:13am

haha this is great!
love the style!

tschery says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:59am

Really enjoyed playing your game at talk & play yesterday, also would like to see the vine which you took

May 1, 2014 @ 10:59am

Nice game, and indeed venus is hard :P

Bekokstover says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:21am

Great game! Too bad I still can't finish Venus, even after trying for a long time at Talk & Play. It looks and feels great - awesome work!

May 1, 2014 @ 11:39am

Thanks everybody for the super nice comments! We're really happy with the game.

@tschery: The vine is here: https://vine.co/v/MrKZ6ApTOH0 . We also tweeted it from our game account @curiousexped :)

TobiasW says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:09pm

Well, that was a lot of fun. Mercury was hard and I stopped after a few tries of Venus, but with an entry like mine, I can hardly complain about difficulty level, can I?

The audio effects are perfect (although some a little bit jarring) and the opening title music is great, so - why is there no music ingame? :(

Some notes:
- Should be able to skip sections of the cutscenes with a click instead of the whole thing. Sometimes people just want th hear things FASTER instead of skipping totally.
- I'd have loved to have some feedback when the explosions happened: How many points? How much of this did I collect? And also: Do I still have a chance of winning this level?

All in all, fantastic entry with an amazing level of polish!

May 1, 2014 @ 7:23pm

What a cool idea! Really liked it.

May 1, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Great idea!!! And great minds think alike :) I really like the simple fun of the firing mechanic :) And yours is better in-game explained than mine :))

tehryanx says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:38pm

My favorite jam entry so far. 5's all through. This is polished enough to be in the market right now. Great work.

Jod says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:29pm

Okay, I hate Mercury now. Awesomely done! Great style and visual cohesion!

gre says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:00am

Ahahahah, the audio made me laugh a lot! Thanks for that!
The game is incredible, love it !
The concept is awesome, would have been great if the "fuel" was part of the game difficulty.
I think it is one of the best compo of the LD.
It is hard not to put 5/5 everywhere^^

Thorig says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:19am

Nice game, like the gameplay a lot.

conormn says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:42pm

Amazing execution. Loved the mechanics. Really well done :)

lowcade says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Very well done this game!
Complete and full of interesting details.
I had fun playing and I think it's perfect as it is ^ ^

Dooleus says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Aw man, that intro screen with the newscaster is SWEET! Loving the gameplay, but when the planet destabilized and I didn't get to see is blow up I was SO DISAPPOINTED! Haha. I know it's not a good thing to blow up a planet (or ex-planet, since we're talking about Pluto), but still... a videogame about space mining can never have too many explosions in my book.

May 2, 2014 @ 4:06pm

@TobiasW: Agree on all points. We just didn't manage to do more in the time given. Definitely something for the HD version :)

@Dooleus: Thanks, actually the whole point of the game is blowing up planets. If you didn't see the planet explode, you didn't beat the level. There are multiple levels and a small plot connecting them.

Dooleus says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:08pm

I just made that connection after playing and NOT failing the misson, haha! Fantastic game, seriously!

travislucia says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Awesome Game, Graphics were nice and gameplay was smooth and responsive.

elefantopia says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:10pm

WOW! This is awesome! I like the ship's dynamic, the tutu-newscast and blowing planets is fun.

elefantopia says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Splendid idea for economic growth. Reminds me what Somanto corp. came up with.

May 2, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Fun and pretty and funny I like it.

BenW says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:44am

I really liked it but it was extremely hard to harvest everything in the third level. Might want to make it a bit easier.

May 3, 2014 @ 6:45am

Great entry. Liked the mechanic of drilling, avoiding blowing the planet up and the movement of the ship. Was satisfying to play.

PaperBlurt says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:50am

This is so fudging brilliant.
The steering and gameplay is so simple and easy to understand.

The pixel style and premise with the news caster is really fantastic.

Good (no genius) game!

spotco says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:51am

HOLY AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAUUUUGGHHHHH
If you read this, a billion #$%#$%'s at you for the venus level. That took me an hour...but did feel so good once I beat it. The final earth level was a nice pause (at least you didn't make it even harder :)).

Loved the game, ended up spending most of an hour to beat it. Bravo!

HybridMind says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:58pm

This is one of my favorite games of the jam! Hilarious, innovative, and damn fun. I couldn't get past Mercury yet, but it is a really cool skill game. Love the newscaster and the humor throughout. Nice work!

Kate Kligman says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:58am

Loved this! Nice graphics, loved the intro sequences and pixel art. One of my favorite games for this LD.

jacklehamster says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:23am

Great original gameplay mechanics. It's simple and easy to pick up even without reading instructions.

Zerkruemler says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Very cool and Polished. Easy to understand, hard to master

Acuity says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Nice game concept! I wish it came with music and an upgrade system. I like the sfx.

Jared Sartin says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Love it! Can't wait to see more additions!

May 4, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Great game, best one I've played so far. I wish there were an option to skip ahead after too many failures.

dector says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Good fun game.

Venturelli says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Very, very, very good :D Congrats!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Dat Venus.

This is really nice :)

scgrn says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:53pm

Cool idea and nicely polished!

mechabit says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:04am

Fun game, love the art, well done

May 5, 2014 @ 12:40am

Hey! Planet Corp is featured on my "favorites" post

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/05/04/my-favorite-ld29-games/

tchem says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:48am

Great idea!!!,,, i loved it.

FrameMatt says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:38am

Really enjoyed the graphics, i want to see it in a arcade machine :D

Katamori says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:00pm

AMAZING IN EVERY ASPECTS! Check my video for further opinion.

mcapraro says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:00am

really fun, it was especially neat to just fly the ship around the planet at top speed ;) love the graphics too

May 6, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Great game with fun mechanics.

shadow64 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 6:03am

I really liked this. I thought it was really well put together and very well polished. I think the gameplay is pretty repetitive - after a level I sort of "got it" - but that's okay. I could definitely see this being a full game and the mechanics are interesting and original as far as I know.

Well done. Thanks for sharing! :D

PapyGaragos says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 5:39pm

This entry is just awesome. Great mechanics, controls that feel good, sounds that are not a pain to the ears, a nice touch of humor, nice transitions screens...
5 star all around

jorgemoag says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Hehehe the game made me laught :D but it's a little glitchy

porglezomp says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 1:03am

Best game ever:
"Earth: Don't do it."

It could do with some more rock types maybe, put 'em on the moons of Saturn and Jupiter? The best LD game so far.

May 9, 2014 @ 11:06am

Poor Pluto. Very nice game though. I included it in part 16 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/ruvs0qoO4zU

May 11, 2014 @ 8:21pm

Wow, nice game!

woodenrabbit says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 3:58am

Awesome game! The art and the writing is really fun :D Its a great game and it fits well with theme. I had a lot of fun playing it.

Kimau says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 12:50pm

Brilliant! Damn Venus to all hell though.

klianc09 says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Really like this. Good sounds and graphics. Just wish I could fast-forward the news anchor.
And I don't think Venus is possible ;)

IAmSpencer says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Simple idea, but you added enough polish to make it deeper and a lot of fun. Really nice job!

GFM says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 11:34pm

Arg. >_<
Screw venus!!! >_<

But this game is still awesome! That intro song... wow!
And nice graphics!

Jools64 says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 12:57am

Really fantastic game, one of the best that I've played!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]