Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Reach the Surface

by Agreon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In "Reach the Surface" your mission is to guide a mole through the ground with sound waves.
By simply clicking behind him, he will recognice the sound and change his direction.
Avoid obstacles and eat worms to increase your score!

This is the first time i am participating at LD. As you can see i am not an artist and no sound designer.
Textures made with GIMP.
Sound made with sfxr and music made with Retro Band.

I hope you have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#220Theme3.65
#266Humor2.95
#440Innovation3.23
#499Mood3.05
#677Audio2.54
#850Overall2.88
#886Fun2.64
#941Graphics2.56

Comments

scratchysmom says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:39pm

good game GG

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Quite fine, it is so complicated when you start but then gets better!

Kragnir says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:39pm

I expected the sound waves to be used to detect things not to control the character. Seems to be some graphic bug where lines of dark brown appear. Didn't really like the controls they could use some work to be more natural.

Agreon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:39pm

@Kragnir That's actually a good idea...

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:42pm

good effort man. reminds me of something i did for my first one using sonar to guide the player.. i found it quite hard tho.. and abit frustrating to use the keyboard to select menus then use the mouse to play etc.. still good going tho :)

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:42pm

The graphics and audio are pretty good for a game made in 48h, but the best side of this game is its respect of the theme and the original gameplay :)

aldian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Very fun, good entry for 48 hrs

8 / 10
Well done :D

SzRaPnEL says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:30pm

I don't like the controls and getting points mechanics.
But the idea is cool.

r2d2upgrade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Making sound waves is a bit temperamental for me for some reason :|

legendpaul says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:31pm

GG

Roman Kornev says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:44pm

I really like the concept of non-standard controls. It gives me that feeling of playing something completely new and original.

The size of obstacles could be just a bit smaller. It would have been nice to know how close am I to the surface.
Also direction change could be more gradual instead of instant.
Well done for first LD :)

okeyboy99 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:40pm

Interesting game concept. My mole ate a lot of dirt..

chagroo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:27pm

Nice idea and a fun game . Took me some time to realize you can't click far away to move direction :P

SyBen says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:42pm

Couldn't run it on windows, missing MSVCP110.dll file ?

tenpn says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:35pm

Novel steering mechanism but unfortunately poorly explained, took me quite a few attempts to work out where i could click to steer.

pvwradtke says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Liked the idea, but controls are not so obvious at first. Had to read the instructions at this page to succeed :).

May 6, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Menu navigation by keyboard then game controls by mouse is a bit weird.

The screen area where you can click isn't too well defined. When clicking "too high", rather than ignoring the input you should project it down to the "legal" area.

That aside, it's a pretty decent game. Good work!

pichifino says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Controls are a bit odd but good game over all

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]