Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Duelo

by javierecf - Jam Entry

You were trapped by a monster, get out.

-----------
Music by Eric Taylor.

Instructions in NOTES.txt
Made with SDL_gpu and SDL 2.0.
-----------
Edit:
I added some fixes.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#190Innovation(Jam)3.40
#195Fun(Jam)3.29
#325Overall(Jam)3.29
#373Theme(Jam)3.15
#417Humor(Jam)2.44
#442Mood(Jam)2.95
#516Audio(Jam)2.67
#642Graphics(Jam)2.60

Comments

SenorDiablo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:07pm

nice puzzle game! Really reminded me of Braid in a good way! :D keep up the ace work

Tomski says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Awesome idea, loved the controls too, something about the way in which the guy jumps that just cracks me up.

DevWouter says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Some explanation about what to do would be nice. Also you might consider it a good idea to disable the debug keys ;)

Jonny D says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:17pm

That was really nice! The controls feel good and the mechanics are worth exploring.

It took me a bit to figure out that I needed to press 'e' to enter a door, and I went into the wrong door first, so I didn't know about shift right away, either.

The shift modes could be functionally replaced with just reverse mode, which could activate when you hold shift. That would mean the player could focus less on selecting the mode, making things like time-based puzzles more possible. I'd love to see what can be done in this puzzle space.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Cool game play when I got the hang of it. Nice with the mirror guy! Good music.

anthonyl says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:11am

cool idea, and nice puzzles

Artless says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:26am

A lot of great puzzles in here. I would recommend finding a way to better visually indicate what state you are currently in.

Hob623 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:24am

This was a very interesting way to use the theme; it could be used in a lot of ways, if you ever plan on continuing this. Being able to switch between the mirror going forward and reverse is cool, too. It's pretty short (unless I missed something), but what you have is very good~

sudorossy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:03pm

Interesting mirror mechanic

lasagnegames says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:51am

I really liked that, it's not easy to build puzzles like you did, nice monster sprites

mrhill says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:01am

Saw another guy atempting this, this felt smarter though. A little Braid-like, certainly if you look at Braids prototype.
Thats a compliment btw

AugustSnow says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:00am

Great puzzle game!

v_n_j says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:42pm

Good puzzles, you did great job!

But there are some interesting oversights worth mentioning.

First of all, game have some problems with WinXP(that's not the issue, just part of the story) - it crashes when you enter the middle door. So I entered the left door, not knowing about shift mechanics... and I managed to pass it :) The Mirror Guy doesn't reset his position after The Normal Guy's death(and vice versa), so I easily moved him down from his platform. Then comes the tricky part. When you move and jump, The Mirror Guy bumps his head into the ceiling and stops or just slows down, but The Normal Guy is still moving, so distance between them grows. So I passed this level that weird way. Only then I decided to read comments and discovered about shift mechanics :)

But more than this, then I tried to go through all levels without using shift, and yeah, you can do it :)

javierecf says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:31pm

@v_n_j yeah, i added the shift mecanich just to play with the mirror guy a little more different, but it was hard to make interesting puzzles in such short period of time, my first idea was just that beneath the floor gravity was inverted, so it would be an interesting mecanich to solve puzzles. The death of the main dude should affect the other dude position, but i totally forgot about that.

Not really sure what to say about winXP, i dont have a xp machine near me. Im just glad of the positive comments from the reviewers, this is not only my first LD, is also my first game.

giordanno92 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:52am

Congratulations on your first game, a very creative one btw. The beneath the surface idea with the double character was nicely thought of, and great use of the Braid engine (I'm assuming it's Braid engine, because the collision detection, walls and stairs are exactly like the game). The controls felt good, sometimes imprecise (on the jumping gap after we turn on the switch), but that happens a lot. Hope you're going to keep going with this game idea, adding more art, music and a story will make it a complete game

May 3, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Cool puzzle but a little bit unclear on the goal. I really enjoyed this take on the theme. Much more interesting then a lot of diving/underground ideas. Graphics could have been better but overall enjoyable.

javierecf says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:08pm

@giordanno92 to my knowledge there is no such thing as the "Braid engine" that people can use, im happy that you think that are really alike though.

May 4, 2014 @ 9:36am

Great concept! Need some polishing on collision, since I'm not sure if I supposed to die when touching the big monster. I even can stand on top of him. Sometimes I die and sometimes I was pushed back by him. Anyway, great job! :)

mneubrand says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:42am

Awesome puzzle game. Very interesting concept. I'd definitely love to see a more fleshed out version of this with some introduction and a nicer ramp up in difficulty. I feel like this has a lot of potential

Hammervuis says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 12:20pm

Fun game. Some very nice puzzles.

Ragzouken says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Really enjoyed this! Reminded me of Braid (as I think a couple of other people have said!) but with some nice differences. Something to indicate which shift mode you're in could be useful?

DrPrettyPatty says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:24am

Big props for this one! Very creative idea, very tight controls, great puzzles, and it looks like you did this in C++, which is a bold move for a game jam :) I'd put the fullscreen key somewhere else though, I bumped it while playing and it freaked me out for a second. The collision detection was a bit weird sometimes, but I know how hard it is to write that from scratch so I'm sure it would've been better given more time. Great job!!

jsmars says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 7:47am

Really well made puzzler! If the graphics were polished for this I think this could make it into a really nice game!

01101101 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 8:29am

Cool mechanics, and you designed the puzzles well. I didn't get how to complete the one with the "King monster" though... Got both characters together but didn't find how to unlock the door... Nice job anyway!

May 15, 2014 @ 11:29pm

Smart game! i love puzzle games! this is awesome and the mysterious music is so awesome! very good job !! :D

Cambrian_Man says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 3:04am

Being a fan of puzzle platformers where you control multiple characters, I really dug it. I did get stuck on the room with the cannon... saw what you had to do, but I couldn't get the timing. Oh well. Very nice!

KuGrou says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 4:36am

I really liked this. Nice job on the puzzle design, would love to see what you could come up with given more time with these mechanics. The graphics need some polish and the collision detection seems a bit off at times, but it's a great start.

Also, If you keep working on this I would suggest adding full controller bindings. It looks like the libraries you are using already have controller support since the game detected my xbox360 controller and moving and jumping worked with the joystick and a button, but none of the other actions were bound to controller buttons so I just played with the keyboard (which worked great).

alhvi says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 6:35am

Awesome game! Very nice puzzles. The last level was very difficult for me, I couldn't jump at the exact time, but it was nice that the wall remained moved before I died xD. Excellent job. I really liked your game :D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]