Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Jumpland Underground

by KuGrou - Jam Entry

Done with my first Ludum Dare game (assuming there are no major bugs I need fix).

Help the guest travel through Jumpland by triggering their jump boots and manipulating obstacles.

*About standalone versions:
-OSX and Linux builds are currently untested so I don't know how well they will run, if at all.
-Escape (Back on Android) quits application (default pause key is p)

**Android port is now available. Note that the port was created after the end of the jam.
-update: I've added a Dropbox link for the android port since OneDrive appears to have issues downloading the file from mobile devices.

Controls (can be remapped in standalone version)
MOVE - Left and Right arrows or A and D
JUMP - Spacebar
PRESS BUTTON - hold Up arrow or W
Restart - R
Pause - P
CHANGE CAMERA (PERSPECTIVE/ORTHOGRAPHIC) - C (note: game is playable in orthographic mode, but many visual elements, especially background mountains, were designed for perspective mode)

Tools:
-Unity 4.3 free
-Music Generated with http://www.abundant-music.com/
-Sound effects Generated with bfxr
-Graphics and sprite animation made with Paint.net and GraphicsGale

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#47Theme(Jam)3.88
#101Innovation(Jam)3.67
#110Overall(Jam)3.65
#136Fun(Jam)3.44
#311Humor(Jam)2.72
#329Audio(Jam)3.16
#364Mood(Jam)3.07
#559Graphics(Jam)2.87

Comments

Caridorc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:52am

The music is beatiful and the art is simple but works, the game concept is cool but this game imo is way too hard. Apart from the too high hardness this game is very good

schnüt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:01am

Really fun game. It was quite an interesting experience to control two players at once.
I think I finally mastered all the traps. :D

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:17am

I really liked your game! I had a ton of fun playing it (once I figured it out) and I could get addicted to this as a phone game. Hope you release it as a phone game.

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Really nice idea, and well executed. I don't think I've seen anything like this. It was challenging, but I always felt like I could do better, and wanted to play more. Polish this up, seriously cool!

KuGrou says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:40am

Thanks for the positive comments so far! I've added an Android port, which is now available from the same link as the standalone versions.

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:32am

Neat concept - gameplay felt well executed. Personally I liked the level of difficulty, most games are too easy these days.

RyotaRaven55 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:24am

Wow this is really nice well done! :D

akymos says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Creat work...challenging!!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:01pm

fun concept (- : quite hard but challenging! great work

adamwfindlay says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Nice concept! Found it quite challenging!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Interesting take on the theme, pretty difficult but I like the idea!

bentog says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Cool concept, but somewhat repetitive. Nice use of the theme and music!

FrameMatt says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:59am

I really enjoyed.

micdoodle8 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:46am

Nice job! Very interesting take on the theme.

KevinWorkman says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:25am

I'm trying to run the android version but I get an error saying my phone can't open the file

KuGrou says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:58am

@KevinWorkman Thanks for pointing this out. It looks like the file doesn't download correctly from OneDrive through chrome on mobile, and possibly other mobile browsers.

So I've added a dropbox link for the android version which should work better.

May 2, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Love this concept! Nice job! I included it in part 9 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series if you'd like to take a look http://youtu.be/ln7f84GPnPg

DeathBread says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Very well done! The graphics etc. are good, but the gameplay is very good :D

May 3, 2014 @ 12:07am

I like the idea a lot, nice game!

GamerTaters says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:03am

I liked the concept. Nice use of procedural generation for the levels. Wish it was possible to vary the jump heights when hitting the space bar. Interesting idea that was well executed. Good work!

Bekokstover says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:37pm

The mechanics work great! It's a little weird controlling two guys at once, but strangely enough you get used to it. Good work on the puzzle pieces!

Newt_ says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Very nice work!

dook says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:26pm

This is great all around. Fun and challenging mechanic, fitting the theme. The randomization worked well.

littleball says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:28pm

I love this game. The controls are so simple, yet controlling two characters make it so much more difficult. Well done my friend, well done!

CogComp says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 5:44am

Really neat idea!

May 8, 2014 @ 5:21am

I liked it, excellent work. I want more obstacles.

Dreii says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 5:31am

Loved the music, liked the two character controlling idea. But the jumping seemed a bit off for the length of spikes, making it reeallly hard :(

loxo says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Very addictive game! But I think it's really hard though. I would have liked it better, if the level layout would be the same every time.

May 13, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Wow this is hard :D Very good concept and realization though (High score 284)

ALobker says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Wow, this game has a tough learning curve!

BMacIntosh says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 5:08am

I don't know if it was a bug, but I really like the fast animation speed of the miner's feet. It reflects how hard he has to work to keep this poor kid alive. Art, I say!

I also think the difficulty is spot-on.

Muciojad says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 6:23am

Amazing mechanics, really original! Your game is one of most challenging I played so far this LD. ;]

Jiddo says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Wow, this is awesome. Really challenging, really good looking, and a really interesting idea that fits the theme just right.

I managed to get a score of 135, but the random generation of the maps made them really easy sometimes, but really difficult sometimes. On the other hand, it's nice that you can't practice one level too much.

Without a doubt one of the best ones I've played. :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]