Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Creature Beneath

by Otrora Interactivo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#205Graphics3.77
#238Audio3.29
#526Mood3.02
#602Theme3.22
#681Overall3.06
#710Humor2.23
#805Innovation2.72
#886Fun2.64

Comments

NicoM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:02am

Nice graphic style:), but I couldn't figure out how to get past the first level? (hints?)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:02am

Oh! Sorry about that. Try pushing the three buttons at the correct order.

NicoM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:16am

ah ok did it:)

NicoM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:16am

I thought it might be a timing thing and couldnt figure out how to go fast enough...

SFBTom says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:18am

Lovely ideas here, though restarting at the beginning was a little frustrating, especially with how slow the movement is. Looks great!

NicoM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:19am

Nice:), although going back to the start on dying was annoying, especially since on the third level you fall straight onto spikes...But great job, I enjoyed it:)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:17am

I will admit my fun was a bit hampered by a few restarts, some of them were from things like the eel automatically teleporting on me when I entered the room or finding out I can't get back up after missing the pipes at the start, but IT WAS SO CUTE. And the music was catchy and helped the mood. I defeated the last boss thing way too quickly, I don't even know what I did, it just peaked its head out barely, I mashed space, and it sort of died. Still, cute, good mood, and good enough fun.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:51pm

Thanks for the comments. I thought restart at the same level you die wouldn't be challenging enought. Guess I was wrong :) Can't agreed more with the boss fight thing. I was hoping to make it more complex, but when finally get to work on that I realized only had one hour left. So I had to hurry:)

Luis Anton says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Nice mix of platforms and puzzles. But I got killed in the fourth room and... I had to start it all over again! NOOOO! :D

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Died a little too often, it wasn't that obvious that they were spikes and the collision box must have been pretty big :P. Cute though, I like it.

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:04pm

I like the style and audio a lot, but the puzzles themselves seemed unnaturally hard to solve. The rotating puzzle, for example, I wished the pieces rotated in some kind of understandable order.

Once I got past that, to the 'press space to attack' it started me over at the beginning! Big points for music and aesthetic!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Ohh, so wonderful game. Art is so fairy. Defenetly, I like this game ^_^.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Thanks a lot for the comments! :) Sorry to kill you that often.

xgeovanni says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:12pm

The sound is nice and the aesthetic is lovely, but it's a bit too short right now. Fleshing it out post-compo would be an idea.

zinfandel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:21pm

Great art and mood, the puzzles were very nice, but I kept dying randomly when going down a stage, which throws me back to the beginning?

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Zinfandel, Is it because you get too close to the peaks of the sides when you enter the level. That is something I need to correct.

MaesK says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Good visuals and nice music, although it changes abruptly between every room, affecting it a little.

By the way, I am really pleased to find a puzzle like the second one (cat face) nowadays... Well, even a puzzle is a rare thing in games these days. This one reminds me of Indiana Jones and the Fate of Atlantis, and that is damn good.

There is only one thing I didnt like. The first room is too hard to be the beginning. Everything kills (even the door) and it is easy to fall.

Besides that, it is a nice game. Keep up the good work!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Thank you very much sir! The door killed you?

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:16am

very nice work. i could not figure out what to do at the third stage. the graphics were top notch. the jumping machanic needs a little work as well - it felt like i was in the air too long. great job

louiscarl says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:23am

Really nice, with puzzles easy to understand!
I also quite like the music!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:22pm

This is pretty fun :)
The restarts are a bit annoying though... At first I thought it was a bug... Only later did I find out those things on the walls are actually spikes (they don't really look like spikes to me) :P maybe just restarting the room would be better? Also having a way to fall down faster would have been nice...
But all in all, this is a solid, fun game!

Tititesouris says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:23pm

The fact that you go back to the start when you die is ruining the game experience, which is a shame, it looks like a great game but I got tired or redoing everything from the start and never got to the end.

sandbaydev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Very cool! I liked a lot. Second puzzle was a cool surprise.

(...I didn't like to die in 3rd level and get teleported to level 1 though :)

lajos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Looks beautiful! The puzzles are fun, but I die instantly on level 3 with the worm (chrome/win7).

Recon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Very great graphics but, boring gameplay.

Dramentiaras says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:25pm

Movement is a little bit slow and it was annoying to restart from the beginning. Great graphics style though!

TaleLore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:25pm

Third level is too difficult for me to want to continue playing and restarting the whole game when you die is unfair. Very fun game though, especially polished for a non-jam game.

Seraphina says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Absolutely love the art and sounds. That third screen is annoying though lol.

renatopp says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Starting from the first level, and having to do all puzzles again and again is really annoying. But it has good puzzles and I liked the underwater movements.

TeamAlpha says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:31pm

First of all: this is a VERY cute game. The art and the song are amazing! Don't think the sound effects fit that nicely, though; could be a little bit less chiptune-y. The game itself feels nice, the slow movement fits the mood. I just think you could add some checkpoints, not necessarily at each level; it's just that accidentally dying to a ceiling spike and resetting to the beginning isn't that fun after four tries =D Great job!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:34pm

It's official. By popular demand, I'll fix it so that when you die you start at the same level :) Don't know if I can do it before the judging ends. Don't want to break any rule

blockbot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Really well polished, damn cool. I little brutal with the restart, I kept on catching edges in a seemingly unfair way. I really hope you take this further, really nice job!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:43pm

nice art.. love the music aswell :)

Citsua says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Very polished game, with cute graphics and cool mechanics !
But having to redo everything everytime you die is annoying :(.

davidllanos22 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:32pm

It's pretty good overall, but as others said having to restart from the beggining can be a little frustrating :D Music and art pretty good and the puzzles were also good.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:33pm

nice game, I wish it was longer

Lizzip says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:38pm

Really beautiful and quite hard

lord says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Is the button order in the first level based on anything? Pretty frustrating with no prior context..

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Really really liked the feeling and movement here! couldn't come past 3rd level, though, because the game crashed and the website was reloaded when I got the torch thing.

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:40pm

This is a pretty nice game

Raiyumi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Nice game. Although it would be a lot better to restart the room on death.

tacs says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:06pm

I would have played for much longer if I'd been restarted at the room I died in but other than that I liked it very much.

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Great graphics and I loved the audio. (Sound effects could use a little smoothing, but the actual music was nice!) The transition when you died was really abrupt and kind of strange. I felt like I had no idea why I died or what was going on because I just shot right back to the beginning. The puzzles themselves are cute, and I think it all ties together very well. Good job!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:18pm

REally like the looks and the music but the collisions are too strict and some feedback when you die would be appreciated. I may be touching some spikes but sometimes it feels like random death. Great idea anyway and cool puzzles!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Thank you all for your comments! I really appreciate the feedback. I'm already working on an updated version which should address what you had pointed out. Stay tune!

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:05pm

Nice game and kind of hardcore (restart everything). The game has a good looking!

kmakai says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Fun and nice art style and music! A little difficult starting over at the first screen, though. Good job!

orangepascal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:43pm

ouch, going back to the button screens when I "suddenly" died was harsh, but nice game :)

Udell Games says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Nice art style, but something killed me without approaching me...

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:51pm

Fun game with good graphics and fun gameplay. Good job :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Cool atmosphere, the colours and sounds were great. Although yeah, restart on die was a pain, especially with the spikes along the walls! I though it was safe!

Tuism says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Really nice art and style and music and polish overall, but one fundamental issue plagued it - you die with no warning, and it feels more like a crash than anything else! The "spikes" needed to be much more communicative of spikeyness, and you need to tell the player what happened to them, one way or another.

Anyhoo other than that, great adventure :)

terraco says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Very slow and unforgiving. I seemed to die to nothing at the second screen (the wheels to make the face)

Ithildin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Having to restart since the beginning detracted quite a bit from the fun once that you've figured out the puzzles. On the good side, I really loved the art with the soft blue palette. Nice job!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:22pm

The looks good and has a certain charm to it.

I felt the eel was too random and it would always teleport on top of me and kill me, which was frustating since I had to start at the beginning because of something that wasn't really my fault. Also spikes near the entrances felt cheap.

I still enjoyed it a lot though :) the final battle felt nice, I liked it.

Pd: I hate that stupid eel.

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:49pm

So cute graphically and musically. Wish the mechanics were a little more forgiving at first, I lost patience but was intrigued by the story!

Kyatric says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Like most of the other comments, the spike got me too in the eel room and after reading the comment posted on gamejolt, I was able to figure out what was happening.
It's not so much that starting from the start again is challenging or not, it's especially that the spikes hadn't striked me as dangerous. So in the eel room, my first reaction was to believe the eel just bite me as soon as I enter, which seemed utterly unfair.
It had of course nothing to see with it, but that was the impression the fact of dying without "further notice" in that room gave.

Cute art style/audio, quick to finish game, nice mood, good job.
Congratulation on making a game in 48h and submitting it to the compo !

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:57pm

Kyantric? THE Kyantric?!!? That's it. My day is officially made! Thank you, sir, for the feedback.

MrShoestore says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:01am

Nice looking game. a couple of things, the collision on the entrance of each level is just short of evil. Either remove it or widen it. Also it did some goofy crash on me when i picked up the weapon on the third stage, maybe it was just a problem with my Safari

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:09am

@MrShoestore the collision thing is already fix and will be available (on an update) when the judging ends, but the crash is new. Will like to know a bit more about the issue.

HybridMind says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:30am

The graphics and setup story are cool. I found the game too unfair/hard because of hitbox/collision issues. The 3rd level especially (with the attack wand) was very easy to die and then it made you restart from the very beginning. I did try four times to beat that 3rd level w/ no luck. Died on something different each time. I did enjoy the graphics a lot and if you fix the respawn issue and the unfair tile hitboxes, it would be a fun puzzle platformer to explore.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:59am

Really cool graphics as well as music! I included it in part 2 of my LD29 compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :)
http://youtu.be/JHNjbQTDBuQ

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:03am

Restarting at the beginning made it challenging. I thought it was fun.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:20am

@Seraphic Media Finally!! Thanks :)

Mr. Jif says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:22am

Great graphics! One thing that would have been nice though is if the floor was little more different than the 'spikes' Also dying and respawning at the first level was very annoying. Otherwise good game!

BrothersT says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:37am

kind of frustrating having to start over from the beginnning because the puzzles aren't a challenge once you know how to do them. just feels like a slog. Fun game none-the-less! :)

InfectionTeam says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:41am

I love the art ^^ really cute game.

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:42am

Great graphics! I'm not too big a fan of the slow movement, though. :P

Kino333 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:42am

Was incredibly nice, except for the eel room because jerks and I hate them.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:49am

Thanks guys an gals for all the comments and feedback, you are awesome!!

roaet says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:14am

The game is super well developed in all respects. Restarting to the first level each time is KILLER-HARD especially since the character moves so slow.

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:44am

Very cute little game! Love the visuals and audio. Great work!

eufrik says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:47am

Nice game. I suggest you add checkpoints next time.

noom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:54am

Nice graphical style, the music was lovely too. The first puzzle was a little tough, and the avatar moved gratingly slow. And as has been said, starting over on death was a kick in the pants.

dremelofdeath says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:35am

I died. A lot. And then I died again. The first level was extremely confusing, but I eventually got it. I was dismayed that level 2 was so easy leading into level 3, where if you simply sink to the bottom, you insta-die and have to do it all over again...

Otherwise, I really liked the visual style and the mood of this game. The audio was also quite well done and there are a lot of things going for this game. Overall, I appreciated the attention to detail in the art and the varied gameplay.

Reinkout says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:04am

The visuals were really nice!

Keehan12 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:34am

The graphics were nice, the audio was nice. The game felt a bit slow though and could have had some better programming. concept is nice

hadesfury says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:08am

Really cute ! Fun music ... and great polish
But I died inexplicably in level 3 and get back to level 1

randoman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:33am

Nice graphics, but really short game.

nonentheless says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:51am

Restarting is harsh man. I wanted to play more but not from begining, to slow :)

TheGreenTie says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:46pm

Pretty good! It kinda bugs me that whenever you die your restart all over again. But eitherwise it was pretty nice! :)

Martin Ysa says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Cute Graphics!!

jotaSe says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Great !

Thorig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Really nice game. Lots of polish and good music.

sfdnetwork says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Game is great, love the art style and the mood of the game. Very responsive controls as well. But there are bugs, I went from the third level back to first as I was descending to the third level.

Menesetsu says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Nice artstyle and music!

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Game was fun, liked the puzzle. Performance got a bit laggy when enemies start appearing though.

TowelKing says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:42pm

solid game and the intro really helped draw me into the game. I think there needs to be more direction when giving the player puzzles to do.

May 1, 2014 @ 2:09am

Very pretty adventure, with a fun look and feel! I think you should play up the puzzling and down-play the combat.

Dying and being sent back to the beginning doesn't match the pace of the rest of the game. Because the player moves slowly under the water, solving the first puzzle takes a while. Having to do it again and again is irksome.

hyouko says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:59am

I like the music and visuals, but I'm not really a fan of the trial-and-error style of gameplay. If you give the user three buttons to push, there should be logic behind the sequence of buttons to push - as it is, you have to brute force it. If you're making the player line up an image, make it a test of skill in some way (maybe you have to stop the spinner at the right time so it all lines up).

TeamFlare says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:55am

Beginning is confusing, but then I enjoyed the puzzle platforming :) Cool!

jtpup0 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:59am

Nice game!

DavidErosa says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:54pm

I liked the game but when I got killed I had to start from the first level :(

On the positive side, the graphics and music are great, good job!

mollymus says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:10pm

Very cute game! A bit anoying to have to start from the beginning each time I died though:(

Photon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:10pm

This is one of those game I look at and I'm look "Ooh, this looks interesting." Definitely a nice presentation of your game.

As far as platformers go though, it's pretty generic. Not a whole lot is going on unfortunately. Its basically a kind of 1-2-3 step kind of game and you're done. It definitely has some personality to it, but the actual gameplay could use some more work.

May 1, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Nice puzzle and solid gameplay, wish I didn't have to start again when dying.

PapyGaragos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Adding a checkpoint at the start of each room would be great. Otherwise I like the cute art style and the colors

ioboi says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:08pm

Good soundtrack and cute graphics! :)

MidCry says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:14pm

I Love puzzle games , and this game made me happy ... Great work

Lyje says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Nice graphics and music but I couldn't get into the puzzles aspect of it!

Logun says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Not an easy game ! :) Hard to understand why you are dying, till i realise that the floor was killing !
Nice music.

petrih says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:32am

Movement speed could be a little faster. It's a bit frustrating that you have to start at the beginning every time. Otherwise great!

petey123567 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:12pm

"Cat"fish! Nice!

BasselGaming says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Great game! nice smooth difficulty ramping!

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:54pm

I died every time I entered the third room...

KunoNoOni says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Its a nice game that is well done. Gratz on completing a game in 48 Hours :)

Garris says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:45am

The music was very good. I was a little frustrated by the eel, but this game was full of interesting puzzles and charming graphics. Solid entry.

rojo says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:11am

Nice visual aesthetic, and I loved the music. Gameplay was pretty good overall, but it would have been a lot more enjoyable starting over from the current level when you die, rather than level 1.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:29am

i like this game, cute and challeging!

May 9, 2014 @ 10:38pm

I like this game, but I'll have to wait until I can play the updated version with checkpoints to finish it. (I was dying a lot)

jacklehamster says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 5:34am

The gameplay look fun but i think it gets kinda ruined by the instant death / restart at the beginning.

May 10, 2014 @ 5:42am

Nice effort for 48 hours. I think the hazardous platforms were a little hard to read so I kept trying to land on things, dying and having to start over. I would continue polishing and working on this, based on feedback. Good job.

JaJ says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Nice style, but threats often arn't obvious enough. Restarting at the beginning wasn't the best idea.

soy_yuma says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 5:41pm

I also found the restart from the beginning a bit too much frustrating. The eel of third level kept telefragging me every time... Good graphics and audio though.

ninjacharlie says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Thought the movement was too floaty and it was frustrating when the entire game restarted with a single death, but the puzzles were really fun. Good job :)

udo says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 10:03am

I loved the puzzles, though going back to the beginning after death is frustrating - especially since it doesn't take much to die quickly ;)

jsmars says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Nice style and game! But really frustrating to start from the first level when I died

BadPaul34 says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Really neat concept and graphics! Like the style and the puzzles. Just too bad to restart at the beginning every time :)

rincewind_cz says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 10:49pm

Game idea is good, so the first three puzzles -- unfortunately I was so disappointed by going back to level one that I didn't finish. I like hard games, believe me.. But this is too much :-D

May 20, 2014 @ 4:09pm

You have been featured in today's episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qDcPF81pihA

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]