Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mole Position

by Glint Games - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#579Graphics3.14
#588Theme3.23
#714Humor2.22
#1002Audio1.64
#1029Fun2.43
#1046Innovation2.38
#1060Overall2.63
#1100Mood2.28

Comments

CaptainKraft says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:21am

500 internal server error

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:21am

Can't run on my mac firefox

DavidErosa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:23am

Nice little game. The controls get choppy sometimes, but overall a nice mini-puzzle. Thanks!

Move127 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:27am

Interesting little game. Controls seem a little messed up.

Pete_H says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:34am

Liked it!As others have mentioned the controls are a bit weird. Was cool to be able to climb!

ix says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:42am

I can't seem to get the hang of the wall-grabbing/climbing movement.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:43am

Really cute graphics! The controls were tight, though the sticking to the walls controls took a little bit of getting used to. Some nice light music would have gone well with it too!

dpulrich says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:43am

Nice game! It is pretty fun, but next time, try to add some sound effects or music into your game

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:44am

Runs pretty slow on my computer, nice little game though :)

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:45am

Seems to have a resource leak or something - I started playing it, then it and my entire browser kept running slower, and slower, until it would barely run anymore. Using Windows/Firefox. Looks fun, I'll make another pass later and see if I can rate it then.

nimblegorilla says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:45am

Took me a while to figure out that I should drop the chests on the spikes instead of finding a key.

rincewind_cz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:46am

Weird.. I was living even after I was killed X times :D Seems bit unfinished to me :-)

atomic_swerve says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:46am

I had fun, but the controls were a little difficult to manage. Sticking against a wall while falling was the biggest issues, followed by sometimes only digging one space instead of 2.

omaha says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:47am

It was going well at first but I started sticking to every wall I touched, and couldn't seem to get back to playing normally.

andrewkennedy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:50am

It seems like a cross between Dig Dug and a DOS game called Jetpack. Pretty sweet!

Afrosatan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:51am

Ran very slowly on firefox on windows...
It ran better on chrome, but controls didn't seem to work very well and I would get stuck jumping around.
The graphics were nice.

Sim00n says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:52am

The controls are pretty clumsy and that takes away a lot from the overall fun. I know how much work it takes to make this kind of an engine in 48 hours though so good job. Good luck in the standings. I invite you to see my game also.

AutumnGuy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:58am

Game crashes on OSX Firefox.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:58am

Cool mining game ! Run very well with Chrome

Andrew Adams says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:02am

Nope... just nope

gigitrix says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:06am

Clumsy controls/collision detection and a bit of a framerate drop in the second level. but I like what's there and the art style is fun!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:58am

At least on Firefox, the framerate very quickly gets really bad, so I couldn't really play long.

I also couldn't figure out what to do with the treasure chest. I dug up to the one on the right (digging up doesn't seem to require the 'x' key), and it fell down, but I didn't find any way to break it open. Then I tried digging down, and got trapped underneath it on the bottom right. :P

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:14am

Was really clunky and I got stuck in the wall a lot. couldn't figure out what to do

alvarop says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:23am

Game runs VERY slow on my computer for some reason.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:42am

Great job :D
It ran fine on my Firefox.
I think the gravity could be lowered so that you decelerate gradually, which would give a more smooth feel.

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:05am

Neat little game. Digging was sometime tricky, and I got stuck under the treasure chest on the left. But I liked it!

PriorBlue says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:30am

Funny game and nice animations/effects, but the controls are difficult.

ENDESGA says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:36am

Cool little game :) I like it

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:45am

I saw some people saying that the game ran too slowly for them, but in Chrome for me it was the opposite; it ran too fast! Sounds like just a timing issue rather than a performance one. Looking beyond that, though, it looks like it would be a fun game. The wall grabbing and digging and everything seemed like it would have worked well. And the graphics are certainly nice. It runs a bit too quickly for me to play but I can definitely see that it's something to look back at once that's worked out. Nice job!

Slader16 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:14am

Controls are pretty funky, but it's a nice simplistic game!

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:25am

Nice, I really like the ghost's face haha

malmazuke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:30am

Fantastic Graphics. The controls are a big fidgety

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:43am

The pixel graphics feel good, and also the music. Nice game, I really enjoy it!

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:46am

Good and nice!

orangepascal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:10am

Some bugs with movement (getting stuck for no apparent reason). But overall a nice idea. Hint: maybe double the resolution of the graphics to make the game area bigger and easier on the eyes ?

Jase says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:38am

Ran really slowly :( I liked the graphics though

bazld says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:29am

Controls are a little tricky (not quite intuitive), but definitely a great effort, and could be developed further.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:41am

It seems nice but I didnt know what to do... Can you open the chest or dig upwards? Got stuck a bit on the walls also, don't know if it's a bug or a feature XD

Enzo42 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:54am

Little glitchy controls

donan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Enjoyed it for a while. Good graphics and idea, but after 2 minutes the game starts to be reaaaally slow :/

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Really like the use of theme ! You're entry is really fun ! Great job !

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Controls are a bit laggy, but past that I see a fun game with an adorable mole searching for clues.. WHAT'S NOT TO LOVE?

superzac says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:43pm

Fun little game, controls are a bit sketchy in some places but overall decent.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:17pm

On the plus side, the climbing up the walls thing was innovative, but on the minus side that made it a little tricky to play. It's a shame you didn't manage to get any sound in there.

ioboi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Fun little puzzle game :)
The digging is a bit difficult as sometimes you don't get the right tiles.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Controls hard to use in Chrome.

Kimau says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:55pm

The digging is very glitchy kept getting caught on stuff

bombjack says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Nice graphics and game

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Cutest mole ever! Like the artwork.

colludium says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Good fun game. The digging was a bit hard sometimes when near the edge of a block of earth. Nice graphics I thought.

pawegio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Nice game, however, sometimes "hero" locks.

Wakka says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:35pm

hum ran very very slow on my machine (I5!) and was unplayable. The graphics looked good so far

HacksawUnit says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Got stuck under the first chest.

jotson says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Funny name, could be funner but the controls are glitchy.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:36pm

nice little game :)

Gins says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Very slow on Firefox, very fast in Chrome :o
Also it's easy to get stuck in walls.

I see a lot of potential though :) If you fix up the controls and those frame rate problems, it could be great.
The graphics are very pretty too!

CoderMusgrove says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:04pm

I found it hard to use the navigation, I would get stuck in one spot. However, it was quite fun. :)

stenol says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:54pm

Nice little game.

friken says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:58pm

loved the ghost and the graphics. a bit hard to control, but that was probably me. :-)

shuanDang says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Nice graphics! I'm not sure what I'm supposed to do to to open the chest.

mollymus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:16pm

Lagged pretty bad in firefox, might want to put a note and suggest people use Chrome (in which it worked fine)! Other than that I think it was pretty fun, but the collision seemed a bit glitchy and I often found myself stuck:(

ninjacharlie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:25pm

Interesting game. The wall hanging is a little buggy and it would be nice to have some sound. I like the character, and the digging. Good job :)

evilDan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:30am

Not bad - very digdug-esque. A bit hard to control but nifty all the same

Pent says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:18am

fun game! controls are a bit tough at times though

omgnoseat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:24am

The digging felt pretty satisfying. I got stuck under the chest and was too lazy to try again though :p

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:29am

Seeing the tiny little mole arms furiously dig attempting to avoid the ghost is a pretty funny image. Great job :)

greysphere says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:27am

The shiny coins and gems are compelling . The art is vibrant and clear, and makes me want to explore the game.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:48am

I liked the first level, but when i got to level two, i got horrible slowdown (google chrome). I have a very fast computer too...

nice game, though... and funny name... i was kind of sort of thinking about doing a dig-dugger myself.

BumbleBirds says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:50am

Runs impossibly slowly for me i'm afraid :(

Liens says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:56am

Pretty good, I wondered what was happening with the jumping and stuff but it was the wall climb mechanics at work. I ended up getting a bug where I got stuck on the spikes under the middle chest and couldn't get out or dig.

bugninja says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:03am

Pretty good game, impressive for 48 hours for sure!

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:42am

I'm into the wall climbing thing, but the controls were really hard to get used to. I kept getting stuck on things I didn't intend to stick myself to.

danidre14 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:00am

Had no idea what to do.

Tuism says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:21am

Quite lovely, I enjoyed the idea but the controls were slippery and too fast to master. The graphics and level design was cool :)

Eventually I got stuck under the leftmost chest and that was embarrassing XD so that was a game deadend :P

But good job the game could just do with polishing, solid idea :)

Skywilly says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:26am

Great little arcade game. Sweet :)

Candyhandy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:05am

Really nice puzzle game.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:34am

Good game for 48hrs. I got confused a lot about jumping and wall hanging, but that was my fault. A little strange to mix that with smoothly digging around.

rnlf says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:57am

Nice little game. I like the art style, very cute. As other have mentioned, the controls are a bit weird and the mole gets stuck every once in a while.

You should make the spikes hurt the mole, because I was trapped beneath the chest on the left side. Had to restart :-(

ruerob says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:20am

Runs very slow on my PC. But looks very nice.

Lars Faust says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:20am

I got stuck under a chest and couldn't get out.

Fun digging mechanic though, although the mole seemed to dig even if i wasn't pressing X.

mclewis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:52am

This little guy was on the juice for me

mir007 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:53am

Pretty nice game! You can get stuck underneath a chest, but that's ok. R is your friend. :)

neekobus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:09am

A bit buggy but fun old school game, with nice graphics.
What can we do with chests ?

zzorn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:41am

Nice boulderdashery game.

Controls seem a bit inconsistent, sometimes I can walk up underground with the up arrow, sometimes jump, and sometimes I just get stuck.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:08am

Run slow on firefox. Also some control are bugged. Not sure if that was caused by the lag :v

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:04pm

Nice idea, I like the mole sprite!

Quite liked the wall-climbing ability - maybe would have worked better if the up arrow did both climb and jump though? Also not sure if it was just me but I couldn't find a way to open the chests.

recursor says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:20pm

This didn't run well in Firefox, but it was just fine in Chrome...go figure. Can the treasure chests be opened?

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:29pm

Good as hell.
The mole looked a bit like a bird, but that only makes it more fun!

Danvil says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:10pm

After a few seconds the game gets very slow...

Afal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:33pm

Controls are incredibly frustrating, but cute player charater

conormn says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:18am

Very cute game. Well done!

MrShoestore says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:01am

could use some audio, also it seemed to run slow, but don't know if that's my computer.

HybridMind says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:09am

The controls/collisions kind of really hamper this game from being fun. It is just too hard to move/dig through the dirt. I like the concept and the artwork though, it just needs a little more love. Also, how the heck do you open the treasure chests??

roaet says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:07am

I love the graphics. The bounding boxes appear to be too strict. There is a bit of sticking on walls. I'm not really sure how to get the rightmost chest and I thought the spikes were gonna kill me. :D

Scam says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:17am

I liked the graphics. Framerate dropped a lot after playing a while and game became unplayable.

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:50am

Im my Pc it runs very slow, but its playable. Nice game but too simple. Keep improving its perfomance ;-)

hadesfury says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:10am

Run too slow on my computer but it's cute !

xdegtyarev says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Nice entry!

May 1, 2014 @ 1:58am

Well, that was a nice little game about digging. I agree that the controls could use some work. For me the jumping was too hyper, and the sticking to walls was hard to control. I got 3650 points!

tchem says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:29am

the artwork is great,,,, i loved this

SaintHeiser says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:48am

What the hell???
Slow down my PC even with my i5 quad-core...

May 1, 2014 @ 5:18am

very colourfull. Looks nice. The climb control was a little irritating as it was difficult to unstick yourself

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:39am

Nice, too bad I got stuck in walls pretty often, also it's a bit hard.

Artylo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:14pm

Controls are kinda choppy at times, and it is kinda strange opening a chest with spikes.

May 1, 2014 @ 6:22pm

Super nice graphics, though there were some glitches. Well done over all! I included your game in part 6 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series! http://youtu.be/K5ATRciKj24

Cambrian_Man says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:10am

Very nice pixel art. Can I give bonus points for the name?

Lyje says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:35am

Nice puzzle elements - but I think the platforming physics/feel could definitely be tweaked!

Nezzhil says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:14am

You need to work in the controls: the jump is too powerful and digging need to many keys.
Also, some sfx and/or music is needed. If you don't know how compose music (like me) or know someone to help you, I recomend you use some free music available around the web.

pLaw says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Nice sprites. The mole gets stuck in the air or at walls quite often, which might become annoying sometimes.

noom says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:18am

That mole is so freaking cute hahaha. Nice work, simple and solid.

GamerTaters says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:13am

Nice game. Jumping felt a little awkward to me. Very colorful look which I enjoyed. Good work. Well done!

hanoth says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:47am

Great look. The controls were really glitchy for me though. I kept getting stuck on things.

kirbytails7 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:29am

Heh, nice name.
Pretty fun, but the controls need some work. I couldn't stop clinging to walls that sometimes didn't exist, or just getting stuck in the falling animation while hanging on a wall and not being able to move.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:47am

controls are messed up - cannot figure out the object - nice effort

gre says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:22pm

Nice mecanism.

ThingoStudios says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:28pm

I got stuck in the walls a lot.

I think you have the funniest title though.

May 4, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Arrow keys don't really work.

hyouko says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:25am

Almost got everything, but got trapped under the last treasure chest. The controls listing doesn't mention the ability to climb, which is fairly important - you should add that.

May 5, 2014 @ 2:42am

I enjoyed the look of the game. Not much besides that though.

May 5, 2014 @ 11:55am

Nice graphics but the controls seems little odd, kept getting stuck.

wschorn says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:42pm

i think this comes pre installed on old nokia phones B)

Ariake81 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:15pm

shame it ran really slow on an up to date pc.... a frame rate ester or something may have helped, but it might be firefox i guess.... but a good effort though, great tile maps and idea.

jsmars says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:16am

Looks really promising and great graphics, but I get stuck on edges here and there and not sure how to open chests? Could really use some music and sound effects too :)

paps says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Nice game

JaJ says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 4:23pm

The controls arn't the best, but it's a really cute game.

Delca says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 5:10pm

I could hardly play it, as it made my Firefox lag like hell...
That being said, graphics are very nice.

FrameMatt says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Seems pretty fun. My experience was a little laggy, guess its chrome's fault. And couldn't shoot anything.

udo says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 11:03pm

This one has potential, I liked the idea and the graphics. The controls were very difficult to handle though. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]