Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Barry the Avalanche Dog

by crosstales - Jam Entry

Barry the Avalanche Dog

Story:
Barry the Avalanche Dog watches over the ski slopes, ready to help if something happens.
When an avalanche comes down, he (i.e. you) needs to scan the area and remember, where the skiers got caught in the avalanche. Now the battle against time begins. Barry has to uncover as many of the skiers beneath the snow as he can, before they die.

Controls:
Barry: point and click to move
To dig: space or right click

Team: Stefan, Anika, Dustin, Marisa

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#102Theme(Jam)3.71
#116Audio(Jam)3.69
#216Graphics(Jam)3.78
#263Humor(Jam)2.84
#270Mood(Jam)3.27
#305Innovation(Jam)3.16
#363Overall(Jam)3.22
#553Fun(Jam)2.64

Comments

Lerc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:09pm

I have to say I'm a bit disappointed because the title was truncated. On the Browse view and "Barry the Avalanche" sounded like a way more fun game.

foolmoron says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Really great concept, graphics, audio, presentation, but it was pretty boring just going around and digging randomly.

Udell Games says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Would like to have seen a message other than "Game Over" when I successfully complete a level, but otherwise it was good.

Mnemusyne says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Interesting idea!

littleball says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Got a bit tedious in the end, but the concept was good. Maybe some kind of detector would help.

wicht says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Nice concept/idea. The graphics match the setting quite nice. Well done!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Great concept but gameplay is too tedious. Maybe you should had some hints!

ninjascript says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Love the music.

FatJoe says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Overall good. The gameplay could have been made a bit more interesting, but the concept and idea I really like. Looks good and sounds good. Good Job :)

Ithildin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Visuals and audio were impressive, really polished,but gameplay felt a bit slow. Still, this is a great entry, and I loved your take on the theme.

Congrats!

xdegtyarev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:57pm

haha, such adorable game it is!

Snowflower says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:59pm

increasing the number of skiers to track while also increasing the rate at which the dog moves around to dig them up would make it more engaging.

it would also benefit from some kind of 'sniffing' sonar type mechanic so you can vaguely tell if there is someone in the area or not without giving their precise location under the snow

pfeyffer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:05pm

The theme is spot on, I love the concept and the graphics turned out nicely. The huge paw print cursor makes navigating a bit more difficult than it should be. A mobile version with touch controls would be a nice addition. Great game, Good work!

Newt_ says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Pretty nice, but the gameplay could have been a bit more varied. Great work, though!

PixelFeet says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:19pm

nice idea and i really like the style of the game! but it did seem like i was digging around kind of aimlessly for a while.

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:26pm

Art and music are adorable, I wish the controls and movement were a little more intuitive and immediate! I loved seeing an avalanche game though, nice creative idea.

Gwinnell says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:27pm

It says game over when I win! The avalanche effect is awesome, and the music is quite comical!

Gwinnell says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Oh, and based on the controls description I expected Barry to follow my mouse cursor not go to where I click. :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:32pm

Nice concept, well done ! The dog is a little slow but i guess it's a part of the difficulty !

Was really easy to understand without indications so fantastic work on that !

Congrats !

MrShoestore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:34pm

Good presentation art and sound, but I couldn't figure out the digging! I swear I was in the right spot, but nothing was happening.

kibertoad says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:35pm

Excellent artwork. Makes me miss my recently dead dog. Music is way too jolly for a game about broken bodies slowly suffocating under the ice, but that's not much of a complaint.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:36pm

interesting idea but it fell a little flat. nice graphics. the skiers coming down the hill looked great. nice effort

stenol says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:37pm

Great game. The music is superb ! It would be nice if we had more than 2 people to rescue. Great work !

Hippolyta says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:24am

We fixed the difficulty selection bug...
Our main coder was extremly tired and made a little error ;-)

Now, you should really be challanged :-)

Have a nice day!

flavio says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:55am

wow... a disturbing game it is. A very serious topic that you treated lightly... why not ? But I had a hard time finding the people under the avalanche, even though I pointed them with my finger on the screen before they get buried !

Fox_in_sox says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:08pm

A very funny idea and take on the theme.:) I had some graphical problems when launching the game in full screen (web), maybe you should look into that.
Otherwise the graphics aren't bad and I really like the concept. I didn't find it boring at all, but the dog could be a little faster, so I don't have to wait so long until he walks over to another body. Nice game overall, definitely worth the time.:)

joe40001 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Clever, fun, and pleasant mood.

May 2, 2014 @ 2:22am

My next game has to be about an avalanche elemental.

Hippolyta says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:06am

We balanced the levels and the speed of Barry.

The mouse cursor should now be more logical and we added a mark ("x") to indicate the target destination.

We also tried to fix the full screen support - it works theoretically... But Unity has some strange redraw problems with GUI elements. Unfortunately, we don't know how to fix this at the moment. Suggestions are very welcome ;-)

Hippolyta says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:58pm

The GUI redraw problems are solved :-)

Cheers

gre says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Very cool graphics and music, nice take on the theme, however I found the game mecanism to be a bit limited for a Jam entry.

csanyk says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Cute, but if you can't remember where someone was, there's no hope to find them. It would be nice if there was some way to sniff to know if you're close.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]