Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Delph Ops

by baykush_figtree - Jam Entry

Name: Delph Ops.
Genre: SHMUP, Bullet Hell.
Engine: Unity

A Fast paced bullet hell game. You control a special ops military dolphin and your mission is to defend the bay from incoming waves of enemies.

Code and pixels by Pedro Machado
Sounds and dolphin voice(?)by Leonardo Perantoni

Like the music? Find out more about Leo's work inside the following links:
[Personal Site] http://leoperantoni.com/en.html
[Soundcloud] https://soundcloud.com/oi-rs/sets
[Bandcamp] http://leoperantoni.bandcamp.com/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#20Fun(Jam)4.00
#50Overall(Jam)3.84
#51Audio(Jam)3.97
#63Theme(Jam)3.84
#139Humor(Jam)3.25
#154Mood(Jam)3.57
#164Graphics(Jam)3.93
#326Innovation(Jam)3.10

Comments

omaha says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:11am

Graphics are nice and clean. This is fun. Music is excellent.

stigmawall says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Excelent entry. Nice graphics and sound, and the gameplay is good too.

Diptoman says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:20pm

This was pretty fun! The torpedoes seemed to move in a strange manner when moving, but that was still cool! And that "Why?!" section xD

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:09pm

Nice graphics and controls. I had way more fun than I care to admit "dive-bombing" the subs. Well done!

vitor.navarro says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:00pm

An awesome entry!!! You mixed the reality with the theme, I see a bit of humor in that, which I liked it. The audio is quite good and don't get in the way if you play lots of times. Please I want to see more, continue it further ;)

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:35pm

Very fun game! Controls were fluid, music was great, great job!

João Kucera says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:24am

Awesome game! The music magnifies the mood!

pedro.thiers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:24am

Nice and clean. I just loved the menu, it was awesome! It felt good to dodge that many torpedoes too

pedro.thiers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:26am

not to mention the tension building soundtrack. That was epic stuff, guys

leparlon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:32am

Ok, that was awesome. Art and sound were the best things, but the game was also fun. Good job. For some reason I was confused with how the torpedoes moved on the beginning, but just on the first play-through, then it became a fun thing, go figure.

Wertle says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:04am

Great coherent aesthetic! I had a little trouble with the dolphin and the projectiles being the same color, but I love how well the simple bubble effect worked.

Muu? says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:29am

Great game, one of the best I've played until now. It's fun, visually pleasing and with a great background song.

As a last note, the "Why?" section is a lie: I'm not sure you weren't on drugs when you had this game idea. :)

frickajr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:50pm

dolphin shooter... hilarious!

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:22pm

I love the music and the graphics. Very nicely done!

AugustSnow says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Really fun, great execution of a simple theme

SirJson says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:25pm

Russian dolphins... fuck yeah!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Super fun game! I really enjoyed it.

BMacIntosh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:35pm

Very polished. I found a circle-strafing type of strategy to be ridiculously effective, though, because the enemy doesn't lead their shots at all. That would be a good addition. I was also a bit miffed that the wikipedia link didn't open in a new tab.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:43pm

This is awesome. One of my favourite games in the compo so far. The presentation is spot on, love the graphics and the music. And above all, its fun. I liked jumping out of the water for some reason.

BuriTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:21pm

I spent some good time playing this. The controls are tight! I loved circling around enemies deploying everything at them, how everything moved and so on.

I just didn't like much destroying the boats. Once you get over the surface it just seems like luck that didnt make you die.

zanenga says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:10am

Good game! I like the controls.

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:40pm

any game where you are a dolphin gets my vote!

Vulpus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:00pm

Awesome.

dook says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Man that is one intense little dolphin. Fun game :)

Joshua_Burr says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:04pm

This was really fun. It controlled very well.

xdegtyarev says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:08pm

AWESOME game!
Underwater luftraisers. I think i found a game braking strategy: swim up and down shooting missiles in the enemy but keep a distance of one screen or more. It seems enemies stop shooting at you if you are too distant from them and you could just destroy them from safety.

Also nice music!

LTyrosine says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:07am

Amazing game. Nice mood, nice graphics.

danialhyatt says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:24am

Nice one! I like everything about it except the screen when you die that says you are a shame. Other than that its really ghood

rojo says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:08am

Nice visual and aural aesthetic.

MintArcade says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:15am

Fun game. Very fast and attractive.

Nezzhil says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:32am

Really funny game with a great atmosphere!
The music add a lot to the game, props to the music!

The only bad thing is that I was stuck in the rocks more than one or two times, and the only thing that I could do to continue playing was start by the begining again :(

May 2, 2014 @ 1:16pm

@nezzhill thanks for the bug report. those rocks where a real headache.
@BMacIntosh yeah that link thing sucks. But Unity can't open a link in a new tab without some javascript on the hosting webpage and you know....48 hours :(
@danialhyatt it is suposed to feel like an iron-heart general is scolding you for the failure. hehe.
war is cruel.

Thanks for the feedback goodness, people! We'll be taking the project forward....but not much. I believe it' beauty lies in simplicity. A chaotic, fish-smelling simplicity.

The final wave wasn't suposed to exist in the original plan. I've added it during the final hour of development and it came out absolutely unbalanced haha

I will definitely write a post mortem on that one.

And for everyone that enjoyed the SFX and music: Leo's souncloud, bandcamp and website links are inside the game (I'll add to the game's description soon). He does wonderful and atmospheric music and deserves your ear's attention :)

XenosNS says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:53am

Nice! Underwater luftrasers :-)

May 3, 2014 @ 12:56am

Really really liked the main menu music and the overall style and mood. Smooth gameplay too.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:16am

really nice game - tight controls and easy to play - great job

May 3, 2014 @ 2:24am

Nice fun sharp game. Jumped out onto the cliffs and got stuck though!

Jod says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Gorgeous graphics and sound form a very coherent and smooth Jam entry! Well done indeed. I love jumping out of the water over the big battleships!

Venturelli says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Fucking awesome :D

May 4, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Nicely done. Quite entertaining

dector says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:13am

Very atmospheric and challenging stuff. But filling helpless while jumping into the air.

conormn says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:29am

WOW, really well done. Well done all around.

idovingx says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:34pm

nice work, man! i feel like many games of this type are way too hard and have you dying every 15 seconds. also thanks for putting my game, jeremy brain, at #2 on your list! that was nice of you. you should follow me on twitter @jessebarksdale and i'll follow you back. it'd be a good way to keep in touch :)

csanyk says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Best sound. Very fun and challenging. The surface ships are really tough since you can't attack them from below, and when you're in the air you can't control movement. I would have liked to seen the destroyed subs sinking down and pile up on the bottom.

Moosefly says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 10:11pm

While it was somewhat fun (played till level 5 before I got too frustrated), I think that it included too many RNG elements and the controls weren't tight enough. The control problem became mainly apparent when I noticed a torpedo coming at me full speed from outside the screen. RNG was worst when trying to sink the ships, like Buriteam mentioned.

Cool graphics and audio though, and the menu was really stylish and inviting.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]