Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dr. LOVE

by Cell - 48 Hour Compo Entry

WASD + Left Mouse Button.

If you really want to see more of my shit,
Cellusious.com or
twitter.com/@Cellusious

(Source is included in the download)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#45Graphics4.30
#149Audio3.50
#196Fun3.51
#214Overall3.57
#292Mood3.32
#769Humor2.15
#872Innovation2.64
#1103Theme2.36

Comments

Yozz says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 9:34pm

1) Wow! Wooow! Monster cool!
2) While this epic massacre i`m always clicking outside the game window and unfocusing in.

Zyper says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Very nice effects :P

Oye Beto says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Amazing graphics. I love the laser effect.
There's too much going on and some times I'm confused with stuff flying directly to me and bullets, maybe because the space is too small. I'll come back to rate it later :)

lightsoda says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:26am

Ah, your account has been generating too much traffic so the link is unavailable, I'll check back later :)

alvarop says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:49am

This game might be one of my favorite ones of this LD.

tiffi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:16am

Dropbox error: Error (509)
This account's public links are generating too much traffic and have been temporarily disabled!

Cell says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:21am

Sorry people!
Added a mirror download in case of dropbox being mean :1

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:22am

This is really fun to play and looks great! Good work.

Jack says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:27am

By far the most polished-looking game I've played so far, but there doesn't seem to be a point, as such. As in, there's no points system or level progression so after a while I just get bored. Still, by far the best game I've played so far today, and one of the best LD games I've played for a long time.

ccglp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:27am

Effects so cool!
But i'm always clicking outside the game window like the others xD

tiffi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:28am

Thanks for adding the mirror. Great game, totally enjoyed it! (+1 for dual shader)

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:28am

Wow, nice one! this is awesome, the graphics are so good for only having 48 hours! love it

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:36am

Pretty, but rather shallow.

tayl1r says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:44am

Cool! I love the graphics and how the gameplay ramps up.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:30pm

This is beautiful, abstract and fun. I really like it.
And appreciate the small detail of random laser color.

kiririn51 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:31pm

Pretty fun game and the aesthetics are really outstanding, very polished as well.

local minimum says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:09pm

The instructions weren't so clear. Since shooting moved me I first thought I was supposed to shoot myself around. That actually kind of worked for a while. When realized I could move I went ahead and tested not clicking but holding mouse down and then it felt like I had the controls nailed down. So controls a bit more explaining.

The game itself had a lot of fun shooting, and very nice effects on that part. I never got a hang of any story or tactics other than kill everything and avoid getting stomped. So if there was more to it, maybe some explaining that too since it gets so hectic it's hard to learn what does what.

Ditto says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Those graphics :#3 The laser is sooo damn cool, I must be honest though, I kindof have no idea what I am doing in game :P

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Sweet ass particle effects! Love the mood in this.
The gameplay was tight and I had really fun playing it. Thanks!

xerohuang says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Cool. A bit hard.

Jhelle says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Lovely pixels, effects, sound and music. Great job!

lightsoda says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:06pm

Love the look, sound and music. With some expanded gameplay and added depth this could be top notch. Very nice work!

Gwinnell says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Feels *really* nice! Well done! It would have been nice to show current score and level of progress (e.g. "wave 1") in-game. The texture overlay that comes in somewhere between 30-60 seconds was the worst bit about it.

Gwinnell says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:11pm

( ...but that's possibly just me being picky! :) )

Andrew Adams says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Looks awesome and I'd love to play and rate it but... Macintosh.

Hempuli says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Really nice implementation, artstyle and soundscape; with the gameplay being so frantic, I found it rather hard to quickly tell the different special tiles from each other. The reflective one felt especially nasty!

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:13pm

With a bigger, more interactive stage I could see this working as a full game.

jerombd says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:10am

Cool graphics and a nice set of laser effects! Nice to see your original graphic style in action^^
It's a frantic small arena shooter; and like every shooter, the background story is a bit superfluous... that's why I didn't read the intro :P (and the start-screen instructions are hardly readable by the way).

Thorig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:45am

Graphics are nice, but the music does not really fit the action. Still a good game.

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:07pm

I like it, but it is absolute HELL on my tendonitis. Really needed a keybord key to fire with. :< Art is lovely, as always, and I like the random lazer colors.

marccspro says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Awsome game ! I did 18600 :D

Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Hey, I've seen your art before! Amazing style, dude, hats off. And game is awesome, great dynamics. Great job!

May 1, 2014 @ 1:35am

Very cool graphics.

ehtd says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Want to play but no windows computer...

Make A Game says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:19pm

The rules were a bit confusing and there wasn't much time to understand them before getting damaged. Plays well and is very interesting visually.

jsspiegel says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:29pm

While I had little idea what was going on due to the lack of instructions, I still loved it! Fantastic graphics, and a solid shooter too. One of my favorites in the competition.

Cake&Code says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:58pm

You did a great job working with the audio and graphics for this game. The gameplay was simple and fun, although I wasn't sure what the state of my health was and I sometimes wasn't 100% sure what I was doing except shooting everything in sight.

SnoringFrog says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:03am

Gorgeous, and I loved the simple bg music. I wasn't really sure how to tell how much health I had left. Other than that, this is another great little shooter. I'd still love to see what a full shmup/bullet hell from you would look like, but I feel like that's a bit beyond the scope of an LD.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]